Customer Reviews for

Organizing from the Inside Out: The Foolproof System for Organizing Your Home, Your Office, and Your Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Why am I such a packrat??

    I have a tendency to keep far too much, and as you can imagine my house gets very cluttered. When I saw this book, I flipped through and found someone who has been there, and pushed through to the other side -- finally being organized. In the first section, she takes the reader through some principles of organization and necessary steps that she has found to work, and also writes about some of the reasons people keep too much. I felt like I was reading about myself! The second section breaks down specific parts of the house, and suggestions/strategies for each of them. After reading the book, I'm going back to the beginning to put the principles into practice. I highly recommend this to anyone trying to organize their home -- whether it's a closet or the whole thing, there is help for you in here!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Still useful after over 10 years. Keeps me encouraged and effec

    Still useful after over 10 years. Keeps me encouraged and effective

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Best Organization Book I've Read

    The author teaches how to organize around your own personality instead of trying to retrain you to live differently.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    Everybody should read this book!

    If you even think that you want to get organized, this is the book for you. It's easy to read, easy to understand, and easy to put into practice. No matter what your current level of organizational skill, you will find something helpful in this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    Going back to Kindergarten

    The general concepts that were laid out in this book were very easy to understand and made getting organized fun! An analogy she used was the Kindergarten classroom. If you are looking for paint, brushes or smocks, you would go to the art center. The same is true for your home. If you primarily watch movies in the living rooom, that should be the place you find your movies. My husband and I have absolutely loved this book. This is the first time I've ever seen him excited about going into Pier 1 to find organizational baskets and furniture.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Fantastic!

    A whole new way to approach organization. I started with my refrigerator. It's clean, organized, everything has it's place and best of all my family puts everything in it's place! I went from there to an overload bathroom closet. What a difference!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    Great Starter

    I read this book cover-cover, and it gave me a few guidelines. One that was new to me was to buy storage AFTER you decide how you were to organize. That still is tough for me. I agree with the poster who said that this is most helpful for office workers. I'm a teacher, so I was able to adapt some of the stuff, but even then, it's really for the person who sits at her desk during the day!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    Free at last!!!

    I'm a chronic packrat. I'm the kind that keeps a soda can as a prop souvenir from a college play. Well my hubby and I are gonna try for a family this year, and I wanted to start setting a good example. Morgernstern's organizing techniques are so easy to follow, and helped me 'let go' of stuff I no longer 'needed'. I figured lots of people could use clothes, kitchenware, etc. that was just collecting dust and space. For example, I used to set bakeware on the sofa to make more room for countertop space! Now along with my kitchen, I've got extra room for my gym and home office. Another great tip is calling a charity to pick up your items and writing it off as tax deductible. I've never felt this liberated since I traded corporate pantyhose for bunny slippers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    Great book, but not written for the younger crowd

    I have a pretty busy schedule at the age of 19. I work full time at a computer company and go to school full time. This book is intended more for the crowd that is a bit older and a bit more involved in office type of deals, as well as to people who have younger kids. I was looking more for time management more than for organizational type of things. Do not get me wrong though, she did an great job at what she wrote about, I will be using some of her tips in the book. I do see now that she has a time management book that I will be looking at to see how it works. One thing that I liked a lot about the book was that you can read it very fast. It goes by super quick, mostly because it is like she is talking to you. I would recommend this book to anymore that is looking to organize their lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2001

    Confidence Booster !!!!

    The books itself tackles from our psychological bearing to objects down to the emotional clinging of what has been. The author did not just push me to change asap but understand where i am coming from. I have never felt better about myself now that i understand that my being messy is something i can change. She made sure that all rooms has been touch. Julie gave some specific instruction that made it easier for me to follow thru. I have cried for feeling so helpless about my being disorganize but now i take it easy and just do the SPACE method whenever i slipped to being messy again....which seldom happens. The book helped me to really start my way to feeling confident about my surrounding and myself...my reminder is taped on the doors and walls which she said will be my constant advisor to help thru my organisational attacks. The book now has been my anchor for my new organized... clean...and neat home...as well as my redeemed self-confidence. One thing only.... if they will revised it, i hope they will print out larger letters and eye-friendly spacings and photos.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2001

    Don't Miss the on-Line Course that BN has on this!

