Customer Reviews for

Ordeal

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    So sad I of course had heard, vaguely, of the movie Deepthroat,

    So sad
    I of course had heard, vaguely, of the movie Deepthroat, but I had no idea that Linda Lovelace made that and other movies as a prisoner of her cruel, abusive "husband", Chuck Traynor. While reading this book I repeatedly wanted to jump into the story and save her from all of the horrible atrocities committed against her. Though Linda Lovelace has been gone for some time now, many women alive today are in a situation where they are made to do unspeakable things and risk their lives if they try to save themselves. It may not always be related to the porn industry specifically; sex trafficking is alive and well across the world. This book is difficult and sad to read, but it has made me think more about the reality that many women and children are under bondage with no one to advocate for them.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An important read!

    I have read many memoirs and thought I could handle anything but this one packed such an unexpected punch I had no idea. It will change your views on things such as porn and the way women are treated in society. I didn't expect to be so devastated and it haunted me for weeks afterwards. My hert is broken for this poor woman and her repution has never been righted. Thru this book you can hear her pain. Well written, engaging.. it cannot be put down till every word has been read but warning, it's brutal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    5 out of 5 for this reader folks! How does one even begin to re

    5 out of 5 for this reader folks!

    How does one even begin to review a book like this? I think this had to be the saddest, most emotional biography book I have ever read. I felt physically ill at certain times through this book at the abuse this woman went through. To come out, and live somewhat a normal life as she did and to be brave enough to put these words out there for people to read renders me speechless.

    This is the biography of Linda Lovelace. Linda's pornography film "Deepthroat" was the beginning of mainstream pornography that we have in today's society. The movie Lovelace, recently released, prompted me to research this woman as I had heard bits and pieces before but never the whole story.

    Linda had a tormented life. She grew up with an overbearing, cold mother who I believe was the beginning of Linda's downfall (although in all honesty her mother really believed she was protecting her daughter). Linda became pregnant at an early age and was forced to give the baby up for adoption. Trying to get out from under her mother's thumb, she meets Chuck Traynor and is convinced he is her ticket out.

    Chuck abuses Linda throughout their entire relationship. He controls her, manipulates her, threatens her, beats her (you can see the bruises on film), scares her and uses her as a cash cow. He also teaches her how to "Deepthroat" which is what is sold as her talent to the pornography business and is what makes her "unique and special". Some of the scenarios described in this book are unbelievable ranging from sex with animals, gangbang, severe BDSM play and prostituted out. She essentially was Chuck's pet who was trained to respond the way he wanted her too.

    Linda never received ANY money for the 600 million dollars that "Deepthroat" made. She fought to get away from Chuck many times, and finally was successful.

    Before her death, she did get to live a somewhat normal life, married to a good man who was a provider and she also became an activist against pornography. There is a video interview out there that really struck me hard .. she pretty much says, those that watched "Deepthroat" watched my rape over and over again! That brought tears to my eyes!

    I am not going to comment on the writing or content of this book .. I was so captivated and horrified by her story that to be honest, I cannot even remember what the structure was like .. maybe that's the sign of a good story .. I don't know!

    Do not read this book if you are easily offended. This is a descriptive read and certainly not for the light hearted.

    I do hope wherever Linda's soul is now, she is at peace. She certainly deserves it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Blew my mind

    I have no words to even describe this book.
    Except, pure honesty. I hope chuck gets a great deal of karma, scum ball. Out of all the memoirs I have read, this one by far takes the cake. I am buying the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Truly a heart-wrenching tale. As a woman who works with domestic

    Truly a heart-wrenching tale. As a woman who works with domestic violence victims, this is great book to read to really see what its like in the life of a victim of domestic violence. It would help people understand how easy it is to become isolated and how hard it is to escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Really sad

    I hope Lindas kids read this book and understand what an amazing women their mother was. All young girls should read this book because you will find a Chuck in 1 out of every 3 men you run across.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Recommended

    Sad but true story. I hope that this no longer happens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    So sad

    Sad story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Interesting perspective from someone unloved and taken advantage of because of it.

    I'll take her account at face value. It's probably true and even leaves out the worst stories she could tell. Sanitized for acceptable reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1