Customer Reviews for

Optical Delusions In Deadwood

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The second book in the Deadwood series by Ann Charles, opens jus

The second book in the Deadwood series by Ann Charles, opens just about a week after the close of the first book. There are still plenty of unsolved mysteries going on from the first book, and we can't help but wonder what will happen. Luckily, Ms. Charles doesn't leave...
The second book in the Deadwood series by Ann Charles, opens just about a week after the close of the first book. There are still plenty of unsolved mysteries going on from the first book, and we can't help but wonder what will happen. Luckily, Ms. Charles doesn't leave us hanging long, and we dive right into another mystery. 

This one concerns a house in Lead (pronounced Leed), that Violet has been asked to list. She is specifically singled out because the house is rumored to be haunted and Violet has become known as the Realtor who talks to ghosts. At first, Violet has no intention of taking the listing, but upon viewing the house and getting to know a little bit about the women living there, she decides to take it on. 

Violet is still in an iffy relationship with Doc and dodging letting her best friend Nathalie know that they are possibly an item. Jeff Wymonds is still working on getting Violet to see him as a potential suitor and now she is working on selling the local detective's and Harvey nephew, Cooper's house. Cooper thinks that Violet is sticking her nose into places it doesn't belong and has no problem telling her this. Doc keeps getting upset that Violet is withholding information from him, Addy keeps trying to set Violet up with Jeff while Layne, Violet's son and Addy's twin, keeps insisting that they don't need another man around the house, he is doing the job fine. 

This was a fantastic follow-up to the first book, Nearly Departed in Deadwood. I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads and this review is late because I had to dive right into the third book.

posted by Judy-Ree on April 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

There is no question but that this book would be rated NC-17 if

There is no question but that this book would be rated NC-17 if it were a movie. It includes a fairly thin plot to tie together endless references to and extremely explicit descriptions of sex. The humor almost entirely regards sex. Though there are those who look f...
There is no question but that this book would be rated NC-17 if it were a movie. It includes a fairly thin plot to tie together endless references to and extremely explicit descriptions of sex. The humor almost entirely regards sex. Though there are those who look for this element when selecting reading material, I am not one of them. It's too bad the author follows this route because the heroine truly has potential for being a likeable character, and in the first book of the series there were moments completely unrelated to sex which were not only funny, but quite hilarious. Unfortunately, the author chooses not to hone her skills at genuine humor, but, rather to follow the easy path of sexual humor found so often today. Ann Charles follows this path virtually to infinity and beyond.

posted by jorobinsky on July 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    There is no question but that this book would be rated NC-17 if

    There is no question but that this book would be rated NC-17 if it were a movie. It includes a fairly thin plot to tie together endless references to and extremely explicit descriptions of sex. The humor almost entirely regards sex. Though there are those who look for this element when selecting reading material, I am not one of them. It's too bad the author follows this route because the heroine truly has potential for being a likeable character, and in the first book of the series there were moments completely unrelated to sex which were not only funny, but quite hilarious. Unfortunately, the author chooses not to hone her skills at genuine humor, but, rather to follow the easy path of sexual humor found so often today. Ann Charles follows this path virtually to infinity and beyond.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Great book! A must read...

    Ann Charles has captured me as a reader. The Deadwood series is fun to read, never a dull moment and I love Violet Parker....she's a hoot!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The second book in the Deadwood series by Ann Charles, opens jus

    The second book in the Deadwood series by Ann Charles, opens just about a week after the close of the first book. There are still plenty of unsolved mysteries going on from the first book, and we can't help but wonder what will happen. Luckily, Ms. Charles doesn't leave us hanging long, and we dive right into another mystery. 

    This one concerns a house in Lead (pronounced Leed), that Violet has been asked to list. She is specifically singled out because the house is rumored to be haunted and Violet has become known as the Realtor who talks to ghosts. At first, Violet has no intention of taking the listing, but upon viewing the house and getting to know a little bit about the women living there, she decides to take it on. 

    Violet is still in an iffy relationship with Doc and dodging letting her best friend Nathalie know that they are possibly an item. Jeff Wymonds is still working on getting Violet to see him as a potential suitor and now she is working on selling the local detective's and Harvey nephew, Cooper's house. Cooper thinks that Violet is sticking her nose into places it doesn't belong and has no problem telling her this. Doc keeps getting upset that Violet is withholding information from him, Addy keeps trying to set Violet up with Jeff while Layne, Violet's son and Addy's twin, keeps insisting that they don't need another man around the house, he is doing the job fine. 

    This was a fantastic follow-up to the first book, Nearly Departed in Deadwood. I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads and this review is late because I had to dive right into the third book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Funny but foul.

    Enjoyed the story line and the humor, didn't appreciate the crude language and sex details.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Really loving this series. I can't get enough of Violet and Doc!