    I've been taking the BNU class based on this book and the experience has been very positive. The author is excellent in explaining the importance of setting up systems that will work for you and your particular setting to achieve your own goals based on your own values and what is important to you. She approaches organizing as a skill that can be learned, and proceeds to teach how to do it in a very clear and down to earth manner. The free on line course is easy to follow and is faithful to the text and the philosophy outlined therein. It provides a little extra structure and the message boards are filled with like minded people who are on the same path. I'd higly recommend this as one of the best overall self help vehicles I've encountered in a long time. Highly recomend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2000

    This book CHANGED my life!

    My husband bought this book after watching Oprah. He was so impressed and soon had me excited about organizing our house and office. I have never been the most organized person and thought I was doomed to be that way forever. This books gives relief and states that organization is a 'learned skill' not something you are born with - although some are better than others. Julie M. is great about helping you analyze your own style and helps you take that into account. My husband and I have now organized his home office, the kitchen and our bedroom. It takes us about 15 minutes to pick up things now. It's amazing. People in my office now want this book and I would encourage anyone - even the most unorganized to get this book ,read it , and apply it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2000

    This Book Is Saving My Sanity!

    I have read many, many books to help me organize my home office. Since purchasing this book, I have put all the others away. The recommendations are helping me make much better decisions about why I am organizing each room, and how to do it. What I like the best is, each organizing task has the approximate amount of time it will take to complete. It has provided me with realistic timelines of how much time I will need to get organized. I now schedule my home and office time according to the room, the plan, the tasks to be completed, and feel better about reaching my goals. For the first time, I don't feel guilty if I do not finish an organizing chore, because I know in advance how much time it should take. I am doing one room at a time, and my family has recently noticed the improvement. This is a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Organizing from the Inside Out is the ┬┐cheat sheet┬┐ of organizin

    Organizing from the Inside Out is the “cheat sheet” of organizing books. It is PACKED with Ms. Morgenstern’s insights. She offers everything from estimates about how long typical projects will take, to her observations concerning common emotional obstacles people encounter in their efforts to get organized. She is generous when providing techniques to get structured, and points to many resources for further help. This is an excellent book to read after you’ve read foundational books like Cindy Glovinsky’s “Making Peace with the Things in Your Life.” Read the foundations, read Organizing from the Inside Out, then keep Organizing from the Inside Out to thumb through whenever you are stuck. It will get you thinking again. Lauren Williams, Casual Uncluttering LLC, Woodinville, WA, USA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    tfay69

    i do this for a living my peoples!!!!!

    star insrallatians
    trishypoo

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2001

    Motivational

    Great motivator, and have organized and given to charity alot of unnecessary items. Have taken a room at a time. Feel better, and feel confident, energized when walking into a room. And has reminded me of wants versus needs, saving money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    Foolproof

    This is the first time I have read so much information on the topic of organizing. I am very happy so far with what I have learned in the book 'Organizing from the Inside Out' This book will change the way I do things in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2001

    Gain more time for yourself by spending less time searching for your stuff...

    A clear guide that helped me understand why me previous organinzing efforts did not help. The story about her spending a weekend 'organizing' her room as a teen, only to have it turn out three times as messy was hilarious. I bought this book with a new baby on the way, and thanks Julie Morgenstern, my diaper bag is always packed and ready to go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2001

    Easy organizing for anyone

    This book is an organizing book that covers a new way of looking at the task of organizing effectively without blaming the person behind the lack of organization. This book asserts that people who don't organize just never learned how to organize, through no fault of their own - after all, it's not a skill that's taught in school. It gets down to work helping you figure out an organizing system that will work for you, not a system based on cookie-cutter filing concepts or special storage units.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2000

    Buy it!

    I love this book! It gives a great new aproach organizing your life. It so much faster and easier following Julie's organizing plan. The book is fun to read and really modivational. After I read it, I gave the book to my teen daughter. Her room (which looked like a tornado went though) was cleaned 2 1/2 hours after she finished reading the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3