Customer Reviews for

Orcs

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

thought provoking Orcs trilogy

¿Bodyguard of Lighting¿. Half-nyadd Queen Jennesta (her other side is irrelevant and weak) sends her mostly Orc unit the Wolverines to retrieve a cylinder from the humans in Homefield. She warns her commander Captain Stryke not to come home alive without the package ...
¿Bodyguard of Lighting¿. Half-nyadd Queen Jennesta (her other side is irrelevant and weak) sends her mostly Orc unit the Wolverines to retrieve a cylinder from the humans in Homefield. She warns her commander Captain Stryke not to come home alive without the package collateral damage is desired. The troops succeed, but celebrate their victory by using illegal drugs they stole from the humans. Kobolds attack the unit and steal the cylinder. Not back on time, Jennesta assumes she was betrayed and so declares the Wolverines as outlaws. --- ¿Legion of Thunder¿. Queen Jennesta sends Orc Commander Delorran to kill the Wolverines and bring back her cylinder. The evil sorceress warns her minion not to fail on either of their tasks if they do she will dine on their life forces. Soon afterward Stryke learns his and his men (and one female) are named outlaws if they go home her Highness will serve them as her main meal regardless of bringing the cylinder to her. He knows Jennesta waits for no living thing. So he changes the mission to recapturing the cylinder to learn what it contains and go from there. --- ¿Warriors of The Tempest¿. Stryke and his warriors struggle to collect the now known five-artifacts and learn how to use them to save the world from the shocking axis of evil. The three deadly sorceress sisters seem to have forged a pact that will lead to pandemic horror if true as paradoxical as it seems each is the most malevolent powerful being on the planet. --- This omnibus edition of Stan Nicholls¿ thought provoking Orcs trilogy uses the perspective of the so called ¿bad guys¿ to tell the quest fantasy. Their ruminations on the vicious vile violence they obeyed before switching to stay alive make for a fine fascinating saga. However, Tolkien purists will object to the change from wicked Wolverines to courageous champions trying to save the world from the tempest triad. Fans will enjoy this fine threesome as the ¿Stryker¿ force makes a strong case against ethnic profiling. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by Anonymous on July 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Predictable, Not a New Concept

Despite all the critical praise that's adorned the cover (inside and out) of the book, this concept of portraying orcs in a more understandable and amenable light is nothing new if you're an avid reader of fantasy novels, such as Grunts by Mary Gentle (albeit a humorous...
Despite all the critical praise that's adorned the cover (inside and out) of the book, this concept of portraying orcs in a more understandable and amenable light is nothing new if you're an avid reader of fantasy novels, such as Grunts by Mary Gentle (albeit a humorous and anachronistic take). The language is quite basic and unsophisticated, and the plot is predictable and cliched. There's nothing wrong with being able to see how the plot will turn miles off, after all what fantasy story can truly claim its entirely original. The greatest failing of this book, however, has to do with the very element its using to claim to fame, in other words the portrayal of the Orcs. In an attempt to make the Orcs more understandable, and trying to connect to the readers, the author ended up portraying them as basically humans with the weird names and 'ugly' faces. In fact if the word orc was replaced with man, the reader would be none the wiser as to whether the book is talking about a group of brutal orcs or a band of human soldiers. I understand that the author was trying to paint them in a bit more sympathetic light than the usual oft maligned battle fodder in fantasy settings, but in the attempt, there's almost no characteristic left to distinguish these orc characters to be orcs. I hardly think portraying orcs as just brutish looking humans do them justice, nor are any of the critical praises this book received deserved.

posted by vkl on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Predictable, Not a New Concept

    Despite all the critical praise that's adorned the cover (inside and out) of the book, this concept of portraying orcs in a more understandable and amenable light is nothing new if you're an avid reader of fantasy novels, such as Grunts by Mary Gentle (albeit a humorous and anachronistic take). The language is quite basic and unsophisticated, and the plot is predictable and cliched. There's nothing wrong with being able to see how the plot will turn miles off, after all what fantasy story can truly claim its entirely original. The greatest failing of this book, however, has to do with the very element its using to claim to fame, in other words the portrayal of the Orcs. In an attempt to make the Orcs more understandable, and trying to connect to the readers, the author ended up portraying them as basically humans with the weird names and 'ugly' faces. In fact if the word orc was replaced with man, the reader would be none the wiser as to whether the book is talking about a group of brutal orcs or a band of human soldiers. I understand that the author was trying to paint them in a bit more sympathetic light than the usual oft maligned battle fodder in fantasy settings, but in the attempt, there's almost no characteristic left to distinguish these orc characters to be orcs. I hardly think portraying orcs as just brutish looking humans do them justice, nor are any of the critical praises this book received deserved.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    50-Page Review*: Orcs

    *50 pages is usually as long as it takes me to determine if I've made a mistake or not.

