Customer Reviews for

Optimal Thinking: How to Be Your Best Self

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    Handbook for Optimization

    Every page of this book empowers the reader to make optimal choices. Whether it is planning, emotions, communication, leadership, or any other area, this book shows you how to maximize. I have not come across any other book that has taken this realistic leap into optimization. And it is written in such a way that any person can implement this "language of the best self." Parents should make sure that they read this book and pass it on to their children.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    Unique solid information to maximize thinking and success

    Optimal Thinking is the first book that actually provides readers with clear insight as to how to use thinking to maximize personal and business performance. The author furnishes numerous easy road maps to enable us to proactively and reactively use this peak thinking as often as possible.

    Optimal thinking is used by most of the Fortune 500 companies. If you are ready to rise above mediocrity or even being extraordinary and you are ready to be your best, read and reread this, surround yourself with optimal thinkers, and visit the optimalthinking community. This book is a masterpiece.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    New, Timeless Optimization Approach

    I have read hundreds of books on personal and professional development and this book is undoubtedly the best. Optimal Thinking provides the next step above all the positive thinking books that have captivated the world for decades. The author skillfully shows the reader how to rise above negativity, mediocrity, wishful thinking, and make the best choices in any situation. I had always been suspicious of the "fake it until you make it" tribe. Optimal Thinking showed me how to nonjudgementally use disturbing information as a reality check, understand where it is coming from, evaluate risks and rewards, and find the best realistic solutions. This book provides the missing content and context for peak performance.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    It doesn't get better than this!

    This book is an invaluable addition to any personal, family, workplace team or company library. Superbly written with practical roadmaps, you learn how to optimize thinking, feelings, relationships, and situations. I read Optimal Thinking after participating in an optimal thinking seminar at work and it turned my life around. Before my exposure to optimal thinking, I had read many personal development and business books. Nothing seemed to make a lasting difference. I would do just enough to get by and go along to get along. Now I do my best and focus on optimal outcomes with best practices. Optimal thinking is the best of the best!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2005

    Realistic Approach

    Optimal Thinking is a book that gives you a direction for finding your own success. Since reading this book I get lots more done, and have more time, too. This book does not promise a perfect life, yet offers a very realistic approach to living.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2006

    Practical, realistic, brilliant book

    This book shows you how to achieve optimal performance in any circumstance. When I took the test at the beginning of the book, I was a mediocre positive thinker. I am now using optimal thinking to make optimal choices and I do not settle for second best. This book is not for wishful thinkers, but for people who want to make the most of every opportunity and live every moment at home and at work to the fullest. If you like listening to audio CD's, the Optimal Thinking 100 Day Audio CD program for Permanent Results is awesome.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    Thinking is Your Core Performance Indicator

    Believe it, do it, live it. This book breaks down how to optimize your thinking in an easy to incorporate way so that you don't waste time and energy contributing your second best. The quality of your thinking determines the quality of your performance at work or play. Buy it, read it, incorporate it - be your best!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    Experience the best

    Optimal Thinking is a solid, well-written book that rises above second best and makes the most of all there is. Read it and you will understand why individuals and organizations such as the U.S. Army, BP, Young Presidents' Organization, Internal Revenue Service, and National Australia Bank are clientele, and experts such as Stephen Covey, Ken Blanchard, Mark Victor Hansen, Brian Tracy and Nathaniel Branden swear by Optimal Thinking. This classic book provides the mental basis for peak performance, regardless of the circumstances.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    A powerfully useful book

    Optimal Thinking is better than other personal development books I have read. It is the first book that provides a road map for my own success rather than telling me to copy others. By defining what 'best' means to me and asking five optimal questions each morning I have reduced procrastination and become much more productive. Since I have integrated Optimal Thinking my business growth has been more consistent rather than the usual up and down cycles.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2005

    Function at optimum level

    I attended an optimal thinking seminar at my company and was given a copy of this book. Loved the seminar, and I refer to the book every day. Optimal Thinking is what people and organizations need to be their best. This book is excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    One of the Better Books on Thinking

    This is a well written and helpful book on thinking in a realistic but optimal way. The book does not recommend painting a wonderful picture if reality is not wonderful. Instead it recommends thinking in ways that are grounded but empowering. The various examples and scenarios are good in this book too. Highly recommended reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    A book you can't be without.

    I lost my 18 year old daughter in a car accident 10 months ago and was on the road to hell before I read this wonderful book. Optimal Thinking has empowered me to accept what is out of my control and make the most of what is within my control. This book has given me the strength to be my best and make the most constructive choices on days that felt like years. Every page of this book is worth reading but the seventh chapter saved my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    Personal and professional optimization masterpiece!

