Customer Reviews for

Origin

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Origin is a well-written story that quickly pulled me into the j

    Origin is a well-written story that quickly pulled me into the jungle. It is breathtaking, amazing, and just plain fabulous. Jessica Khoury wrote a great debut novel, and I cannot wait to see what she'll do next. Origin was, simply, original. If I did ratings, it would get 5/5 stars, hands-down. This is what I like to call a good book.

    I was highly anticipating this novel, and was afraid that I was so excited it wouldn't be any good. However, while it wasn't what I expected, it was still brilliant. I wish I didn't have several other books to read so I can read it again. It's a stand-alone, and it ended well enough to make that satisfactory. I've heard this is going to be adapted into a movie, and if it's done right, it will be phenomenal.

    If you haven't read Origin or are debating whether or not you should read it, read it. There's not much else like this in the YA world, and something so original and different is refreshing. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An original plot, filled with action, romance, and intrigue and a new heroine fans will adore

    Deep within the Amazon rain forest, groups of scientist have created something impossible. Strikingly beautiful and vibrant with life Pia, is the only one of her kind. With skin unable to break, Pia can never bleed and never die, she is immortal. But immortality is hard to bear alone. Knowing that everyone you know and love will one day die, drives Pia to become a scientist herself, and discover the secret to immorality and with that knowledge develop a race of immortals, and a Perfect immortal man of her own. Secluded within the small and secretive scientific community, Pia is completely unaware of the outside world. A world she hears about in whispers and sees through her glass house.
    On the night of her seventeenth birthday, Pia discovers a hole in the electric fence that cages her, and escapes into the jungle. There she discovers a native village, and a boy Eio. Together they search for the truth about Pia’s origin, and what the scientist are really hiding in their secret laboratory. Their discovery uncovers some shocking truths and the consequences of seeking immorality no matter the costs.
    Filled with beautiful scenery and endearing characters, Jessica Khoury first novel provides a shocking storyline that is thought provoking and emotionally intense, readers will not want to put down Origin.
    Recommended for readers age 12-17.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant science fiction for YA!

    My review:

    I received Origin by Jessica Khoury at BEA2012 in June. I have been holding this book in my hands so many times with an intention to read it and finally got it read. You see, I am usually not a YA science fiction fan and that is the only reason few days ago, when I decided to go for it. I am glad, that I did, because I truly liked the book. It was thought wakening for me.

    Plot:

    The plot deals with - can you create a perfect person? Or more precisely can you create a perfect immortal person?

    Origin takes you to Amazon jungle, where Pia is bred. Pia is a teenager girl who does not know anything about the world outside of Little Cambridge scientific labs. Pia knows almost about everything what there is to know about science, but she has no idea what is New York.

    Pia is an immortal created by scientists and she has always been told she is perfect - a beginning of a new race of immortals. She does believe she is perfect until the day she has her first contacts with world outside, firstly by a new woman entering the team of scientist in Little Cam - Dr Harriet Fields who manages to surprise Pia by honestly declaring, that she is not perfect. Nobody in Pia's life has ever told her about what is life outside and her curiosity grows together with Dr. fields' appearance and by the fact, that the fence around Little Cam is damaged and for the first time on her life, she can sneak out.

    During her first trip to the jungle, Pia meets a young man Eio, who lives in the village nearby. Eio is not like all the other villagers, his mother was from village and his father is actually one of the scientists from Little Cam. Eio introduces her to his own world.

    Step by step Pia starts asking questions about Little Cam, the scientists, about her own inheritage and starts doubting if she really should be happy of being perfect immortal or if there is more to life than just that.

    What I liked about Origin was how the author built the tension and the story, how all your questions get answered and I also enjoyed how she decided to finish it. It's not so much about cloning or immortality as it is about moral and being either above or beneath it. What would you be willing to do to write the history?, is the question.

    Characters:

    Origin is filled with fascinating characters!

    I was annoyed by Pia in the beginning, about her perfect world and perfect race she was going to develop. She was so sheltered and so very naive. Yes, nothing can penetrate her skin, she will never die, but she really knows so little... until her curiosity gets her better part. Pia grew on me while reading. She becomes a strong young woman, who finally starts asking questions and finding the answers.

    I loved Eio who was so levelled and down to earth. I adored how he took Pia to the villagers and introduced her their way of living. He was kind, smart and had great instincts about people.

    One of my favorite characters in Origin was Dr. Harriet Fields who is so feminine and smart and helpful. She does have skeletons in her closet, but so does everyone in Little Cam. The other scientists, who were interesting were Uncle Antonio and Uncle Paolo. Antonio is kind and gentle whereas Paolo is pure evil and willing to do anything needed for the cause and not being afraid choosing the means.

    Generally:

    I truly liked Origin by Jessica Khoury! Read it, even though you might not be a fan of science fiction, because it is worth of all the time it takes

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    A wonderfully deep plot full of emotion and moral dilemmas. Tot

    A wonderfully deep plot full of emotion and moral dilemmas. Totally worth a read! Stayed up late reading and couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    ┬┐LIES, SECRETS and BETRAYAL┬┐ Origin will leave you thirsty for m

    “LIES, SECRETS and BETRAYAL” Origin will leave you thirsty for more.

