Customer Reviews for

Orcs: Army of Shadows

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

thought provoking Orcs trilogy

¿Bodyguard of Lighting¿. Half-nyadd Queen Jennesta (her other side is irrelevant and weak) sends her mostly Orc unit the Wolverines to retrieve a cylinder from the humans in Homefield. She warns her commander Captain Stryke not to come home alive without the package ...
¿Bodyguard of Lighting¿. Half-nyadd Queen Jennesta (her other side is irrelevant and weak) sends her mostly Orc unit the Wolverines to retrieve a cylinder from the humans in Homefield. She warns her commander Captain Stryke not to come home alive without the package collateral damage is desired. The troops succeed, but celebrate their victory by using illegal drugs they stole from the humans. Kobolds attack the unit and steal the cylinder. Not back on time, Jennesta assumes she was betrayed and so declares the Wolverines as outlaws. --- ¿Legion of Thunder¿. Queen Jennesta sends Orc Commander Delorran to kill the Wolverines and bring back her cylinder. The evil sorceress warns her minion not to fail on either of their tasks if they do she will dine on their life forces. Soon afterward Stryke learns his and his men (and one female) are named outlaws if they go home her Highness will serve them as her main meal regardless of bringing the cylinder to her. He knows Jennesta waits for no living thing. So he changes the mission to recapturing the cylinder to learn what it contains and go from there. --- ¿Warriors of The Tempest¿. Stryke and his warriors struggle to collect the now known five-artifacts and learn how to use them to save the world from the shocking axis of evil. The three deadly sorceress sisters seem to have forged a pact that will lead to pandemic horror if true as paradoxical as it seems each is the most malevolent powerful being on the planet. --- This omnibus edition of Stan Nicholls¿ thought provoking Orcs trilogy uses the perspective of the so called ¿bad guys¿ to tell the quest fantasy. Their ruminations on the vicious vile violence they obeyed before switching to stay alive make for a fine fascinating saga. However, Tolkien purists will object to the change from wicked Wolverines to courageous champions trying to save the world from the tempest triad. Fans will enjoy this fine threesome as the ¿Stryker¿ force makes a strong case against ethnic profiling. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by Anonymous on July 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Predictable, Not a New Concept

Despite all the critical praise that's adorned the cover (inside and out) of the book, this concept of portraying orcs in a more understandable and amenable light is nothing new if you're an avid reader of fantasy novels, such as Grunts by Mary Gentle (albeit a humorous...
Despite all the critical praise that's adorned the cover (inside and out) of the book, this concept of portraying orcs in a more understandable and amenable light is nothing new if you're an avid reader of fantasy novels, such as Grunts by Mary Gentle (albeit a humorous and anachronistic take). The language is quite basic and unsophisticated, and the plot is predictable and cliched. There's nothing wrong with being able to see how the plot will turn miles off, after all what fantasy story can truly claim its entirely original. The greatest failing of this book, however, has to do with the very element its using to claim to fame, in other words the portrayal of the Orcs. In an attempt to make the Orcs more understandable, and trying to connect to the readers, the author ended up portraying them as basically humans with the weird names and 'ugly' faces. In fact if the word orc was replaced with man, the reader would be none the wiser as to whether the book is talking about a group of brutal orcs or a band of human soldiers. I understand that the author was trying to paint them in a bit more sympathetic light than the usual oft maligned battle fodder in fantasy settings, but in the attempt, there's almost no characteristic left to distinguish these orc characters to be orcs. I hardly think portraying orcs as just brutish looking humans do them justice, nor are any of the critical praises this book received deserved.

posted by vkl on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Better than tolkien

    Not being a huge fan of fantasy i tendbto stay clear of it. The only authors in this genrre i had any interest in were those who were a little darker such as tolkien and terry brooks. But i stumbled upon the omnibus volume of the first three orcs books one day and i decided to give it a chance. And im glad i did. And now that nicholls has continued the saga of stryfe and his band of orcs i will continue to read them. Entertaining and exciting this is not something you should miss out on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Anoymous November 15, 2011

    Really awsome book. Lots of adventure ,yes alot of profanity, but still every bit as interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Say hello to Thundercats meet's 300. Orcs: Forged for War is an action packed thrill-ride that fantasy fans will love!

