Customer Reviews for

The Origin of Species

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The first Origin is the best Origin

Darwin's Origin of Species needs no critical review in a forum like this. However, students of Darwinian evolutionary thought should take notice of this $6 clothbound hard cover edition. This is, as far as I can tell, the original 1859 first edition of the Origin. It is...
Darwin's Origin of Species needs no critical review in a forum like this. However, students of Darwinian evolutionary thought should take notice of this $6 clothbound hard cover edition. This is, as far as I can tell, the original 1859 first edition of the Origin. It is also a handy size, perfect for reading in bed, on a plane or on the beach. Why would you want a copy of the 1st edition rather than the author's own later revised editions? Because the 1st is the most honest, naive, and straightforward statement of Darwin's ideas, undiluted by later defensive responses to the heavy criticism of his contemporaries. The 1st edition contains the passage about the bear as ancestor to the whale, which he removed from all later editions because it was a point of scorn and ridicule from the scientific community of the day. Obviously he was wrong in detail (whales evolved from a carnivorous common ancestor with cows, not bears), but as the fossils of Pakistan show, he was precisely right in the broad idea of macroevolutionary change, which was really his point anyway. Another notable difference between the 1st and later editions of The Origin is the term 'survival of the fittest.' Darwin didn't coin the phrase, nor did he use it in the 1st edition, though he added it to later editions. In fact, it was invented by Herbert Spencer in reference to his atrocious ideas of Social Darwinism. And like a weak pawn on a chessboard, the phrase has been the subject of repeated attacks by creationsists for many years (the implication being that it is a circular argument). Though Spencer's arguments may have been circular, Darwin's never are. Nevertheless, the book probably reads better without the reference. There are several nice new omnibus editions of Darwin's important works edited by great modern scientists. I don't know whether those editors chose the 1st edition or not. In any case those are large expensive copies of the book, possibly better suited for library shelves than for sitting down and reading. If you want a copy to read, this Barnes & Noble edition is a great one, especially considering that a mass market paperback costs about 3 dollars more than this edition!

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Truth

Charles darwin has even disproved his own theory. I dont understand how you beleive in this. But it is a well written book.

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Kassi to Avalon, if you get the chance.

    Avalon, if you ever get the chance to read this, I'm so, so sorry. You deserved more, not wt you got. You are a really amazing person from who I knew, and the best friend. I'm sorry that things wrren't going well, and I hope that wherever you are is better.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Avalon

    One last thing... Being an Ally of Artemis (THANKS FOR THE CHANCE, NATASHA!) means that any dude who steps in here, you're dead. I mean it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Avalon

    Blake, Good luck with Cupid.

    Beca, Im gonna miss you, Kress! Thanksers for the new vocabulary.

    Adam, Drake; you guys were awesome. Thanks for the musical advice.

    SHIELD: I LOVE YOU GUYS. DON'T STOP CHANGING FOR ANYONE.

    SMARTPHONE: MOST OF YOU I WANT TO KILL IF I'M A ZOMBIE, BUT THE FEW OF YOU, THANKS.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Sam

    Thanks! I'll read this again if I can before I skate. Thanks a lot!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Sera

    Can you give me some sort of riddle?.. Ooh, wait! I killed a grizzly bear the other day. I have it's pelt and claws, along with a nasty scar on my back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Plague

    *grins.* Thank you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Artemis

    Bai Sam! Hope you win and don't forget us!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Ares to Artemis

    Why can't I hang out with u guys?!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Avalon

    Bai Kassi! Hope you have fun! Beat Julia. We're all supporting!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Death the kid

    No. I will stop rping here so bai

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Kirsten

    Watched Natasha and followed her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Hunters Of Artemis Camp

    On top of a hill, there is a temple that is a replica of that on Mt Olympus and if you step into the fire, you transport to Mt Olympus (see sages of greece only res) overlooking a small clearing where it is surrounded by pune trees. A small path cuts through the trees and leads to a beac by a lake where it is surrounded by mountains. In the trees, here are platforms with different colored tents (path of artemis google images search, picture one.) In the clearing there is a bonfire pit where a white blazing fire is and archery stations and a healing tent. There is also a glass building that holds weapons and a framed photos of the Hunts.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Avalon: If I ever Break Continued

    Rose, I hate you, go to hell.

    Emerson, I'll miss you, buddy.

    Aiden, thanksers for letting me believe.

    Knight, I loved you too at one point, you know.

    Vortex, thanks for the Nutella, buddy!

    Tony, thanks. For everything.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Kirsten

    I wish you luck.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Morgyn

    Have fun and good luck with the cold!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Avril

    Samson, good luck. Beat Julia's sorry little hiney!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    To: Christians beware

    Just the spelling errors alone are enough to totally ignore your opinion. It is quite obvious that you didn't even read the book. Actually read the book then give it an honest review. You may learn something.........but at the very least you'll be informed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Liar liar your pants are on fire

    See genesis1:1 and read the bible

    0 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    Digital version useless

    Don't bother. Looko for different version that works!

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    Charles Darwin is absolutely brilliant!

    The idea of evolution is fasinating. Darwin put this in a very good way. we was a brilliant man, with an IQ of 165! who ever doesnt beleive that crock about us being created by 'god' should read this. Im an intellectual atheist who is very interested in philosophy, forensics, and history. and hotmama i will have you know that humans and chimpanzees have 98.999% of the same DNA as humans do. also, zoologist richard dawkins stated that when you get down to basic dna structure, we all originated from one common ancestor.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5