Customer Reviews for

Ordinary Heroes

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book....left me thinking about so many important element

Amazing book....left me thinking about so many important elements of life and humanity.....our relationships with our parents and others we bond with....the terrible toll of war...and ultimately, the process of aging and understanding our own stories.  I couldn't put it...
Amazing book....left me thinking about so many important elements of life and humanity.....our relationships with our parents and others we bond with....the terrible toll of war...and ultimately, the process of aging and understanding our own stories.  I couldn't put it down and wept when it was over.

posted by 4522531 on July 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too many typos in text!

I have never purchased or borrowed from the library, for that matter, a book with so many typos. They are really annoying as you are reading along. My two stars aren't for Mr. Turow's efforts, they are for all the typos in this eEdition!

The book is quite compellin...
I have never purchased or borrowed from the library, for that matter, a book with so many typos. They are really annoying as you are reading along. My two stars aren't for Mr. Turow's efforts, they are for all the typos in this eEdition!

The book is quite compelling, which is my point. You are involved in the story, transported into WWII so craftily by Mr. Turow then are zapped with a typo.

posted by MJWT on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    I agree with the reviewers on the quality of the story, the intr

    I agree with the reviewers on the quality of the story, the intricacy of the characters, and the subtlety of the prose. Scott Turow gets five stars. However, I am disappointed in the quality of the e-book. Like another reviewer, I was appalled at the number of typos due to sloppy scanning. Examples: "clay" for "day," "coining" for "coming," etc. And those were the ones I could decipher! I didn't bother counting them, but there were so many that it became a distraction. I see this type of thing with free books, but when I've paid for it, I expect the author's words to be as he/she intended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Amazing book....left me thinking about so many important element

    Amazing book....left me thinking about so many important elements of life and humanity.....our relationships with our parents and others we bond with....the terrible toll of war...and ultimately, the process of aging and understanding our own stories.  I couldn't put it down and wept when it was over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    A Wonderful Story

    This is one of the finest contemporary novels I have ever read. Turow takes the reader through the final year of World War II in a creative and engaging way. He brings the war to life through the experiences of his richly painted characters. That would have been sufficient to make the book remarkable. But Turow also provides the reader with a touching and unique story interwoven with the dramatic events of the war in which a son honors his mother and father while at the same time respecting their wishes that the past remain in the past. I cannot recommend this book highly enough for readers who enjoy books that provide insight into the human heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    A War Story A Woman Enjoyed

    I am amazed that I, a female, could not put down this book which was both a love story but also a war story, dealing with a soldier's story and battles. I've never been interested in war stories before but this book was amazing. I applaud Scott Turow on a really great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    The Best Book I have read in a long time.

    This book is unique. The writing style, originality, character depiction, and story are amazing. Even Turow's wondrous vocabulary is worth noting as something rarely seen among contemporary authors. The wartime descriptions are so authentic and detailed you think they occurred last week. The plot, the love story, the character development are all just outstanding. The best Turow I have read.
    My daughter is a Marine Captain. She loved it.
    Tim Miller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2007

    A very good book for war novel fans

    I loved this book!! I'm a big fan of books about war and if you are to, you should definatly consider this one. I finished in two days. The story is well written and very entraining. If you are a fan of war novels, I shall recomend 'The Things They Carried' by Tim O'Brien

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    Outstanding!

    Scott Turow moves from the courtroom to war easily and gracefully. I loved this book and thought the depiction of war was probably very accurate. It was horrifying and understandably caring at the same time. A great way to spend your reading time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    Turow is just plain better than the rest

    There are a group of lawyers or former lawyers out there that are writing some pretty entertaining novels. Grisham and RN Patterson come quickly to mind, but Turow is just better. Ordinary Heros stands as one of this year's best novels of any genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    This may be Turow's best

    I freely admit to crying like a baby. I have been a big fan of the DuSable fraternity of characters for years, but this one was much more than I expected from Turow. It didn't help that I saw the ending coming and I admit to being a little prejudiced in my opinions as a son of a Battle of the Bulge veteran. Just the same, it was a great read and I have been loaning my copy to others as fast as I can make all my friends read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    An outstanding book ....

    ...which I couldn't put down. The author indicates that the characters are all fictional except, of course, for the key WWII figures but it appears his father, a doctor, actually made a daring night parachute jump into Bastogne - similar to the one Dubin made in this novel. The protagonist, a JAG officer who laments the fact that he isn't involved in the actual conflict of this war. Then he is thrust brutally into the heart of the war with all the incumbent horrors. My feelings after reading this book are that there were no 'ordinary heros' during this war only extraordinary. I will keep this book and plan to reread it many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    A motivating story and engaging characters

    great book and moving story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    Outstanding

    Just an outstanding WWII epic penned by turow. His vivid descriptions and twists in turns in Stewart's father's life are mind boggling, jawdropping and amazing all at once. I loved this one. Pick it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2005

    Nice read from Scott Turow

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel from Scott Turow. I could not put it down. The story is about a son's search for understanding of his father's past. The backdrop of the father's story is World War II, and the story has a nice twist in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2005

    worth your time

    I enjoyed this book very much. Even though it is a work of fiction, I know much of it could be true.......the physical and emotional suffering by people in war. Mr. Turrow did a spectacular job describing some of the battle scenes....I felt like I was right there. I finished the book and went to the park. I saw a older man there who had a hat on with military symbols/flag, etc... I wanted to talk to him, ask about his experiences, etc.... I just thought about the book the rest of the day. It was well worth the time and money!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    A superb 'war-romance-character study-legal thriller'

    This was an extremely good book, unlike any I have ever written. It takes the war evil of 'Mila-18', the war scenes of 'Once an Eagle', along with the legal side Scott Turow is known for, and winds it into one of the best war-romance-character study-legal thrillers I've read in a long time. You really feel like you are there. You learn so much about human nature. You become the characters. All the parts have purposes, even when not understood at the time. While not a quick read, it is definately a 'must read.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    Great book!

    Read this book slowly, savor it like a rare good wine, every sentence is a gem every chapter is a new revelation of human foibles and triumph. There is nothing ordinary in 'Ordinary Heroes'by a master story teller Scott Turow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1