BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Opposite of Me

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic debut!

Lindsey Rose is at the top of her game. At 29, she's on the path to become the youngest VP Creative Director at her advertising firm. All she has to do is nail this top ad campaign and it's pretty much in the bag. Lindsey is convinced she has nothing to worry about. Tha...
Lindsey Rose is at the top of her game. At 29, she's on the path to become the youngest VP Creative Director at her advertising firm. All she has to do is nail this top ad campaign and it's pretty much in the bag. Lindsey is convinced she has nothing to worry about. That is until an announcement blindsides her and sends her crashing on a path she never thought she would find herself on.

With her career and future in shambles, Lindsey decides to leave Manhattan and return home to Maryland to live with her parents while she tries to figure out her next step. There's just one small problem: her parents aren't aware of the REAL reason she came home. She can't tell them, she thinks, as she doesn't want to disappoint them. You see, Lindsey has a twin sister Alex. Alex is the beautiful, outgoing sister and Lindsey has lived (not so comfortably) in Alex's shadow as the smart sister. Lindsey has lost her New York City apartment and status of her job, so keeping her "smart label" is all she has right now.

The Opposite of Me is a story about Lindsey and Alex told through Lindsey's eyes. The reader is privileged to learn about their relationship through flashbacks and current events. Pekkanen does an amazing job with describing Alex from Lindsey's perspective, leaving the reader to form his/her own opinion about Alex. I have to admit, never once did I dislike Alex. I thought there would be more to her than what Lindsey thought she knew and I was happy to learn there was.

Both sisters have lived their lives by a label that was placed on them. As adult women, both have allowed these labels (either subconsciously or consciously) to shape their lives. When the sisters share a life-altering event, they are finally able to rewrite the script for their lives.

What I liked best about The Opposite of Me was I felt I was being told a story instead of reading a story. I easily pictured myself as one of Lindsey's high school friends and we bumped into each other on M Street in Georgetown. We grab lunch and catch up. Lindsey then proceeds to tell me about New York and why she's now back home. Early in the novel, I was lost in the story as the hours slipped by. I think fans of Emily Giffin will love Pekkanen's debut novel.

Ms. Pekkanen is currently working on her second book. I do hope she brings back these characters in the future. Without spoiling the ending, I want to know what's next for them! Highly recommend.

4.5 Stars

posted by IHeart2Read on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The story was interesting. It shows how things can change in a b

The story was interesting. It shows how things can change in a blink of an eye. The characters were believable and honestly the drama was minimal. The real issue is twin sisters who have a real communication problem and who don't know who the other really is. Both are m...
The story was interesting. It shows how things can change in a blink of an eye. The characters were believable and honestly the drama was minimal. The real issue is twin sisters who have a real communication problem and who don't know who the other really is. Both are miserable in their current situations but it takes a few life changes for them to connect and bond. If you enjoy sister issues you will enjoy this book. It is a little slow in a couple of places as Lindsey excuses too much on her own perceived shortcomings. You will remain engaged.

posted by PamT2u on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic debut!

    Lindsey Rose is at the top of her game. At 29, she's on the path to become the youngest VP Creative Director at her advertising firm. All she has to do is nail this top ad campaign and it's pretty much in the bag. Lindsey is convinced she has nothing to worry about. That is until an announcement blindsides her and sends her crashing on a path she never thought she would find herself on.

    With her career and future in shambles, Lindsey decides to leave Manhattan and return home to Maryland to live with her parents while she tries to figure out her next step. There's just one small problem: her parents aren't aware of the REAL reason she came home. She can't tell them, she thinks, as she doesn't want to disappoint them. You see, Lindsey has a twin sister Alex. Alex is the beautiful, outgoing sister and Lindsey has lived (not so comfortably) in Alex's shadow as the smart sister. Lindsey has lost her New York City apartment and status of her job, so keeping her "smart label" is all she has right now.

    The Opposite of Me is a story about Lindsey and Alex told through Lindsey's eyes. The reader is privileged to learn about their relationship through flashbacks and current events. Pekkanen does an amazing job with describing Alex from Lindsey's perspective, leaving the reader to form his/her own opinion about Alex. I have to admit, never once did I dislike Alex. I thought there would be more to her than what Lindsey thought she knew and I was happy to learn there was.

    Both sisters have lived their lives by a label that was placed on them. As adult women, both have allowed these labels (either subconsciously or consciously) to shape their lives. When the sisters share a life-altering event, they are finally able to rewrite the script for their lives.

    What I liked best about The Opposite of Me was I felt I was being told a story instead of reading a story. I easily pictured myself as one of Lindsey's high school friends and we bumped into each other on M Street in Georgetown. We grab lunch and catch up. Lindsey then proceeds to tell me about New York and why she's now back home. Early in the novel, I was lost in the story as the hours slipped by. I think fans of Emily Giffin will love Pekkanen's debut novel.

    Ms. Pekkanen is currently working on her second book. I do hope she brings back these characters in the future. Without spoiling the ending, I want to know what's next for them! Highly recommend.

    4.5 Stars

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I love these "human spirit" discoveries!

