BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Origin (Lux Series #4)

Average Rating 5
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    I think Origin is the first Lux novel I haven┬┐t rated a 5 star.

    I think Origin is the first Lux novel I haven’t rated a 5 star. Like the rest of Jennifer’s Lux series, I LOVE her writing style, her characters, the romance, and the duel pov between Katy and Daemon—which added a great perspective. But in my opinion, Origin’s plot just didn’t hold up to the rest.

    First off, there were aspects that didn’t make sense to me. Take for example the DOD weaponized onyx spray in the first chapter. The use of it made sense in the third novel, Opal, when the DOD sprayed the onyx right onto the skin. But to use it like an aerosol on a specimen the DOD hoped to convert? I just couldn’t see it. It’d be a high risk, not just to the hybrid, but to anyone standing in the room, especially considering no one was wearing a mask. That stuff would be like breathing sand, getting caught in everyone’s lungs. And in Katy’s situation, it could’ve burned her from the inside out. Not something I imagine the DOD would want. And yet, they did it anyway. Why?

    Second, I found a good portion of this novel to be dull. So dull at one point I actually skipped an entire chapter. I think that was a first, like, ever! But I couldn’t take it anymore. It was taking forever to reach the climax.

    But the biggest thing that really didn’t hold up for me in the plot was the Daedalus’s true mission. In the three novels before, I was captured by the DOD’s plan to weaponize hybrids. In fact, at the end of Opal, I was horrified what they might do to Katy to get her to cooperate. My imagination ran wild! But once Daedalus’s true quest for the “perfect race” was revealed, I just about gagged.

    I’m sorry, but I’m so tired of the quest for the “perfect race” in novels. Just like love triangles, it’s overdone. Plus, it really taints all the swoons for me. Every kiss, every special touch between Daemon and Katy, a voice in the back of my head just kept whispering, “This is exactly what the DOD wants.” Yuck. I really do wish the whole “perfect race” thing was never brought into the plot. The only good thing that came from it was Archer.

    I will give Jennifer L. Armentrout this: she’s really getting into some great cliffhangers! And overall, it’s still a great read. Just not her best. I can’t wait to see how the final novel ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Great series to the book

    I am 15 years old and this is a great series. I like this kind of book because it is very on the romantic side of all of this it is very adventures, and it makes me want to be one of the characters in this book. I have feel in love with the characters, and all of the books so to me this is a MUST read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Angst

    Alien, human or paranormal, as long as I get a giggle every once in a while, the teenagers angst keeps me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Love me some Aliens :D

    What a great series. Even if it is YA.. Regardless, you will be absorbed by them.. Love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    Loved it!!

    I can't believe it. She did it again and now I can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    After the cliffhanger in the last book I was aching to get my ha

    After the cliffhanger in the last book I was aching to get my hands on this one to see how Katy was rescued. I was finally glad to read it this past month and I'm glad that Katy was saved and that she stayed the same strong character that she has always been! Also the love between her and Daemon was heart melting and I am glad that we got to see his POV along with hers. The ending was a shocker since I thought that this was the final book! I can't wait to see what the next book offers especially since the ending of this one left me a little confused...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    OMG!!!! And we have to wait a year for the next one!!!! Nooooo!

    Keeps you at the edge of you seat. You just want to devour each page. Love the switch to Daemon's perspective. Very sexy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    I feel like I need to go into this review already defending myse

    I feel like I need to go into this review already defending myself ... yes I liked it. OF COURSE I will read the last book when it comes out, but this has been my least favorite of the series so far. As much as I liked getting a peak into Daemon's head, it made him less mysterious and I think that took away some of what made him intriguing to me.

    I remember all the emotions I had at the end of Opal, that major cliffhanger, and the empty feeling that left me with. I think, in part, that is also why I went into Origin so jaded. Small cliffhangers are fine, and certainly leave me wanting more, but the way Opal ended I felt like I had to go into Origin guarded, knowing how Armentrout likes to emotionally drain her readers. That affected my reading experience, I distanced myself from the characters.

    Of course, all that being said, I still loved the story. Origin is unique and enthralling. The writing is easy to read and you do feel a certain connection, no matter how hard you try not to, with the characters. Like all of Armentrout's YA books, there are twists you don't see coming, new characters introduced, and betrayals that break your heart. It is certainly a roller coaster of ups and downs, side to sides, and a few loops - and you aren't ever sure if you have your seat-belt on.

    If you haven't read the Lux Series yet, you should. It is really great. But be prepared - Origin ends on another cliffhanger, though in my opinion it isn't nearly as bad as Opal. But it does make me wonder about the chances of things going terribly wrong for everyone before the end of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Can't wait for the next one in the series.

    This is a great series and I have very much enjoyed reading them. I finished Origins with huge anticipation for the next book. This is a good thing and bad. It is a good read if I am left hungry to continue the story, but I hate waiting. However all good things come to those who wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    the Lux Series made me feel every emotion right along with the characters.

    I got sucked into the Lux Series. I'm a big paranormal fan and the idea of "light people" from another planet was really inventive. I loved all the characters and found myself, laughing at times and tears sliding down my cheeks quite often. I love when a story sucks me in and make me feel all the emotions that characters are feeling. Jennifer Armentrout is definitely an awesome writer. I was disappointed when I realized there was going to be another book and it's not even written yet... I really want to know what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Exciting

    Enjoyed the story. Jace was so sexy and manly. However, the story was quite gory. Hope for more stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    I had to take a day to come down from my Daemon high. I mean, co

    I had to take a day to come down from my Daemon high.
    I mean, come on it’s Daemon Black

    If he wasn’t a fictional character Katy would have to watch her back, I know the ladies understand.

    Jennifer Armentrout definitely knows how to write a book that keeps you intrigued, excited, and emotional. I spent MONTHS waiting for this book to go live after I pre-ordered it(sometimes clicking it hoping the publisher would "accidentally" do an early release) and then finished in it less than a day I.could.not.put.it.down; daughter, husband and work be damned! The Lux fix was real!

    I absolutely enjoyed being able to read it from dual POV and you knew from the first chapter that it was about to go down!

    “Did you think you could stop me?... I’ll burn the world down to save her” - Daemon

    Armentrout was able to successfully provide every one of her readers(in my opinion) with what they were wanting and expecting at the end of Opal (I mean come on, that cliff hanger was major). The action, the banter, the tension and suspense were all there… and the betrayal (worse than Blake)… I’m telling you read the book!

    The love between Katy and Daemon was absolutely undeniable, both of them showing how selfless they were to make sure that the other was somewhat safe. I will say this… I LOVED watching their relationship develop while still holding that young facade (think ew, I can't talk about that with you).


    “I want to spend every second, every minute, every hour with you… I want a year’s worth of seconds and minutes with you. I want a decade’s worth of hours, so many that I can’t add them up” - Daemon

    You also get to watch as other potential love connections come in to play... which reminds me that SADLY there is only one ONE book left in this series BUT the potential for a spin off and lots of Novella's are there (please grant these wishes I beg of thee, PLEASE).

    So why 4.5 stars? The book was 300+ pages long, but I feel like it ended too soon. Ms. Armentrout my emotions cannot take much more! But alas great job!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2