    Really loving this series. I can't get enough of Violet and Doc!! The humor is laugh out loud funny, the mystery is edge of your seat suspenseful, and the romance leaves you wanting more. Great series of books and find I am so addicted that I am flying through these books in a day. Just can't get enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Love the series

    A great murder mystery series! Bought and read the first one and had to have more. Be sure to read them in order. The writer keeps you wanting to come back for more. Definitely worth reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Loved this book! Couldn't put it down... Love the characters an

    Loved this book! Couldn't put it down... Love the characters and the story. Read this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Another Great Ride through Deadwood!

    Violet Parker has not learned her lesson when it comes to selling haunted houses...or when it comes to Doc Nyce! Welcome back to Deadwood where ghosts still haunt the real estate and Doc still haunts Violet's (steamy) dreams. In Optical Delusions, Violet meets the meek mannered Millie who is desperate to sell the family home, but there's one small problem - the house is supposedly haunted and Vi already as a "ghost whisperer" reputation. To complicate matters, a sexy vixen and sleazy womanizer also have an interest in the house...and in getting Violet out of the picture! All this and the usual cast of characters - Old man Harvey, Aunt Zoe, and Detective Cooper - add a little extra spice to book 2 this delicious series. Ann - we are ready for book #3, please!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Stellar!

    Ms Charles takes the locale and characters from Nearly Departed in Deadwood and serves up an even better book. Violet is showing signs of being much more than a sexy mom and struggling realtor. She makes it clear that she is tough, smart, and resourceful while surviving relationships, wicked foes, and, of course, things paranormal. After reading this, you will find yourself hungering for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Addictive!

    Ann Charles debut book, Dearly Departed in Deadwood, had me wanting more as soon as I was finished. Good thing Optical Delusions in Deadwood was released soon after. This book kept me up on my "school" nights obsessing over Violet and her gang with what was coming next. The groggy next morning was well worth it and I can't wait to get my hands on more of what Ann's amazingly creative mind comes up with. Violet is as sassy as ever and her steamy relationship with Doc had me smiling every time. Violet is truly a character you root for and her adventures are getting better and better. Thanks for another knockout Ann! Can't wait for more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Not a cozy

    Some reviewers have referred to this as a cozy - it is not. A "cozy" does not involve vulgarity, cheap explicit sex, and immaturity. This gal could be a really good author if she could come out of the slime...it would be much more cute and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Fun read!

    I'm so hooked on this story! Fun read. Love Viloet's sarcasim. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A "fun" mystery read

    A cozy read that keeps you turning the pages to find out what happens next. I recommend it for those who light light mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    I have read....

    I have read the whole series and I loved all 4 books. Better than the S.Plum books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Would recommend. Entertaining mystery and good story.

    Like a good series and fun characters. Enjoyed very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    can't wait for the next one

    This woman finds herself in more wrong places at the wrong time than any other book I have ever read. Really can't wait for the the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Optical Delusions/Ann Charles

    OMG, all of her books were hilarious and sexy. Violet and Harvey are a hoot together. Love these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    No words

    I'll make this short and sweet.

    Read it. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Highly Entertaining

    4.5 Stars

    Protagonist: 9/10
    Secondary Characters: 10/10
    Mystery: 9/10
    Humor: 10/10
    Pace: 10/10

    Okay, I know I said I wouldn't gush over this book… but I seriously can't help it. I love this story/town/characters/writing/etc. Everything about this book had me on cloud 9. I am so happy I found this series, and a new author to call my favorite. I read this 2nd installment in the Deadwood series in record time (granted I had it on loan from a friend for 2 weeks, but still~)! That alone validates how much I loved this book! Speaking of having it on loan, I actually was in love with the story so much that by page 200 I had already purchased my own copy. When I catch up on the series, I'll purchase the books again in paperback to put on my keeper shelf. *Gushgushgush*

    BUT, as much as I loved this book, there were a couple things that bothered me. The length of course, but I'm starting to get over that. Also, Violet seemed to have a shallow edge to her. I didn't notice it in the first book, but I did in this one. Kind of disappointing. And my biggest beef is with the lack of condoms. I hate that in books and normally take off some major points for the irresponsibility. Luckily my love for this book far outweighs the negative points and only results in a half star being knocked off.

    Overall, this is truly a fun, laugh out loud, epically awesome book to read. I put off things to completely throw myself into the story, and have absolutely no regrets in doing so. Who needs sleep anyway?! Sleep is over-rated in the face of a really good book! :3 If you like cozy mysteries with strong romance elements, humor, and a touch of horror and suspense, then you will more than likely enjoy the first 2 books in the Deadwood series as much as I have. (I can't comment on the others… yet). Happy reading, ya'll!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Love this series. I have all the books....so far. Can't wait for

    Love this series. I have all the books....so far. Can't wait for the next one. The author takes you all around the Black Hills...Deadwood, Lead and surrounding area. You feel like you are walking with Vi. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3