    A heartwarming, exciting peek into 29 year old twins, seemingly opposites, but circumstances throw them back together again under their parents' roof where they make huge life discoveries, about the world and themselves.
    I love these "human Spirit" discoveries and I could read one after another, after another.

    Others I could read over and over again are: SECOND TIME AROUND, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, TIME OF MY LIFE.so many...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If you've had a sister or a friend, this book is for you.

    Let's face it, we all measure ourselves by the yardstick of others at one time or another. The process of outgrowing the habit and coming into one's own is richly detailed in debut author Sarah Pekkanen's novel, "The Opposite of Me".

    What I love about this book is the way Pekkanen draws each character with a deft sense of humor, while also allowing their poignant side to shine through. From protaganist Lindsey Rose's Ikea loving parents to her gorgeous sister Alex, each character has a pulse.

    "The Opposite of Me" is a story to share with friends and family, book clubs and babysitters. Good for mothers and daughters as well.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book about relationships and sisters

    I loved this book sarah pekkanen did a great job writing her first book. It was a little slow at first but once you get through it everything picks up and gets very interesting all sibilings can relate to the situations the book is about having to start over and learn about yourself. All woman will enjoy this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Something for everyone

    "It would be easy to say that in "The Opposite of Me" Sarah Pekkanen has written THE "beach read" book of 2010...except that if you start reading it now, you won't be able to put it down until you've finished and it won't ever make it to the beach....Labels such as "beach read" and chick lit" do not do this book justice. Book clubs can happily choose it as their summer read, knowing it will not only be enjoyable and on the lighter side but also with enough issues to keep a lively discussion going.

    Lindsay Rose has always been "the smart twin" and her sister Alex " the beautiful twin". On the brink of accepting a partnership in the New York advertising agency where she has worked relentlessly since college and been acknowledged as a rising star, Lindsay's world and future plans are destroyed in an instant. She is forced back to her hometown and back into the shadow of her exquisitely beautiful sister, Alex, who is planning her dream wedding to a handsome, rich and powerful man. In the process of examining her options and working towards healing, Lindsay discovers that life and love, are not as simple as they seem on the surface and that labels can be very wrong.

    The characters and situations are well drawn and believable, although it did seem that the author rushed at the ending to finish off the book.

    The title also gives the reader something to think about - is Lindsay the opposite of Alex, or is she herself the opposite of all that she and others have believed her to be?"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review of Opposite of Me

    My heart sank when I learned this book, yet again, revolved around twins. While I am aware my experience is just one voice, as a twin I get bored of the unrealistic potrayal some books use in their storylines. In purchasing the book, I also received a free Jennifer Weiner book in the bargain so I figured what the heck. The title Opposite of Me had also given me hope this one might be more interesing.

    This book is different if only it is more realistic. ALL of my friends and siblings would recognize this pair in myself and my twin. Happily, The Opposite of Me is also interesting, funny, romantic and real. The family dynamic is spot on.

    Best of all I was utterly, amazingly, surpised in two parts. This author could be an excellent mystery writer! The first suprise was the "humiliation" described in the front of the book. Reading the story leading up to that part I was nervous and anxious for the main character Lindsay but I thought I "knew" what was going to happen. I was so wrong and totally surpised. And not to beat a dead horse but the actual event was oh so realistic and in a odd way a nod towards fairness to women in the workplace.

    The second huge suprise involves around what the protaganist finds out about herself and her family and again I was way off. And again the actual story line was just the best way to take the reader.

    All in all I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good book. My current favorites include Elisa Lorello, Matthew Pearl, CJ Sansome, Elaine Viets and Jennifer Weiner to name just a few.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED THE OPPOSITE OF ME!

    I was one of the lucky ones who received an advanced copy of Sarah's book. To say I DEVOURED it in a day and a half would be an understatement. From word one, sentence one, page one, I could not put the book down. Her hilarious writing, relatable characters and unexpected plot twists hooked me and, even more importantly, kept me hooked. I'm an avid reader, often giving up on books mid-way through when the story either fizzles or just seems to drag on. With THE OPPOSITE OF ME, I became re-excited with each chapter and couldn't wait to see what would happen next. Up until the very last page, which I was very sad to reach, I was intrigued, entertained and for lack of a better description, SUCKED IN. Kudos to Sarah for writing such an out of the gates fantastic book as a debut author. I hear People Mag is giving her 3.5/4 stars and if you haven't already heard, Jennifer Weiner has taken her under her wing. She's an author to keep following and to keep reading. As a side note, follow her on Facebook because she's freakin' hilarious.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy and LOVED it. The story paces so well, I couldn't stop reading! In fact, my husband made fun of me because I carried it with me for the three days it took me to finish, sneaking in pages here and there while I should have been doing the dishes, laundry, etc.