    I saw the title on the bookshelf and was immediately enthralled. I was drawn to the notion of a story from the viewpoint of a traditional and notorious antagonist; like the fantasy version of "Interview with a Vampire". I envisioned a story of a lone orc separated from his warband after the destruction of Mordor, or maybe a coming-of-age drama about a young orc that is raised by humans (ala "A Light in the Forest").

    What is apparent in the first 50 pages is that I was sorely mistaken. Stan Nicholl's orcs are not the slavering simple-minded grunts of Tolkien or the mercurial, functionally crude, and vaguely Scottish Warhammer green-skins. These orcs are organized, motivated, articulate, and literate. They are "orcs" in name only, and that is something of a cheat. They are indentured warrior serfs that existentially contemplate their oppression between trite clashes with other fantasy races.

    Nicholls' prose are simple and formulaic with frequent single-sentence impact paragraphs. You know the kind I mean. The ones with an incredibly morbid metaphor interjected every few pages to let you know just how dark and macabre the story is.

    Speaking of metaphors, the author often compares things to fictional things. Telling me that someone grinned with the warmth of a tralfamadorian spider has no impact if I don't know what a tralfamadorian spider is. Since the creatures are never discussed in the book outside of this metaphor the comparison has no point of reference. For all I know tralfamadorian spiders are quite congenial. Hence the reader is left alienated and somewhat confused.

    Aside from the disappointment of the story's protagonist and juvenile writing style, the antagonist is even worse. A two-dimensional amalgamation of every evil witch you've ever heard of, her entire time in the book is either spent A) killing/torturing someone or B) casting Harry Potter-ish magical spells. Often dispatching her victims during the course of a sex/rape act, Nicholl's reveals his own fear of carnality (sex equals death). Seriously, this guy was obviously rejected by a cheerleader at some point and now I have to read his cathartic fantasy epic where he vents his sexual frustrations. Google his image some time. I'm probably not wrong.

    Tad Williams is wrong. Pass on this book now or beg for a refund later.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Tolkien eat your heart out

    This book is a different kind of fantasy. No prissy unicorns no cowardly midgets. No wussy elves. No whiny pathetic half human creatures. Orcs is a funny exciting read from start to finish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Very good!

    I thought this book would be something of a copy to The Lord of the Rings. And... well, I wasn't completely wrong. That isn't necessarily a bad thing, because it's not a copy as much as it is an influence, per say. The orcs are the heroes, oddly enough,though this book didn't change my perspective on orcs like I thought it would. Maybe it's because Maras Dantia and Middle Earth are two different worlds. The concept isn't new, but in this book's defense, it is pretty hard to find original ideas after tons of things have already been thought of. After reading some of the other reviews on here, I am a bit disheartened that so many people didn't like it. But I tend to see the positive side of things, not the negatives like so many others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    Careful with the ebook; seems to be incomplete

    I am currently reading the print version and enjoying it very much. Since I am traveling soon and need to optimize space, I bought the ebook in addition. When trying to continue where I left off, I realized that the text I had just been reading in the paper version (last paragraph of "Legion of Thunder") was missing. It might not be obvious when you only read the ebook, but imho, this omission totally changes the relationship between Stryke and Serapheim. What else is left out? Was the omission accidental or by design? Either way, stay away from the electronic version and stick to paper for this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    Unconventional Tale of Orcs....