    I picked up this book when I saw that Dr. Stephen Covey "The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People", Brian Tracy and many experts in this field had given it rave reviews. I have read most of the best sellers including "The Power of Now" "Emotional Intelligence" "Self Matters" "Learned Optimism" but none of them gave me this simple formula to make the most of my thinking, emotions, relationships, situations and life. By the end of the first chapter, I knew I had found what I had been looking for all my life. Dr. Glickman resolved doubts I have carried about positive thinking for years. She also explained the pros and cons of negative thinking and taught me how to be my best when confronting it. Dr. Glickman has created a new paradigm which consists of the suboptimal (second best) and the optimal (the best). She shows us how to embrace suboptimal thoughts, emotions and situations as optimization signals. Instead of suppressing, ignoring, judging or using wishful thinking to handle suboptimal thoughts, emotions and situations, she shows us how to accept what is out of our control and optimize what is within our control with Optimal Thinking. I finally have the mental tool to be my best no matter what I'm up against, and I AM making the most of my life. I can't recommend this book highly enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    Nothing new, just common sense

    I guess I am better off than I realize, because this book offered no new revelations to me ... just basic common sense. I suppose this book may be very useful for those caught up in all the "positive thinking" hype and recent and prevalent "think it/ have it" ,wishful thinking type self help books out there and for those that are extremely negative and passive regarding their lives.

    For your average (uh-oh.. according to this book not supposed to think or use the term "average"... but anyway) person of normal adjustment and intelligence... probably gives no new insights.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    Sorry, I've been here before.

    This buy was disappointing. I felt that I had read the same material and principles many times before.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    Optimal results for individuals and organizations

    Optimal Thinking is a breath of fresh air. I was given a copy of this book when I participated in a two-day seminar with the author. The seminar transformed my life and my unit at work. We had been through many changes and were very unhappy with our new leader. We were afraid to speak up for fear of reprisal. Dr. Glickman created a safe environment for us to say what was in our minds and hearts. Always empathic, she skillfully used optimal thinking roadmaps to help us let go of our anger and resentment, restore trust and communicate optimally. She showed us how to be an optimal team, and then with our leader, we all provided input to create our vision for the future. Optimal Thinking should be taught in schools. This book is an invaluable asset at home and in the workplace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    OPTIMAL THINKING LEAPS ABOVE POSITIVE THINKING

    When you read this book, you will understand why Optimal Thinking is the mental basis of PEAK PERFORMANCE in all areas of life. Optimal Thinking rises above positive thinking, and stops all people - leaders, young, old, positive, negative, neutral, salespeople, homemakers, students, etc. - from settling for second best. This easy to read, unique, universal guide is the key to personal and career OPTIMIZATION.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    Optimal Thinking brings out the best in everyone

    I discovered Optimal Thinking in 1992 when I heard Dr. Glickman address an audience of more than 1000 people at The International Conference on Thinking as the plenary speaker. I was deeply impacted by her presentation and invited her to present an Optimal Thinking seminar to a cross section of employees at my company four months later. Optimal Thinking is a universal resource that embraces all forms of thinking, all people and all situations. On a daily basis, I have seen what it has done for my secretary, Sandy, whose husband passed away due to a brain tumor. Sandy used Optimal Thinking through their worst days together, always doing her best, no matter how hard it got. She uses Optimal Thinking in the office to guide her decisions, and I can rely on her to make the most of whatever crosses her desk. As for me, although I am analytical by nature, I used to make irrational, costly decisions when I became emotional. I have learned to stop and use Optimal Thinking to find the best solution rather than dig myself into a hole. Pre-optimization in our company, our sales force consisted of senior sales people and newcomers, some jaded, some fresh and realistic, others who were generally optimistic. When I introduced Optimal Thinking into the sales force, we saw an 18% increase in gross sales within six months, which is unprecedented in our industry. Our sales force is now a bonded Optimal Thinking team. They collaborate to define and achieve optimal results, and they are realistic in their appraisals of resources and opportunities. When this book became available, we purchased copies for all our employees. We optimized our mission statement by including our policy of 'working together as a team of optimizers with the best interest of our customers in mind and heart.' I recommend Optimal Thinking to anyone who wants to make the most of themselves, and bring out the best in others. Optimal Thinking is superlative but simple. The challenge is to use it consistently. This revolutionary book describes Optimal Thinking, explains how to use it proactively, and in conjunction with all forms of thinking. It contains specific roadmaps and concrete examples to make the most of ourselves, day to day situations, feelings, communications with others, and leadership skills. Optimal Thinking earns five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2003

    Start your positive thinking engines!

    I have read many self-help books but this is truly one of the most helpful books I have ever read! Like the Toru Sato's theoretically revolutionary book, 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit', this book helps us become more consciously aware of our own thoughts and enables us to change them into more positive ways of thinking. The more we think positively, the more we feel positively, the more we behave positively, and the more we can reach our full potential! The more we function up to our fullest potential, the more positive we are in our thinking. It is a wonderful cycle. This book offers excellent practical advice on how to get in to that positive cycle. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2003

    How to rise above being good or great.

    I have been a top executive for two Fortune 100 companies during the past 23 years. Prior to reading Optimal Thinking, I managed to stay ahead of the internal competition by improving my leadership skills and working on myself to be a better person and leader. I have read most of the best-selling business and self-improvement books. Optimal Thinking is the best book I have come across--an essential universal resource. Optimal Thinking IS the missing link to peak performance amd well-being. Having read this book, attended an Optimal Thinking for Leaders seminar and implemented Optimal Thinking in my daily life, I am proud to call myself a 'senior optimizer.' I rely on my team of Optimal Thinkers (they have read this book and have been trained in Optimal Thinking) to optimize resources and opportunities -- indeed, every situation. If you are performing poorly, just getting by or even doing great, you will be empowered by this practical book. I give it 6 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2