    Pekkanen does a beautiful job of showcasing the trials and tribulations of living in your sibling's shadow asks the question, can you really ever go home again? Funny but insightful as well, THE OPPOSITE OF ME should be in everyone's beach bag this summer!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The story was interesting. It shows how things can change in a b

    The story was interesting. It shows how things can change in a blink of an eye. The characters were believable and honestly the drama was minimal. The real issue is twin sisters who have a real communication problem and who don't know who the other really is. Both are miserable in their current situations but it takes a few life changes for them to connect and bond. If you enjoy sister issues you will enjoy this book. It is a little slow in a couple of places as Lindsey excuses too much on her own perceived shortcomings. You will remain engaged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Twins Mixed Personalities

    I was interested in this book, because we have twin girls in our family and I wanted to see how they played them out. It is a good read, however, I found that at times I wasn't too sympathetic with Lindsey as she seemed almost too obsessed with her sister Alex's physical appearance, and thought way too little of her own. I feel, tho, that Sarah Pekkanen did a relatively good job for her debut novel, and I would definately find myself buying another when she writes it. In the "Opposite of Me", she brings out the sensitivity of the mom in trying to balance the personalities of the girls from little on, and I find that is always a chalenging act in siblings, but most importantly in twins. Any multiple birth siblings find a sense of competition more intense, I think, than just normal siblings. Rivalry, as it may be, can sometimes be a good thing, but not always. It is a book that I would recommend to book clubs as there is plenty of material for thought and discussion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    The author was channeling my sister and me

    I read The Opposite of Me becuase I'm a huge Jennifer Weiner fan and she had an offer I couldn't refuse--order The Opposite of Me and Jen would send a free autographed copy of one of her books for free. That's how I found this book and Sarah.

    When I read the book, I found it very touching because it was as though the author was channeling me and my sister and all the fights, hurt feelings and resentment we both have. The characters are well developed and the story is plausible and makes sense.

    I think it's a quick, easy read and really, you can't go wrong. It also reminded me that I should cut my sister some slack.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Opposite of Me.

    Sibling rivalry can be a great motivator for us to strive for success, but it can also be an ugly, ugly thing. In The Opposite of Me, Lindsey is so consumed by her desire to differentiate herself from her twin sister, Alex, that she can't see what it has done to the most precious relationship a woman can have. A relationship with her sister. It was painfully embarrassing to read Lindsey's jealousy on paper. She had everything going for her, but her desire to be better than Alex nearly destroyed her. Once she arrives at home and starts sorting things out and seeing Alex for who she really is, well that is when I really started enjoying the book. Seeing the both of them change and grow closer was truly wonderful. Making The Opposite of Me the perfect book for sisters, friends, and book clubs all over the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Made me think

    This book captured the agony of failure, and the poor self esteem that often accompanies it. Anyone whose ever lost a job, or felt insecure in their workplace will be able to relate to Lindsey. The sibling relationship is right-on, and the flash-backs that help the reader see how Lindsey developed her character flaws/strengths move the story along with poignant humor. Both Lindsey's (and her sister's) growth through change is uplifting. The only disappointment I had when reading it was the abrupt ending. Would have liked little more added to develop the relationship between her and the romantic leading character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    READ THIS

    The first book I read by this author was "These Girls". And I honestly believed that there was NO WAY this book could top that one...but IT DID!!!! I cant go on enough about how much I love her writing style. She hooks you after the first page, not the first 5 chapters like a lot of books out there. If you like Jane Green and Jennifer Weiner like I do, then this book/author is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2014

    Kl

    Oeeeb yoog. Okfhvcg.dmknarkl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Addme doggywoffwoff102@yahoo.com

    Add me boys and girls

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Great

    Good book hope there is a sequel want to know what happened with alex/brad and lindsay//matt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    OMG ¿ Loved this book!

    OMG – Loved this book! The only issue --I have read ALL Sarah’s books and savored this one as carefully as the last crumb. I enjoyed her since of humor, style, the characters which were so realistic (Lindsey was my favorite as can relate to the workaholic tendencies--loved her journey in recreating herself with the makeup, new clothes, the dating service, her new home, and her new friendship/partnership with May). The parents were a riot (I thought I had the only weird parents).

    The story of two twin sisters (did not like Alex in the beginning; however, you learn to really like her by the end) - finding their way back to one another. Loved the happy ending! Would love to see a sequel and continuation of Alex/Bradley and Lindsey/Matt to see where they end up –exciting journeys.

    Highly recommend this read and all Sarah’s books – they are five star quality ++. She reminds me of Jennifer Weiner (also another favorite author). Wickedly funny and insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    A book that begins as a story that centers around fraternal twin

    A book that begins as a story that centers around fraternal twins who have always had a place in their family set in stone, but through some ups and downs these twins are having to find out how to both change and still find their place.

    I think this kind of sibling rivalry happens in all kinds of siblings from fraternal twins to identical twins to siblings of different ages. My sister and I serve different roles in our family - she is the creative and big picture one and I am the organized detail oriented person. I can't imagine if our roles were reversed for one reason or another and how we would all have to shift and change to make a new normal.

    My favorite part of this book was thinking that it was headed in a certain direction and at a drop of a hat, the author takes it to a whole nother level. As always, I can not divulge what takes the book to the next level because this is one that must be picked up on your next trip to a bookstore (preferably an indie bookstore!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Soooo good

    well written and a great flow... story was so funny, and relateable

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4