    Say hello to Thundercats meet's 300. Orcs: Forged for War is an action packed thrill-ride that fantasy fans will love!


    Full Review can be found at: MotherGamerWriter(dot)com




    Favorite Quote: "So we got to babysit a bunch of f***ing goblins in charge of a f***ing weapon we don't know about, under orders that ain't f***ing clear."





    Magnificent! That pretty much sums up how I feel about this graphic novel. Its action packed, filled with tidbits of comic relief, and the characters resemble some of my favorites from television and other novels. It's a refreshing journey through the day in the life of an Orc, a misunderstood member of the Elder Races that are a lot smarter than other creatures give them credit for. Once I started reading their story, I could not stop, consuming all 208 pages of death, blood, betrayal, and redemption. It was magical, fun, and just what I needed as a break from all my usual vampire/werewolf romance novels.

    If you enjoy fantasy elements with a bit comedy thrown in, then this is the graphic novel for you. But I must warn you, please do not read the comic if you do NOT like harsh language, slight nudity, blood, and strong violent content. I would say that the Goodreads description is very accurate as the suggestive content is on par with the movie 300 and its graphic novel counterparts. So if you hated that then you will not like this. Get it, try it, and love it because in the end, not all Orcs are created equal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    Don't judge a book by its cover

    I initially picked this up because the cover was intriguing and I was really excited to read about Orc culture. I had to stop reading this book because I didn't want to read anymore of Jennesta's sadistic scenes. This entire book could have been avoided if the Orcs didn't get high after accomplishing their task. I wash my hands of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    OK, not great

    I may have had too high of expectations from this book. If was good to fill the need for a fantasy book but really not all that memorable. Definitely different from the norm if that is what you are looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended

    Orcs: Bad Blood (The sequel to Orcs), is definately a must read. Especially if you just got done reading Orcs. The story still follows the Wolverines, but this time they aren't working alone. They meet up with an orc resistance group, and they work together to overthrow the human scum thats holding them down. It's kind of a nice chance to have them working with other orcs, instead of by themselves all the time. I liked Orcs a little more than Orcs: Bad Blood, to tell the truth. But Orcs: Bad Blood is still a great book and a must read if your into the Orcs series. Buy now, or beg for mercy later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    Orcs is one of the best books that I have ever read. I just started getting into readind these past few months, and I started with the book Orcs. I went to Barnes and Noble and found this book, and was instantly interested. Mostly because of my love for Orcs. I decided to buy this book, and within the first night I read over 300 pages. Which really surprised me, because I've never really been into the whole reading thing. This book is absolutely amazing. I couldn't help but to finish the whole thing within the next few days after I bought it. I highly recommend everyone to give this book a chance. The way Stan Nicholls describes the characters is just amazing. I quickly found myself bonding with almost every character in the book. I couldn't believe how pissed I was at Jannesta (Evil which chick). I couldn't wait to read the whole book to see what happened to her. This book will pull you in, and won't let you escape until you finished the whole thing. Orcs is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    orcs bad blood

    stan gets you into the world of the orcs with his first book then throws them into all new perils with his next. i have thuroughly enjoyed his books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nice :D Awesome book.

    I loved this book. Sadly, I wish the entire series was all done so I could keep going from this to the next book and laugh at the danger and funny things that happen in it to all the people. Hopefully nothing to bad happens to the Wolverines next. :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I believe it was worth the money and time.

    Just reading the back of the book made me interested and kept me entertained. Going from page to page every night not wanting to stop reading until I see what the time is and didn't know how long went by when I read it. Understanding all the problems and issues in it made me wanting to see the ending to this awesome book and continue right to the next book without stopping. Woo, it was sweet. =]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Action and Adventure Galore!

