Customer Reviews for

Orcs: Inferno

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tolkien eat your heart out

This book is a different kind of fantasy. No prissy unicorns no cowardly midgets. No wussy elves. No whiny pathetic half human creatures. Orcs is a funny exciting read from start to finish.

posted by 6408752 on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Predictable, Not a New Concept

Despite all the critical praise that's adorned the cover (inside and out) of the book, this concept of portraying orcs in a more understandable and amenable light is nothing new if you're an avid reader of fantasy novels, such as Grunts by Mary Gentle (albeit a humorous...
Despite all the critical praise that's adorned the cover (inside and out) of the book, this concept of portraying orcs in a more understandable and amenable light is nothing new if you're an avid reader of fantasy novels, such as Grunts by Mary Gentle (albeit a humorous and anachronistic take). The language is quite basic and unsophisticated, and the plot is predictable and cliched. There's nothing wrong with being able to see how the plot will turn miles off, after all what fantasy story can truly claim its entirely original. The greatest failing of this book, however, has to do with the very element its using to claim to fame, in other words the portrayal of the Orcs. In an attempt to make the Orcs more understandable, and trying to connect to the readers, the author ended up portraying them as basically humans with the weird names and 'ugly' faces. In fact if the word orc was replaced with man, the reader would be none the wiser as to whether the book is talking about a group of brutal orcs or a band of human soldiers. I understand that the author was trying to paint them in a bit more sympathetic light than the usual oft maligned battle fodder in fantasy settings, but in the attempt, there's almost no characteristic left to distinguish these orc characters to be orcs. I hardly think portraying orcs as just brutish looking humans do them justice, nor are any of the critical praises this book received deserved.

posted by vkl on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Very good!

    I thought this book would be something of a copy to The Lord of the Rings. And... well, I wasn't completely wrong. That isn't necessarily a bad thing, because it's not a copy as much as it is an influence, per say. The orcs are the heroes, oddly enough,though this book didn't change my perspective on orcs like I thought it would. Maybe it's because Maras Dantia and Middle Earth are two different worlds. The concept isn't new, but in this book's defense, it is pretty hard to find original ideas after tons of things have already been thought of. After reading some of the other reviews on here, I am a bit disheartened that so many people didn't like it. But I tend to see the positive side of things, not the negatives like so many others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    For the fantasy fan: the villains, reversed.

    In a deceptively simplistic writing style, Stan Nicholls brings us a viewpoint from what we'd expect to be the villain.

    Don't let the way I worded his writing style fool you. The way he presents the story, plot and characters? Is a perfect fit. Blunt, harsh and unforgiving can be just a few words that describe the world Stan has placed his Orcs in. And yet there is a magnificent wealth of humor, wisdom, honor and cunning not often seen with the typical "baddie" race in usual fantasy.

    I started the book a touch doubtful--but the longer I read the better it became. I definitely recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not too bad of an ending for the second trilogy.

    Orcs Inferno( third book in the second trilogy) not too bad of an ending for the second trilogy considering all the world hopping the war band did . This trilogy did however lose some of the wander that made the first trilogy so great, but all in all a good ride from start to finish and a must read if you loved the first trilogy. I will definitely read the third trilogy (if there is one) considering how the second one ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended

    Orcs: Bad Blood (The sequel to Orcs), is definately a must read. Especially if you just got done reading Orcs. The story still follows the Wolverines, but this time they aren't working alone. They meet up with an orc resistance group, and they work together to overthrow the human scum thats holding them down. It's kind of a nice chance to have them working with other orcs, instead of by themselves all the time. I liked Orcs a little more than Orcs: Bad Blood, to tell the truth. But Orcs: Bad Blood is still a great book and a must read if your into the Orcs series. Buy now, or beg for mercy later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Action and Adventure Galore!

    A hack and slash tale from beginning to end. The story has a good cast of characters that are unique in their own manorisms and personalities. While the author might not be the most well crafted wordsmith I found the story both intriguing and exciting. A good read overall and I can't wait for the next trilogy in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    Good For People who Like Fantasy Books

    This book was really good, although has parts that are appropriate only for mature readers. I was kept ocupied through and through. it has enough humoor, and a good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    Very good book and Series

    I felt it was a good edition to the story and gave a good ending to the 2 part series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2