Customer Reviews for

Orchid Blues (Holly Barker Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wetyjl bnljhyouoyjcbx.

Ijhtfggjjhgkjd khuhh

posted by Anonymous on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What's with the N123TF????

A good story but marred by a major plot screw-up.
First, a major character enters in the beginning, Stone Barrington, then he just disappears. His airplane's tail number is N123TF. Later on, long after Stone is gone, we suddenly see the antagonist "John" flying a plane...
A good story but marred by a major plot screw-up.
First, a major character enters in the beginning, Stone Barrington, then he just disappears. His airplane's tail number is N123TF. Later on, long after Stone is gone, we suddenly see the antagonist "John" flying a plane with the exact same N123TF tail number. I could have let it go, but the number is continually in your face, like it's important. But no, it's not! Holly never makes the connection.
I think what happened was that early on in the writing of this novel, the author wanted to weave the tail number into the mystery, but then couldn't figure out how to do it. So the connecting plot mechanism is dropped from the plot, but the tail number remains.
This was either a global cut and paste error or the author sent the wrong draft to the publisher.
Hello, it's an ebook. Can't someone correct this?
The discrepancy really spoiled the ending for me, and will continue to for alert mystery readers.

posted by johnj on August 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    D

    Dv

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Orchid Blues - Holly Barker is quickly becoming a favorite of mi

    Orchid Blues - Holly Barker is quickly becoming a favorite of mine!!

    For a more in depth review, please visit my blog, Chorley Chronicals!




    I have found that I rather enjoy the Holly Barker series, and found that I absolutely enjoyed listening to Orchid Blues, Book #2, by Stuart Woods!




    I absolutely love Holly as a character! She is the perfect woman character for me. She is strong, charismatic, independent, and doesn't give a darn what anyone else says or thinks, she does what she feels is right! She reminds me of Lisa Gardner's D.D. Warren. Holly Barker is quickly becoming one of my favorite leading ladies. And Ham, her father, is just as awesome! He is witty and brave and is obviously where Holly gets all of her great traits from! I'm so glad that he continued on in this series in book two!




    The story was intense and suspenseful! It wasn't your typical detective mystery, which is what I liked most about it! It involved the Orchid Beach Sheriff's Department, the FBI, and mainly the Secret Service, just to give you an idea of the hugeness of the crime at hand, with Ham right at it's center!




    I really enjoyed the fact that there were two narrators for the reading of Orchid Blues. Dick Hill and Susie Breck are such wonderful selections for Holly and Ham. Granted, they do read the other characters, but they do the main characters such justice! I also thoroughly enjoyed the music provided at the beginning and end of each disc. 




    Overall, I can't wait to continue with this series, and loved listening to Orchid Blues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    ?

    Vvvvv

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    An Incredible book

    Stuart Woods did it again. I've never read one of his books that was not fantastic...and this one is no exception. Holly Barker is just enough "out of the norm" to make her a fun character to follow. The cast of characters around her just compliment her character. I highly recommend this book just for fun reading. Once you start it, you'll have a hard time stopping. I do recommend...that you read each of the Holly Barker series of books in sequence. Mr. Woods builds the characters and uses events in one book to springboard into the next. They can be read as "stand alone" and are fantastic in their own right, but they are much more enjoyable if read in sequence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    AWESOME!! Can't put it down once you start!!

    Once again, Stuart Woods has written a delightful book that cannot be put down. The story grips you in the first few pages and the excitement continues to the very last page. I was reminded again why I like to read his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2001

    two voices = twice as good audio

    Just as two heads are better than one two voices, those of Dick Hill and Susie Breck, beat one in this satisfying reading of the second adventure of Police Chief Holly Barker and her erstwhile companion, Daisy, an unbelievable Doberman. Holly isn't thinking work but wedding as she's about to tie the knot with her boyfriend, Jackson Oxenhandler. The path to the altar turns rocky when a crime occurs - a bank robbery in Orchid Beach, Florida, and a vicious one at that as the thieves take everything with them except for a dead body. Her investigation takes Holly and her father, Ham, a retired Army sergeant to a rather strange town, Lake Winachobee. Despite its name not much is placid in this little burg as it turns out to be a hotbed of white supremacists who are planning the assassination of an important leader. Stuart Woods has once again proffered a rapid fire plot and a stunning conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2