BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Original Itty Bitty Book Light

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A light that is bright enough for both pages.

I have used an 'itty bitty' book light for many years now. My brother gave it to me as a present. I am an avid bedtime reader and have absolutely loved this light. I have tried so many others that I can't count them all. I especially like the adapter feature, howeve...
I have used an 'itty bitty' book light for many years now. My brother gave it to me as a present. I am an avid bedtime reader and have absolutely loved this light. I have tried so many others that I can't count them all. I especially like the adapter feature, however, I also agree with other reviewers about the wiring not holding up at the switch. I just purchased another 'itty bitty' book light today. Even though I have had to replace the light portion, I am still way ahead dollar wise not having to use batteries when I use the light at home with the adapter. The battery pack being seperate is a great feature for use on paperbacks while camping or on the road. Overall it is a great product.

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Itty Bitty Book Light

I have been waiting for an Itty Bitty Book Light for the longest time. Years.!I had one when they first became available and after several years it just did not work any longer. My son gave me a gift certificate for Christmas and after careful thought of what book I wou...
I have been waiting for an Itty Bitty Book Light for the longest time. Years.!I had one when they first became available and after several years it just did not work any longer. My son gave me a gift certificate for Christmas and after careful thought of what book I would like to enjoy next, the thought came to me!!! an Itty Bitty Book Light. I did have to pay an additinal amount for the shipping as I was not a member .. that was OK as I was so excited. I waited and waited for the arrival. I had the light about a week or 10 days when the bulb blew out and when replacing the bulb the light no longer works at all .. not electrically or by battery. Unfortunate, but true .. B&N has decided that since it has been 14 days since the order (remember I did have it shipped) they will not replace it. So now I am without an Itty Bitty Book Light again and I am very sad. And I most likely will never shop at B&N again.

posted by Caribbeansoul on February 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I love my Original Itty Bitty Book Light

    I'm on my fourth Itty Bitty and wouldn't use another. This light is a bright white, not the blue light of LED book lights. The light is also very adjustable. I can plug it into a wall or use batteries with the power unit included.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    BEST LIGHT, REPLACEMENTS CHEAPER...

    I LOVE this light...I have tried them ALL, believe me, I have every kind ever made, including the kind that hooks on your ear...I'm a sucker for anything that resembles a good booklight and so far Zelco Ind. has the best...I recently ordered a replacement because like everyone else, the on/off switch wiring went bad on me and I found out that the maker of this booklight also makes replacements of this model available for sale which they price at about a third of the original cost, the only difference is that you don't get them in the 'book box'(which I toss out anyway - I use it too much to ever put it away in the box!)or with an extra bulb. I had to ask B&N for it but they readily complied and I got the 3 I ordered in record time! I Love Barnes & Noble online, they always come through for me!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Repeat purchaser pleased

    I bought the light to replace one just like it in 1982. I like it because you can use an electrical outlet or batteries. In the car, the batteries are good. At home, using electricity saves on the number of batteries used. It is a good light source for reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    A good night sleep....

    This is s great item when one wants to turn in earlier than their spouse.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Can't Live Without My Itty Bitty

    This book light changed my life. My first encounter with Itty Bitty was at a hotel on vacation. When I was reading, snuggled up in bed, wrapped in a cocoon of darkness, I was reminded of being a young child with my flashlight under my covers. But this was better! No awkward flashlight to arrange and hold, no batteries necessary and no need to hide under the covers to keep the light hidden. My husband can easily fall asleep, undisturbed as I read myself to sleep. . Once you set up the light for the evening, there is no need to readjust it as you turn pages. I love the fact that this light is *not* an LED light with the bright white/blue look as I prefer a warm cast to a reading light and find it more relaxing at bed time. My first IBBL lasted over five years, used everynight. I only chose to replace after the top of the neck piece broke when my 7 yo was trying to adjust it sideways instead of up and down. It still worked, but the sctoch tape was awkward! Make sure you buy extra light bulbs to keep handy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    The itty bitty book light.

    Over the last 30 years I have enjoyed the Itty Bitty Book Light. I read at night and have purchased over the years five of them. The part, after much use, that wears out is the on and off switch and the wiring leading to the bulb. The bulbs last a long time but need replacing every few months so I keep a few on hand. It is a bright enough light to read in the darkness without any other light on. The battery pack is convenient for traveling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2007

    Bastante Bien

    El lito para los libros es una parte importante de mi domiendo. Pero, una lito buena es dificil por buscar. Cuando compre el 'Itty Bitty Book Light' ayer, yo recibi una soprende buena. Lo es bastante adelante bien!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    It saved my marriage!

    I have owned my booklight for the last 10 years! It was the best purchase I ever made. Now I can read at night without disturbing my wife. I am a Zelco fan! Their booklights are the brightest and best out there. The lamp lights up both sides of the page and the clip works really well on both soft and hardcover books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    THE BEST!

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOKLIGHT YOU CAN PURCHASE. I HAVE TRIED THEM ALL. IT LASTS THE LONGEST AND BULBS LAST A LONG TIME. IT IS THE MOST EXPENSIVE, BUT WORTH EVERY PENNY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    The Original, and still the best! I love my "itty bitty&quo

    The Original, and still the best!
    I love my "itty bitty" Booklight. Very bright, very well designed and very useful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    My fave for years

    I have used this light for years; love the option of battery (travel) or plug in. The light is bright; the arm comes over the book into the correct position. I have tried several other types when B&N did not have this available and always gave them away. This is perfect for those of us who still read from books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Itty Bitty Book Light

    This was a gift for my husband. He absolutely loves it! Easy to use, stays attached to the book, not bulky...wish he had one a long time ago. Great purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love my book light

    The Itty Bitty Book Light is the best book light I have tried. I've tried many and am an avid reader. This is my third Itty Bitty, not that they don't last, but because they do last,for years. I don't even look at other book lights anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2000

    Lightweight, great for paperbacks!

    I spent some time trying to decide which book light I wanted before choosing this one. I read paperbacks primarily, so this light made the perfect sense. Because the batteries are in an external battery pack and not the light itself, this light works perfectly, even with the lightest paperbacks. One minor complaint -- the adjustable arm on the light was VERY loose when I first purchased it, but was easily fixed by removing & reinserting the retaining screws. I don't think this would survive a road-warrior's life, but for home it's great. I'm planning on buying a Fliplight for my travel use. I still love this light though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1