Customer Reviews for

The Orchid Affair (Pink Carnation Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another amazing book by Lauren Willig!

    I've followed this series from the beginning, and while this is not my favorite, I loved this book! Laura is so prim at the beginning of the novel, but she quickly becomes endearing as the story unfolds. She learns to let the world truly see HER as the book progresses. One of the things that I love about Lauren's books are her strong female characters. All of the characters are fun and real. ? it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is another of Lauren Willig's Pink Carnation series. I love

    This is another of Lauren Willig's Pink Carnation series. I loved it. I haven't read one of hers for a little while, so I was happy to return to the series. Her strong female characters are wonderful. This one is about Laura Gray, Governess, who is also the Silver Orchid - spying in France for the British government. She is 32 years old and has been on her own since her parents died when she was 16. She learned to be a governess to survive and she was quite good at it. And, of course she falls in love with the man she is supposed to watch - Andre Jaouoen - but you knew that would happen. Anyway, in the course of their adventures, Miss Gray pulls off these wonderful portrayals astounding Andre and the reader as well as the people she is trying to fool. It was GREAT! The best quote came near the end in her altercation with DeLarouche (the evil assistant Minister of Police) when he asks her, "Who ARE you?" and she says, "The Governess!" in a very BA tone (at least it was in my ears). Be afraid, be so afraid! Anyway, it's a great story based on some historical facts with lots of embellishment. Lauren Willig is so good at this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    So much fun - you've got to read it!

    As always, Lauren Willig did it. This was just another wonderful book in the series. The characters are easy to love. It makes you wish for a sequel to their story, and then I'm sure a wish for another. Read it and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Suddenly disappointing.

    I've been reading this series since the Pink Carnation debuted. I love the stories, both the spies and Eloise, but what is the deal with this new cheesy cover?? It seems silly, but when I buy books, I think about how they will look on my book shelf. All the other covers have been so sweet, but the 8th and 9th book covers are awful. I think it cheapens the book to a grocery store paperback romance novel level. I will wait for better cover before I buy anymore of this series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    I love this author, with each book they just get better and better. You just don't want to put them down and you will go back and reread them too cus they are just that GOOD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo

    Gold Star Award Winner! Laura Grey doesn't want to be a governess anymore. Instead, she applies to the Selwick Spy School. After completing her training, she's sent to France to infiltrate the house of Andre Jaouen - as a governess. Known as the Silver Orchid, she's to teach his two children. On her first day, she takes the children to the bookstore to select reading material for them. It's also the place where she'll receive messages from the Pink Carnation herself. However, as soon as they return, Monsieur Jaouen forbids them to leave the house again. Laura isn't sure how she'll receive her messages now, but she's determined not to let M. Jaouen intimidate her. She stands up to him as much as she possibly can without getting fired. Gradually, she begins to unravel the secrets in the house of the man second in line to Bonaparte's minister of police. As she learns more about her employer, will she find her heart changing? I love this series! It's one of my favorites. I enjoyed this new spy's tale in the heat of the French Revolution. I liked the devious plots, the false leads, and how everyone wasn't what they seemed. I liked watching the relationship between Laura and the children grow. I loved the banter between Laura and M. Jaouen., and I also loved the present-day parallel story between Eloise and Colin. I can't wait for the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Well Done Ms. Willig

    Our fave Ms. Lauren Willig has returned with another page turner for us. And she gives us a meaty read this go round. I truly feel that she gets better with every book. As I read each page I just felt so full. Whether she was giving you character background or historical detail of the time she presented it in a way that fills you to the brim but makes you want more of the same. I guess what I'm saying is that she gives you a full novel thru & thru. You are satisfied at the end and can't wait for the next book.
    Yes the whole Eloise & Colin bit is wearing a bit thin. Basically because there's no clarity as to why they are included in the books. What's their purpose? But she makes such smooth transitions between time periods and there weren't as many this time around til it is only mildly irksome. I also felt that she got started with the romance late in the book so it felt rushed in the end a bit too contrived, if you will. But again that was only mildly irksome. You'll enjoy trust me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The eighth Pink Carnation historical thriller is a great tale filled with action

    In 1804 governess Laura Grey leaves England after ten years employed there to come home to Paris to spy on Napoleon. She enrolled at the Selwick Spy School where Laura was sort of trained in espionage under the code name Silver Orchid. In France, undercover as Laure Griscogne she becomes governess to widower Andre Jaouen's two children (nine years old Gabrielle and five years old Pierre-Andre). However, her mission is to use her new position to learn what her employer, the assistant Prefect to the Minister of Police, knows.

    The plot deploys perfectly in spite of Laure's lack of experience and limited training; in fact her being a tyro spy helps her conceal her probing. Meanwhile Griscogne and his rival Gaston Delaroche investigate the latest alleged Royalist plot to dispose of Napoleon. However, whereas Griscogne cares about the French, Delaroche cares about himself so he uses this inquiry to destroy his enemy. This leads to Laure and the Jaouen family fleeing for their lives across France; the adults pose as mom and dad and the Pink Carnation assists them while Delaroche seizes the opportunity.

    The eighth Pink Carnation historical thriller (see The Betrayal of the Blood Lily) is a great tale filled with action from the moment Laure comes home and never slows down until the final altercation. Fast-paced with a strong cast (including the ambitious villain) who bring to life France in 1804 and a sort of historiographical perspective as each of the adults and others look back with different views from fondness to disdain to the 1789 Revolution.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4