Customer Reviews for

Ordaining Reality

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Ordaining Reality: The Science Behind the Power of Positive Thinking

    I just finished this book. I need to revisit some portions as it was a little over my head in a few of the parts that the author said were optional. I am interested in every aspect, so I just took it slowly through these parts and will reread some of them later. I learned more with this book than any other book I¿ve ever read. Nothing was even close, not even my college text books. That is not to say that I felt like I was in a course, though. I just turned the pages and came face-to-face with new ideas, insights, knowledge and facts that I personally found fascinating. The interesting thing is that I didn¿t know I was seeking this knowledge! Someone in the blogs for this book said that the title belied the fact that this was an enlightening book. I agree with them. As a wrap up I¿d say that readers of all interests and backgrounds will enjoy this book as you can skip so much of it yet still get what you need. Best of all it explains in a very convincing way how you can actually create the future. This is something no other book of which I am aware has done.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Ordaining Reality: The Science Behind the Power of Positive Thinking

    This book explains more about the human mind and human condition than anything I¿ve ever read. It ties together about 2500 years of Eastern and Western thought in a pretty neat package. The fact that it explains how to create the future with the mind is its main purpose, but it would stand on its own even if it didn¿t contain that explanation and the easy-to-follow enlightenment exercises. Oh and by the way, I may be a nerd, but the Glossary of Terms is even fun to read.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    Ordaining Reality: The Science Behind the Power of Positive Thinking

    I am new to all this ¿positive thought creates positive results¿ stuff. I read The Law of Attraction and some of The Secret. I then saw a Google ad for this book, so I got it too. Can you say ¿Night and Day¿? The other two claim that this concept works, and I have no reason to doubt those authors However, you have to take their points on faith. This book gets into the details, and my how deep it gets into them 'and I even skipped a lot'. The bottom line is this: Anyone who wants to know who we are, why we¿re here, where we¿re going, and, most important, how to get there has got to read this book.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    Ordaining Reality: The Science Behind the Power of Positive Thinking

    I have heard a lot about how the law of attraction could change people's lives. I am big on the concept of positive thinking, but with all the books I had read I could not find any rational reason how or why this technique would work¿until now. I had always wondered if a thought by itself could change the hard reality of the future. I now can see how it truly can. Other popular books on this topic contend that this happens because likes attract likes however, as this book points out, that is exactly opposite of what physicists say. In the real world opposites attract. Excuse me, but I believe in the thousands of physicists and the credible way this author presents this information...not these sensationalist books that try to hype you up. I say, Good Luck to those who bought some of the other books out now. This book truly explains how this happens and actually shows you in specific steps how to bring about the future.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Ordaining Reality: The Science Behind the Power of Positive Thinking

    I just put down this book. It took longer to finish than most books I've ever read, but it was worth the effort and price of admission. I've read many self-help books, but this one makes the concept seem truly plausible, and that¿s key I think. The author gets into the underlying physics more deeply than I need, but he shows you how to skip over those parts without losing your way. I hope to get into those sections when I get more time. In the meantime I am practicing the lessons of the last chapter, and I already think they¿re working!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    Ordaining Reality: The Science Behind the Power of Positive Thinking

    I have just finished reading this book. I thought the price was a tad hefty, and it took me awhile to get through it all, but I must say that it's the most worthwhile book I've ever read. Period. I say that because it explores so many things that I have thought about, wondered about or maybe should have wondered about. I did have trouble following some of its deepest sections, but most of that ¿heavy lifting¿ was part of the optional reading. I would recommend it to anyone with an open and inquisitive mind or to someone who wants to understand how to influence the future with their thoughts. Just be prepared that it will take some time if you read all the parts, which I did. I'd rate it six stars if I could.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Smarter and more optimistic

    Having finished it, I must say that this book has brought me on a journey unlike no other. I now understand a lot about two things I never cared about before: science and how we think. I wish I had learned them 50 years ago (I won¿t reveal my age). I can¿t say that I followed everything, but I got the gist of most of it, even the optional parts. I am now enjoying the visualization and contemplation pieces. I feel better about my future and that says a lot in these troubled times. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to improve their life and learn a lot of useful things in the process.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    The Title says it all

    This book, unlike any other that I¿ve read, explains in clear terms how events and objects are connected through thoughts and how they either attract or repel each other. As its title states, it really explains the science behind the power of positive thinking. I have a background in science, so I drank all of it in. Good stuff. However, I can see that readers with little or no background can read the first 100 pages or so 'all non-technical', jump to chapters Seven and Eight and then go to the last chapter and probably get just as much out of it in the end.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A fascinating tour of human consciousness and the world about us

    This book will open many eyes. It explores nature, who we are, how we think, and most important, how we can make our thoughts change our future. To be honest, I didn¿t read every section as some are more suited to people who have deeper backgrounds in science than I. However, most of the book was easy to follow and the experience is the most enriching I have ever had. I also found the instructions in Chapter Thirteen to be relaxing, revealing and extremely helpful. This is a book you will wear out by reading parts over and over, especially the last chapter. My copy is already dog-eared.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Dream Maker

