Customer Reviews for

Origin

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    ┬┐LIES, SECRETS and BETRAYAL┬┐ Origin will leave you thirsty for m

    “LIES, SECRETS and BETRAYAL” Origin will leave you thirsty for more.

    “You are our hope, Pia. Don’t let us down.”

    I saw this book on Netgalley. After seeing the trailer, I know that I have to read it. The plot had raised my curiosity.

    The story is set deep in the Amazon Rainforest, where the scientists are keeping Pia; the only person in the world who is immortal. She is the most prized subject and they will do anything to keep her there. Sheltered and unaware of the outside world, Pia thinks she lives a perfect life. But then she met Eio, a boy from the outside, everything had changed. She now wants to be free. “LIES, SECRETS and BETRAYAL” Origin will leave you thirsty for more.

    The world building is extraordinary! I feel like I was deep inside the Amazon Rainforest. The way the author described the scenery made my mouth water. Everything was vividly written and described well. I didn’t have a hard time imagining Pia’s world. I also enjoyed the exotic flowers and animals. What I like the most are the Ai’oa people. I was fascinated! Their culture and customs had absorbed me in. I also find the story unique and believable.

    The characters are well developed and realistic. There are many characters in the book. I find it hard to get to know them really well. But I connected to Pia instantly. She is likable and not so perfect, despite her immortality. She had flaws which made me like her more. I understand her loneliness and anger. She’s strong minded and full of courage. Uncle Antonio is my second favorite. His love for Pia and dedication to her, melted my heart. Then Eio, the boy from the Ai’oa tribe, he intrigues me the most because of his heritage. He was described as exotic, dark haired and blue eyed. How come he could speak English and looks sort of a Caucasian? You have to read this book to find out why. All I can say is that the revelation had left my mouth hanging open.

    The love angle is impressive. I felt Eio and Pia’s connection. It was innocent and cute. There were some scenes that gave butterflies in my stomach.

    Overall, Origin is a great book! If you like sci-fi and something new to read, this book is for you. I can’t wait to read another book from Ms. Jessica.

    I give this 4 experimenting whales

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Origin was a novel I was totally waiting on this year. With such

    Origin was a novel I was totally waiting on this year. With such an original premise, I was instantly crazy to get my hands on it. Furthermore being Brazilian, I was curious about the mention about the Amazon in the synopsis. Origin promises a great and exciting read to any of you wondering about reading it.

    The Plot: The pace matches the type of story perfectly. The mystery around Pia is told in a perfect pace for readers to be completely hooked on it. Furthermore I couldn't have imagined a better place for the story to take place in; somehow the Amazon and its inhabitants were a perfect fit for this novel. With many lies, betrayals and secrets running wild in Origin, it is no wonder that Khoury's novel won't let you put it down!

    The Characters: Though Pia was writing in a very compelling way, she just wasn't for me. She was too naive. But it was really sweet and gave me great pleasure to be able to read and sense the change in her character: she went from being naive and relatively weak to being a headstrong and great character. I liked Eio and he was a great match for Pia, yet I couldn't develop more interest in him. Not to mention that the romance happened so quickly, I didn't even realized it and it was already there.

    Origin certainly offers a different read than you are probably accustumed to. I personally enjoy books full of mysteries, so this one was certainly enjoyable for me. The insta-love did kind of let me down a bit but the plot was worth overlooking it. Overall, it was a great and sweet read that will leave you completely content with its ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    anonymous aug. 3

    I think it was a very well written book. I think it could have used more at the ending. Pia is going though issues that can be relatable. I am glad I got this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    One of my all-time favorites!

    I have read many books in the past year with this book being one of my avorites. This book is about a young girl being led on to believe a certain way and a brave boy tring to show her the right way. This book is also about how far a person would go to achieve their dream. I really enjoyed this book and I hope you will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    An Awesome Book to Read

    This book was very detailed and descriptive. I loved it! It was a very fast read fo rme because I literally read it in one day! It was so good! The plot was very good and interesting, it never bored me. The author has an amazing way of describing the book amd Pia's view of things in and out of Little Cambridge. Also, it has some very surprising things that occur and predictable things as well. But the author ,akes the even balance between the two and I (again) thought it was wonderful!