    “You are our hope, Pia. Don’t let us down.”

    I saw this book on Netgalley. After seeing the trailer, I know that I have to read it. The plot had raised my curiosity.

    The story is set deep in the Amazon Rainforest, where the scientists are keeping Pia; the only person in the world who is immortal. She is the most prized subject and they will do anything to keep her there. Sheltered and unaware of the outside world, Pia thinks she lives a perfect life. But then she met Eio, a boy from the outside, everything had changed. She now wants to be free. “LIES, SECRETS and BETRAYAL” Origin will leave you thirsty for more.

    The world building is extraordinary! I feel like I was deep inside the Amazon Rainforest. The way the author described the scenery made my mouth water. Everything was vividly written and described well. I didn’t have a hard time imagining Pia’s world. I also enjoyed the exotic flowers and animals. What I like the most are the Ai’oa people. I was fascinated! Their culture and customs had absorbed me in. I also find the story unique and believable.

    The characters are well developed and realistic. There are many characters in the book. I find it hard to get to know them really well. But I connected to Pia instantly. She is likable and not so perfect, despite her immortality. She had flaws which made me like her more. I understand her loneliness and anger. She’s strong minded and full of courage. Uncle Antonio is my second favorite. His love for Pia and dedication to her, melted my heart. Then Eio, the boy from the Ai’oa tribe, he intrigues me the most because of his heritage. He was described as exotic, dark haired and blue eyed. How come he could speak English and looks sort of a Caucasian? You have to read this book to find out why. All I can say is that the revelation had left my mouth hanging open.

    The love angle is impressive. I felt Eio and Pia’s connection. It was innocent and cute. There were some scenes that gave butterflies in my stomach.

    Overall, Origin is a great book! If you like sci-fi and something new to read, this book is for you. I can’t wait to read another book from Ms. Jessica.

    I give this 4 experimenting whales

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    A fantastic read. Well-written, it doesn't drag or wander. As

    A fantastic read. Well-written, it doesn't drag or wander. As good a book as I have ever read, and better than a great many of them. Way to go, Jess! I had to keep reminding myself this is a first novel, not one from an experienced writer. OOPS!! My own jaguar is grabbing at my elbow as I write!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Rich detail, and a beautiful setting. A must read.

    This book was so good that i hardly have any words to describe it. There is somthing for everyone, intrigue, suspence, love, action, and Khoury writes with so much description that it's hard to believe your not actually there. This book is a deffinate read but be warned that some of the parts are very intensly cold and distant, but don't let it discourage you from continuing. Many unexpected twists and turns, and an ending that will leave you hanging on the edge of your seat until the very last page. An instant classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    I haven't finished it yet, but i just don't want it to end.

    I have less than 100 pages to go. This book is perfection. I highly recommended it. Great science fiction read. I can feel the emotions in this book, not a boring chapter in it at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Origin was a novel I was totally waiting on this year. With such

    Origin was a novel I was totally waiting on this year. With such an original premise, I was instantly crazy to get my hands on it. Furthermore being Brazilian, I was curious about the mention about the Amazon in the synopsis. Origin promises a great and exciting read to any of you wondering about reading it.

    The Plot: The pace matches the type of story perfectly. The mystery around Pia is told in a perfect pace for readers to be completely hooked on it. Furthermore I couldn't have imagined a better place for the story to take place in; somehow the Amazon and its inhabitants were a perfect fit for this novel. With many lies, betrayals and secrets running wild in Origin, it is no wonder that Khoury's novel won't let you put it down!

    The Characters: Though Pia was writing in a very compelling way, she just wasn't for me. She was too naive. But it was really sweet and gave me great pleasure to be able to read and sense the change in her character: she went from being naive and relatively weak to being a headstrong and great character. I liked Eio and he was a great match for Pia, yet I couldn't develop more interest in him. Not to mention that the romance happened so quickly, I didn't even realized it and it was already there.

    Origin certainly offers a different read than you are probably accustumed to. I personally enjoy books full of mysteries, so this one was certainly enjoyable for me. The insta-love did kind of let me down a bit but the plot was worth overlooking it. Overall, it was a great and sweet read that will leave you completely content with its ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Anamoniousta

    I havent read it yet. But it looks pretty awesome. To me, this book looks pretty cool to me. I will write another review when i finish this cool-lookin book. So now i will read it and tell you about it later.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    anonymous aug. 3

    I think it was a very well written book. I think it could have used more at the ending. Pia is going though issues that can be relatable. I am glad I got this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    OMIGOD!!!! THIS BOOK I SO AWSOME!!!

    OMIGOD!!!!!!!! THI BOOK IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!!! THIS BOOK NOW MY ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOK NEXT TO SLATED( WHICH U SHULD ALSO READ!!!) THEY R BOTH MY FAVORATE BOOKS EVER!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    One of my all-time favorites!

