Customer Reviews for

Oracles of Delphi Keep (Oracles of Delphi Keep Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Read! Strongly Recommend to ALL readers!

I've read several of the Victoria Laurie books geared toward adult readers, so I was a bit surprised to see that she had written a book directed at 5th-8th grade readers. I honestly couldn't imagine an author making a successful transition from what she normally writes,...
I've read several of the Victoria Laurie books geared toward adult readers, so I was a bit surprised to see that she had written a book directed at 5th-8th grade readers. I honestly couldn't imagine an author making a successful transition from what she normally writes, to children's' fiction. Oh boy was I wrong!!!! For starters, I read all the reviews on this book I could find and I was *really* aggravated! Several reviewers had compared this book to the Harry Potter series. That irritated me because there's just no way, I thought, that a reader going into this book with the mindset that it could be compared to Rowling's books would come away satisfied. I was prepared to - if not dislike it - at least be terribly disappointed. This book was nothing short of FANTASTIC! Intertwining sorcery, magic and the gift of "sight," Laurie tells a fantastic story of two orphans on the run for their lives after discovering a treasure box in an abandoned cave. As an adult, I was holding my breath and sitting on the edge of my seat within the first 20 pages. It was that good. Is it as good as the Harry Potter books? I think it's a terrible mistake to compare one book loved by so many to another; however, I will say that there are many wonderful similarities and I'm excited to read the rest of the series. I think it would be fantastic to see this book be made into a movie. A note to readers: I bought this book online, but went to my local B&N to purchase the rest of the series. I was DEVASTATED to realize that they didn't have a single one in stock, and not because they were sold out! They simply hadn't chosen to stock this book for reasons of their own. I was able to talk them into stocking one copy of each book to see how it went for sales. You might call your B&N first if you intend to walk into the store to purchase this book.

posted by CathieArms on March 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Do not start reading this series. The publishers have decided no

Do not start reading this series. The publishers have decided not to do the
 fourth book and book three leaves you hanging. I started his series with my
kids and the youngest is crying that we will not find out what happens.  Do
Yourself and your kids a favor and don't...
Do not start reading this series. The publishers have decided not to do the
 fourth book and book three leaves you hanging. I started his series with my
kids and the youngest is crying that we will not find out what happens.  Do
Yourself and your kids a favor and don't start this incomplete series.

posted by TmommyTP on January 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Do not start reading this series. The publishers have decided no

    Do not start reading this series. The publishers have decided not to do the
     fourth book and book three leaves you hanging. I started his series with my
    kids and the youngest is crying that we will not find out what happens.  Do
    Yourself and your kids a favor and don't start this incomplete series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding Read! Strongly Recommend to ALL readers!

    I've read several of the Victoria Laurie books geared toward adult readers, so I was a bit surprised to see that she had written a book directed at 5th-8th grade readers. I honestly couldn't imagine an author making a successful transition from what she normally writes, to children's' fiction. Oh boy was I wrong!!!! For starters, I read all the reviews on this book I could find and I was *really* aggravated! Several reviewers had compared this book to the Harry Potter series. That irritated me because there's just no way, I thought, that a reader going into this book with the mindset that it could be compared to Rowling's books would come away satisfied. I was prepared to - if not dislike it - at least be terribly disappointed. This book was nothing short of FANTASTIC! Intertwining sorcery, magic and the gift of "sight," Laurie tells a fantastic story of two orphans on the run for their lives after discovering a treasure box in an abandoned cave. As an adult, I was holding my breath and sitting on the edge of my seat within the first 20 pages. It was that good. Is it as good as the Harry Potter books? I think it's a terrible mistake to compare one book loved by so many to another; however, I will say that there are many wonderful similarities and I'm excited to read the rest of the series. I think it would be fantastic to see this book be made into a movie. A note to readers: I bought this book online, but went to my local B&N to purchase the rest of the series. I was DEVASTATED to realize that they didn't have a single one in stock, and not because they were sold out! They simply hadn't chosen to stock this book for reasons of their own. I was able to talk them into stocking one copy of each book to see how it went for sales. You might call your B&N first if you intend to walk into the store to purchase this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    I read the three books of the series, and was waiting for the fo

    I read the three books of the series, and was waiting for the fourth to come out. And was waiting...and waiting. When I discovered that the publishers decided not to publish the final book I was furious! It's like going to a favorite restaurant and having appetizer and soup, then being told you have to make your own main course! I know I will never buy another
    series book from Random House until the series is concluded. I feel betrayed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Awesomeness and epic book!!!!!

    Must read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Awesome book

    Im not a history type of person but this was awesome i read it in book for but im rwady to buy it in nook form. Its a great book with many details that could b read over and over again. Loved it, savored it, and soaked in the book. I couldnt begin to tell u how amazing it is read buy it and you'll love it too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Great Read

    I really enjoyed this book. I read many books of similar genre but this book really stood out to me. If you are looking at this review to find out wether you should buy it or not, you should definitly get it. This is a great read for kids and adults of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Good read

    A good nbook in general, but a bit close to the Harry Potter series in terms of characters and the adventures they go on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!

    this book was amazing
    i love it!!!!!!!!!!
    If i could i would rate it 100 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    :D

    A must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    ??????????????????

    Is it simular to percy jackson series?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Fantastic!!!

    I'm almost done with this book sord of, but so far, its a GREAT book! I'm always reading it around night time, and its really creepy sometimes. But its really good. I recommend this to ANYBODY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Great Read!!

    A terrific adventure story!! Highly reccomended as I could not put this book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Awesome

    I found this book at the library and read it, it's awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    Awesome

    This series is better than the Harry Potter series and we are huge fans of that series. I have read this one and the second one twice each. I can't wait until the third one. My son (11) flew through them. The characters are so real, you really find yourself rooting for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Victoria Laurie

    This is an excellent book. I am currently on book 2 The Curse of Deadman's Forrest and I can't put it down. Laurie mixes adventure, myths and mystery in the perfect combination to make this novel satisfying to its readers. I recommend it to girls and boys any where from ages 11-14. I guarantee you will love this book just as much as I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!!!!!

    A friend of mine recommended this book to me and after I read it I picked it up and read it again. this book was great and I have been on the edge of my seat waiting for the next one to come out! I loved this book so much and I could think of nothing else until I was finished. If you get this book you will love it to. This book will absorb you completely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book was like Harry Potter with a mythological twist...

    This book was a greatly entertaining read. The story is fantastic, I enjoyed it more than the Harry Potter series because the characters are well developed and the story flows excellently!!

    I was disappointed to learn that I will have to wait until May 2010 to get the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing

    this book was so amazing.It was filled with non stop mystery and action.I would recommend this to everyone.It has brillant charecters that are fearless

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    Rivoting

    this book is fantastic, I could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3