    A hack and slash tale from beginning to end. The story has a good cast of characters that are unique in their own manorisms and personalities. While the author might not be the most well crafted wordsmith I found the story both intriguing and exciting. A good read overall and I can't wait for the next trilogy in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    Good For People who Like Fantasy Books

    This book was really good, although has parts that are appropriate only for mature readers. I was kept ocupied through and through. it has enough humoor, and a good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tolkien gave Orcs a bad name, but Stan Nicholls redeems them

    After getting off their malignant homeworld, Stryke and the Wolverines settle on the Orc orb Ceragan. Their new home proved idyllic, but over time ennui set in so eagerly they venture to anther world Acurial where they join the resistance whose members are not afraid to fight unlike the Orcs who fear the wrath of the Peczan Empire and their evil Sorceress Jennesta. The Wolverines risk their lives to liberate the oppressed orcs from human domination. Their efforts to spark the feral berserker nature of their submissive local peers lead to a civil war.

    Using the stars that let them dimension hop to Acurial they land on a world mostly made up of water with islands as the only land. They land on one island populated by dwarves who believe the newcomers are gods especially the dwarves who are part of the Wolverine horde. When slavers kidnap a dwarf, the Wolverines go after them. In their way is Peli Madigan of the Gateway Cops whose job is to get the stars and bring them back to her order as it is too dangerous for individuals to use. Jennesta lands on the world forcing Stryke to make a decision no sentient being should have to make; the Wolverines believes they can win against overwhelming odds, but must find the courage to battle their enemies.

    Tolkien gave Orcs a bad name, but Stan Nicholls redeems them with his Wolverines who are good with a strong sense of morality especially by making them do what they promise once they give their word.. Although battle ready, the group prefers other options before choosing war as a last resort (if only President Bush was a Wolverine). Filled with action that never slows down on dry land or water, readers will be fascinated by the two worlds the Orcs visit on their quest and look forward to final book in the so far entertaining trilogy.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Who knew?

    I began this book not expecting much. I was drawn in by the cover art. As I began to read I could not put it down. I love this book. The characters jump off the page. I found myself in love with the orcs and wanting them to succeed in their mission.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    Very good book and Series

    I felt it was a good edition to the story and gave a good ending to the 2 part series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    not as good as the first series

    loved the first set of books, but this one does not really make the grade.
    SO SAD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enthralling

    On the planet Maras-Dantia, the Wolverine band of Orc soldiers unwillingly served the cruel evil Queen Jennesta; she demanded they find five instrumentalities. When they are put together, they form a portal that opens up into other worlds. The orcs use it to go to their homeworld Ceragan, a clean place populated by Orcs only. The leader of the wolverine band Stryke and others are weary of the constant deadly battles and see this realm as a haven.---------------

    They choose to remain here and stop fighting in order to live out the remainder of their lives rusticating in harmony and peace. Seraphim the human arrives informing them of a depressing tale of atrocities as orcs are in decline and humans are hunting them like they are dumb beasts on Acurial. The wolverines learn that Jennesta still lives and is coming after them to take the instrumentalities that will make her queen of all worlds. Stryke and the wolverines know they must go to Acurial to end the genocide and prevent the queen from achieving her objective. Jennesta remains in a position of power so has much to toss at her former minions whom she calls traitors. Still Stryke and the Wolverines are willing to fight to the death to prevent her from making an already horrific situation worse.----------------

    ORCS: BAD BLOOD makes a case that the species is not evil brutal thugs but are intelligent rational beings who battle to the extreme rather than surrender (think of the Highlander warriors in pre Culloden Scotland). They do not believe in slaughter, massacres or genocide, but will bravely fight against overwhelming odds. In fact they look forward to a quiet life and death in bed on their new world, but feel duty calls so they travel Acurial world to free the orcs though they assume a trap awaits them. There is plenty of action though little is settled even as Stryke and his wolverines prove the orcs are so different than the prejudicial Tolkien standard. -------------

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8