    I have read many books in the past year with this book being one of my avorites. This book is about a young girl being led on to believe a certain way and a brave boy tring to show her the right way. This book is also about how far a person would go to achieve their dream. I really enjoyed this book and I hope you will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    I hope they make it into a movie!! AMAZING BOOK!! BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was the best book I have read in a long time! I really couldn't put it down. It was full of suspense, action, romance, and BETRAYAL! You have to get this book. If you don't you will not have lived your life. ****If a movie director or producer is reading this then you have to make this into movie! I think I speak for all of the readers when I say, it would be an amazing movie!!****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Awesome!

    I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    Great Book

    This is an amazingly well written book and id reccomend it to any teen/preteen who loves to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!

    OMG I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!! It was sooooo freaking good!! XD XD <3 <3 I just cannot explain how amazing this book was!! It was thrilling, gripping, enchanting, romantic, action-packed, adventurous and mysterious as HECK!! ;D And just left me breathless! :D When I first read the plot for this book what I just finished reading was NOT what I expecting to read, it went a COMPLETELY different way and I LOVED IT!!!!!! There where just sooo many twist and turns that again I never saw coming, I mean this book was so good that a lot of the time I just stopped breathing! :D It was that good just... ARGH I just could NOT. PUT. THE. BOOK. DOWN!!!! Ok I gotta talking about this book or I am going to start spilling things! ;D So really people this is one of those books that you just or you WILL be missing out on something!!! So... GO READ ORIGIN!!!!!!!! XD XD <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    LOL don't get fooled by haters.

    LOL don't get fooled by haters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Origin is a YA dark sci-fi novel that features a girl named Pia,

    Origin is a YA dark sci-fi novel that features a girl named Pia, the first member of a race of immortal, “perfect” beings. For the last 16 years of her life, she’s lived in a secret lab hidden deep in the Amazon rainforest with a team of scientists, never once venturing outside the compound—until the night of her 17th birthday, when she discovers a hole in the electric fence and sneaks out into the rainforest. But Pia’s world begins to collapse around her from the moment she crashes into a boy named Eio that same night…because the truth about her immortality--her origin--is being unraveled with each step she takes closer to him, his village, and the legacy of those in the generations before her.

    I’ve found that most people who’ve reviewed Origin are passionate about the novel—they seemingly either ‘absolutely’ love it, or ‘absolutely’ hate it. Because I am just compelled to be different from those around me (I’m only being somewhat facetious about this), I must say that ‘absolutely’ love it…but that there are a few details that I *might* rant about if given the opportunity.

    Semi-facetiousness aside, I found much of Khoury’s work immensely enjoyable; the quality of her prose/dialogue is excellent enough to merit a must-read recommendation on its own, the ingenuity of Pia and Little Cam and Elysia is striking, and the questions raised by the actions of all involved in the dark sci/fi/fantasy thriller (I say thriller because the pacing is so ridiculously well done it’s like reading a thriller) last well beyond the final pages. I highly recommend Origin for all of these reasons and more.

    Read this one line and tell me this isn’t fantastic: “I stare at it as my heart tumbles over itself and my tongue turns into stone” (87).

    Plus…it’s set in the R-a-i-n-f-o-r-e-s-t people!!!

    So, what didn’t I swoon over in Origin?

    In a word, Pia. I loved the idea of Pia. Ok, I still love the idea of Pia. But I found the specific details about her immortality confusing and even a bit contradictory at times. For example, it confused me when Pia told me that she can’t suffocate, but she was still somewhat afraid of drowning and wasn’t sure if she *could* drown. Maybe this is just a poor reflection on me, but I honestly thought that suffocation and drowning were the same thing…or so close to being the same thing the difference would be moot for Pia.

    In another word, the Ai’oans (erm, the villagers). Granted, Origin takes place in a super-fast time frame—like a week—and it would’ve been difficult for Khoury to do a whole lot more fleshing out here, but I think it would’ve been better if the people group was explored and fleshed out a bit more.

    Other than that, Origin is superb. It’s thought-provoking, passionate, and largely unpredictable.

    5 STARS :)

    If you haven’t read Origin, you should ^_^.

    Also, keep an eye out for Vitro, which is a companion novel to Origin that will be out January 14, 2014.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    An Awesome Book to Read

    This book was very detailed and descriptive. I loved it! It was a very fast read fo rme because I literally read it in one day! It was so good! The plot was very good and interesting, it never bored me. The author has an amazing way of describing the book amd Pia's view of things in and out of Little Cambridge. Also, it has some very surprising things that occur and predictable things as well. But the author ,akes the even balance between the two and I (again) thought it was wonderful!

    This book all th ethings I loved! A touch of romance, a sprinkle of science and a dump of sci-fy/future stuff. Plus, when I was reading this, I shocked that this could happening right now in a way and no one but THEM would know.

    Overall: I loved this book very very much and will try to read the next book similar to this one (I think, it's by the same author). I almost wish that there was more to the plot so that there IS another book.

    In other words, READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4