    This book all th ethings I loved! A touch of romance, a sprinkle of science and a dump of sci-fy/future stuff. Plus, when I was reading this, I shocked that this could happening right now in a way and no one but THEM would know.

    Overall: I loved this book very very much and will try to read the next book similar to this one (I think, it's by the same author). I almost wish that there was more to the plot so that there IS another book.

    In other words, READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Great book

    The plot is amazing and i totally love eio. He is just so sweet when he gave pia all those passionflowers and though i hated that she kept thinking she was perfect, i think she is a very strong minded heroine but basically the whole book is ten out of ten for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    A truly unique YA sci-fi novel!

    This book surpassed my expectations. I enjoyed seeing the evolution of Pia as her eyes become opened to the truth. I thought this story was well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    **4.5 Stars** MY OVERVIEW: How would you live your life if you

    **4.5 Stars**

    MY OVERVIEW: How would you live your life if you were immortal? Do you stay in a “cage” in hopes that you can help create more immortals like you, or do you escape and see the world? Truly live? This is what the main character, Pia, in Origin faces. 

    PROS: I loved this book and just couldn’t put it down. It was written beautifully and I felt the struggle Pia went through. I think her conflict between staying in her “cage” and getting outside the compound was perfect. It is just how I would imagine it would be. 

    CONS: Even though it is reflected in a bad light, the testing done on animals still bothered me. You can tell me that it happens, but don’t go through a scene of torture with me. I don’t want to know all the details. Part of me broke when I had to read about the “killing kittens for science” thing. I am a big cat person and I hate it when something happens to them. 

    MY FINAL THOUGHTS: I really enjoyed this book and the writing style. I can’t wait for the author’s next book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    A must read!

    An amazing read that is beautifully told and an ending i did not see coming! I read it in 3 days. It may not be for everyone ( per-teens and down ) becuse of some disturbing parts of the book. But over all a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    Was a really good book, can't wait for more.

    Was a really good book, can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My Review: 4 Stars The cover grabbed me for this one. Then afte

    My Review: 4 Stars
    The cover grabbed me for this one. Then after reading the summary I thought why not. Ill give it a try. So I was approved via Netgalley and started reading it. Sorry it took a while for this review to post. Ive been swamped with books lately and saved it as a draft instead of posting it. Well anyway this book is what is called soft sci-fi. Which I do not love or hate. I love that this book dealth with Immortality which isnt something that is really in books right now. So we finally got off the topics of the normal Z's, V's, W's and of course the A's (Zombies, Vampires, Wolves, Angels). The setting of the book was great. I love the jungle and tossing the Amazon into it was wonderful! I loved Jessica's descriptions as sometimes they can feel to much. But not in this book. She did a wonderful job painting her world for us. The characters could have had a little more to them. I didn't really feel all that connected with anyone. So its getting 4 stars as I did love the story but it just needed more.

    "*I received a copy of this book for free to review, this in no way influenced my review, all opinions are 100% honest and my own."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It's been about an hour since I finished Origin and I'm still fe

    It's been about an hour since I finished Origin and I'm still feeling the effects. A present day story of an immortal girl, a mortal boy, people who are not what they seem, and the inhumanity of it all.

    Born and raised in a small scientific base in the jungle, Pia can't wait to be part of the Immortis team. She is the only living immortal and becoming part of the team means she will be able to start making more of her own. A mate she can live forever with. On her 17th birthday, she finds a way off the base. See, she's never been anywhere but there. She doesn't know of the world. She doesn't even know there is more out there than the jungle. Pia thinks she knows who and what she is. This night is the beginning of the truth and the start of the end of decades of death and lies.

    The story started off slow. I was starting to think that maybe this way going to be a book of hype with little follow through. Thankfully this changed. When the story started to flow there was no stopping it. I found myself wanted to protect Pia, wanting her to understand life and love, wanting to take the bad from her surroundings.

    There are shocking revelations in the story. Some that will sadden you, some that will surprise you, some that will haunt you. In the end, you will be satisfied with a story told well. A debut novel by Jessica Khoury. I can't wait to see what surprises she has up her sleeve with her future writings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1