    I've read the book and have been practicing the Chapter Thirteen methods within it since early October; it has already changed my life. In early November, despite a tough job market in my field, I landed what I hope and believe to be my ¿dream job¿. I had to compete with a lot of other candidates and make it by three very taxing interviews. I persevered by constantly focusing on the future reality that I would be receiving the phone call to start work from this employer. I didn¿t even know that the notice of hiring would be a call or a letter. Well, it was a phone call just as I had imagined it. I was called within six days of the last in-terview, and I¿ve now been there one month. I honestly believe that the book made that possible, especially since I¿ve read almost all of the other ones of this ilk and couldn¿t connect the dots in terms of how to specifically apply the information. Now, not only did I land this terrific job, so many other things are also coming to fruition. I just meditate on who I am (underneath it all) every night and then think about who I will become for about two or three minutes. The book makes it seem so connected to cause and effect, and I even skipped a lot of parts that the author said were optional.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Put this on your list

    Our actions are driven by our thoughts; it is therefore logical that our thoughts influence the actions of others. This book, unlike The Secret explains this link clearly. Although the scientific portions of this book may be more than some readers can tolerate, the author presents them in layers so that the uninitiated can pick and choose the parts they need. In converse, I found that The Secret confused the principle of thoughts influencing the future via the simplistic black and white world it paints and its unabashed advocacy of materialism and greed. I recognize that in the US, at least, materialism is the Holy Grail, and success in life is measured by the toys we have and the size of our portfolios. That is why people who are struggling financially are grist for this mill and led to the success of The Secret. While it is true that positive thought beget positive outcomes, The Secret suggests that people who are starving in parts of Indonesia and Africa are entirely responsible for their own circumstances. In contrast, Ordaining Reality fosters human compassion and empathy and makes the case that we are all in this world together, and one¿s own happiness and gain is brought about by helping others to gain. In addition to the public, this book should be read by every member of our government so that they would understand nature and re-align their priorities.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Making reality real

    I just finished reading most of the new version. Some parts were a little over my head, but what I truly loved about this book, in addition to learning an awful lot about an awful lot, is that it¿s real. What I mean is that it isn¿t like some others (such as The Secret and Law of Attraction) that give you a lot of successful cases then tell you ¿you can do it too; it¿s simple¿. That may work for some, but, this book explains what¿s involved, exactly what you need to do, and why you need to do it that way. I¿m into this stuff and it¿s the first book I¿ve ever seen that¿s like this.<BR/><BR/>It took me a while to get through most of it, and I don¿t understand all of it, but I unqualifiedly recommend it to anyone who wants to know about the nature of life, how to cope with its ups and downs, how to make a positive impact, and how to make your future brighter¿with no bull.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun if you can read it

    In some ways this is the best book I¿ve ever read. I qualify that because I couldn¿t follow every single part (I plan to reread those sections). Even for those like me who don¿t know everything about science, this book will help those among us who are often negative and do not believe in a "greater power". Mind, you, this is in no way a religious book. It is science, but it gets into the realm of the spirit, so I see that connection clearly.<BR/>Whether you are religious or not, I found it to be extremely interesting and thought provoking. The author presents both the pathway and the science behind the ability to tap into the spiritual energy of the universe. This information essential for those among us who seek enlightenment and want to improve their future. Maybe some people do not seek enlightenment or want to be happy. At least it seems that way to me. I just wish that everyone in the world would try to read and heed this book. I believe that the author is coming out with an abridged version. I will be looking for it and encouraging others to read it.<BR/>What fun!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm thanking my friend for this

    I bought this book because a friend said it truly showed her how thoughts can affect the future. She also told me it was changing her life. Other than those two things I didn't really know what to expect. What she didn't mention is that it is pretty complex. I'm glad she didn't tell me (warn me!), as I may never have bought it or tried to read it. I have to say that it is a little tough to get through in some parts, and I had to even skip some of the sections the author said was optional, although I wanted to drink all of it in, especially after paying close to 40 bucks! All that said, the book, although long and in some places technical, is NEVER boring. Each page opens a new thought for me and ties together notions I have thought about, or introduces new ideas I never considered but am glad I now do. Unlike, say, The Secret, which was, to me, just a lot of fluff, this book treats this subject in an understandable, scientific manner. In other self-help books (I've read a bunch), I could never get that "Aha!" moment. In this book, I get it practically on every page!!! I am nearly through all the preparation parts and dying to put the information to the test. Even if it doesn't work, it was an education, but I'm seriously betting it will.
    Now that I'm almost through the book I went ahead and read some of the blog on the website (it would have been a good idea to read some of that first). That tells me that a new version that is a lot simpler is coming out soon. I probably would have opted for that, but I feel that I certainly didn't miss out on anything with this edition. I recommend it to anyone who wants to understand life, nature and how to change their future. Even at this rather hefty price, this book rates right up there with the best I've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1