    The marketing of this book is amazing, the first pages are filled with kudos from various authors. I immediatly wanted to read this book after picking it up off the shelf at B&N. The bad news is that this story is fairly predictable, chapter after chapter. This book is a compilation of 3 books, with the first book really grabbing your attention. The 2 subsequent books become more difficult to get through and tend to drag on. The good news about this book is the unconventional persona of the orc. The author really went to great lengths to create a completly different view of what us "Sci-Fi/Fantasy" guru's think of an Orc. To that the author gets an A+.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Orcs

    I bought this book because I thought the storyline was a great idea and something new. I expected a certain amount of violence and bloodshed considering the nature of the beast. However, I admit I was not prepared for how gruesome, bloody and gory this book is. The characters were very real and interesting and I was really into the story and plot...but...I just could not get past the gore and gruesomeness...it was truly icky. I may try to go back to this book in the future and see if I can finish reading it by skipping over the awful parts...or not. Very disappointing.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    For the fantasy fan: the villains, reversed.

    In a deceptively simplistic writing style, Stan Nicholls brings us a viewpoint from what we'd expect to be the villain.

    Don't let the way I worded his writing style fool you. The way he presents the story, plot and characters? Is a perfect fit. Blunt, harsh and unforgiving can be just a few words that describe the world Stan has placed his Orcs in. And yet there is a magnificent wealth of humor, wisdom, honor and cunning not often seen with the typical "baddie" race in usual fantasy.

    I started the book a touch doubtful--but the longer I read the better it became. I definitely recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    You'll never see Orcs in the same light again!

    It's a truism that "winners write history", so if you enjoyed Tolkien's Ring Trilogy and thought Orcs would be a continuation, forget it! Orcs takes its cues from David Drake with vivid battle descriptions and military dialogue. Imagine Halo's Chief as an Orc -- intelligent, humane, noble, but above all a professional soldier -- and you've summed up the main character, Stryke. Sword and sorcery spice the storyline, too. Overall, a book that will grab your attention, shake your assumptions, and drag your imagination into new directions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    Pretty Bad

    Marginally good writing but really quite indicative of the problem with the whole genre right now. Derivative (by design, I suppose), predicatable, etc. Some good points: use of mind altering recreational drugs by the good guys, fast paced, some good character development. Worth a read if you are an uber-LOTR geek.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    If its the lord of the rings orcs then count me in!

    If its the kind of orcs in fairy tales and knights..... then what were they thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Beautiful!

    Being a World of Warcraft addict, I started reading this book with several preconceived notice and discovered that, although the orcs in this work share certain similarities with those of WoW they are unique. This truly is a beautiful book and I believe even fellow WoW players of my enemies', the Alliance's, faction will enjoy. I'd recommend it to anyone and can't wait to read the sequels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Worth reading

    The consept is great and the story is intriging but the plot from one chapter the next or struggles all mirror eachother and the book gets repeditive. All together it was still a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Fantastic.

    Probably the "realest" fantasy book I've ever read. Memorable characters in a very unique setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Awful!

    I can't believe I paid for this book! It is awful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    RAWRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!

    Mie naims junia. Im anne aurk. Ie dougnt lyk et.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    READ

    YAVES RULES!!!! BEST CHRISTIAN RAPPER EVER!!! HOT GASOLINE!!!! PUNCHLINE!!!!! LET IT FUEL YA!!!! I LOVE U YAVES!!!!!!! UR MY FAV RAPPER!!!!!

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Good bathroom read

    When I first got this book I was over seas and need something to fill my down time. A friend saw that I picked it up a few times at b&n and he sent it to me. I read a few chapters but i just could not get into it. I did not pick it back up until i was back in the states. I had nothing to read and it was just sitting there. I only read whenever i was in the bathroom. The plot takes to much time to develop. It never really goes into the back story of why the"stars" where made or who really made them. As for the ocrs, they just stumble onto them and were like, hay lets go find them. Oh yeah and their leader just so happens to knowhow to use them. So over all the orcs are to humanistic, the villinous is moot and the quest line is lacking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    The orcs

    Weird

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not too bad of an ending for the second trilogy.

    Orcs Inferno( third book in the second trilogy) not too bad of an ending for the second trilogy considering all the world hopping the war band did . This trilogy did however lose some of the wander that made the first trilogy so great, but all in all a good ride from start to finish and a must read if you loved the first trilogy. I will definitely read the third trilogy (if there is one) considering how the second one ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8