BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Or Give Me Death: A Novel of Patrick Henry's Family

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    Great book!!!

    I loved Or give me death. It was great from the moment I picked it up. It gives you an insight in to the life of Patrick henery. It was very well written. I found the forsight very interesting.And the on going theme of who will get her mothers sickness. That alone will leave you turning pages.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Wonderful

    Lovie Ann Rinald!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enveloping!

    This story is so touching! i cried more than twice while reading this book. i never cry but this book really got my tears flowing. this book is through the view of two sisters struggling to live with their mother's illness of depression. she also has the 'sight.' they have locked her in the cellar from scaring her kids and she has told anne, the second sister's view, who will inherit her illness. people are thought of it being one person to inherit it but really, a shoking discovery is made at the end of the book that will make you want more. this book ends on a good note. "when do you tell a lie, when telling the truth will only hurt that someone?" this book is deffinitely in my library at home and on the computer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    this is the best book ever anyone and everyone will love it and if you dont something is wrong with you

    this book was amazing it gets in detail and never misses a spot it seems as if everything is the climax you would love it so read this book and even if you dont like reading you will like this i promise

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    oh my gosh

    wow this book is awesome.from the moment i read this book i couldn't but it down.i also think ANN RINADLI is an amazing writter.i give this book one of the best books written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Or Give Me Death Review

    This book is great. It has great facts but also you will not be able to put it down! A must read for anyone who loves history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    NailBiting Historical Fiction!

    I was amazed with 'Or Give Me Death'. The story line was captivating. Ann Rinaldi is such an amazing writer, she is a very voluble writer, and her words and writing are just unbelievable! She takes history and turns it into a story that keeps your eyes glued to the pages. This book is told through the eyes of two people, daughters Patsy and Anne. Patsy is the eldest who when the mother goes insane, thinks about not getting married. She is the serious, head of the household girl. Anne is the carefree child in the beginning of the book. When the children learn the truth about their mother, you can see a change in Anne. Anne is the only child who the mother confides in. Anne has to keep the secret of who will inherit their mother's madness. This book is so captivating I was actually upset when I was done because it was that good. Patrick Henry was an important historical figure which makes the book all the more better. 'When to tell the truth and when to tell a lie' is what Anne goes through when she is keeping her secret. I think all of us can relate to this book because everyone isn't always sure when they should tell the truth. I LOVED THIS BOOK! If you haven't read this book, do so! Trust me, you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    'Or Give Me Death' is a very good book!

    'Or Give Me Death' is a very good read that makes you want to learn more about Patrick Henry's family and life. It is very suspenseful when the youngest daughter knows who will get the mental illness that their mother has, but is reluctant to tell everyone. Patrick Henery's wife seems to predict what will disastors will happen next in the colonies. Did the famous words 'Give me liberty, or give me death' really come from Patrick Henry, or did they come from his mentally ill wife? Read 'Or Give Me Death' and you will find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    Outstanding historical novel

    a very intreging novel of Patrick Henry's family. it tells about life during the start of the Revolution and the hardships faced by a family. i really liked it. ann rinaldi is an outstanding author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2005

    Not just another history book

    'When do you tell the truth and when do you lie?' I was required to read this book for my eigth grade History class. I thought it was just another boring history book. However, once I got to, maybe, the 30th page or so, the story had me riveted to my seat. This is a historical story of Patrick Henry from his daughters' point of view. The characters were well developed and intriguing. A contagious plot and surprise ending makes for a wonderful tale. Two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    Captivating

    This book had me from the start. I loved the story line. I learned a lot about Patrick Henry, and I thought it was very well developed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1