Customer Reviews for

Original Sin (Seven Deadly Sins Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating

    Before reading this book, read...[What You Can't See] by Allison Brennan..It's the beginning story to [Original Sin]. [What you can't see]is three novels in one book the story you want is the first story...[Deliver Us From Evil]I can't wait for the next book due out 6/22/10 enjoy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    terrific urban fantasy

    Since escaping from the queen of the underworld her evil mother Fiona the black magic practitioner, Moira O'Donnell has trained mentally and physically for several years to reach the point of not just demon hunter, but confronting mommy dearest. Her mentor Father Philip of the St. Michael's Monastery has taught or arranged for Moira to receive lessons in magical combat.

    Time has run out and though Moira feels unready she knows her mother plans to use a special incantation to open a portal to Hell that will enable the malevolent witch to control demons and the seven deadly sins. In Santa Louisa, California, Fiona begins her spell after an assault on a nearby mission left one survivor former seminarian Rafe Cooper. He leaves the hospital and interrupts the enchantment at a critical moment; allowing the seven deadly sins to cross as living essences. Moira, Rafe, demonologist Anthony Zaccardi, local sheriff Skye McPherson and two haunted teens unite to battle Fiona, her minion and seven deadly sins.

    This is a terrific opening urban fantasy that contains a high degree of suspense. The allies are an interesting mix as each has baggage and distrust of one another while failure to unite means defeat. Fiona is super villainess with her thirst for power, which is thwarted by the bungling of Rafe leading to rage. Fans will relish this first of the Seven Deadly Sins as Allison Brennan makes her demonic invasion seem real.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gives a whole new meaning to the word 'Thriller'...

    Boy, I thought I knew what I was getting into when I started reading this book. I'd read 'What You Can't See', also authored by Ms. Brennan, and was prepared to join the battle between good and evil, spearheaded by the demonologist, Anthony, and his partner, Sherrif Skye. Then, renounced witch, Moira, together with Rafe Cooper, come along for the ride. As they discover the unholy depths to which their advisaries will go toward the success of their cause, they are rattled by necessity to trust and depend on those who are suspect in their loyalties and actions. It is only in believing in each other that they have a hope of succeeeding. Not an easy task. There is much history here, and not all of it is good. And yet they perservere. Interestingly, what I found after reading the first chapter, is that this book literally frightened me into putting it down. Honestly. I'd read a few chapters, put the book down, then stare at it for a few moments; my mind only able to absorb the level of treachery, violence, and evil for just so long. I'm not saying I disliked this book - on the contrary, I truly enjoyed it. It's been quite a while since I've read a book where it's effect was so disturbing that I could only read it in stages. I think after all the books, tv shows, and movies about witches, vampires, werewolves and so forth (now don't get me wrong...I watch and read them, too), it's refreshing to see that the most basic fundamentals of our belief systems can be examined and brought to literary life in these pages. No one wants to believe in ulitmate evil; yet we see and hear about it on a daily basis until our senses become nearly numb to its prevelence and frequency. It is difficult to believe that there are those out there who are committed to their faith enough to see us through evil with light and love. That being said, as this book is a fanatsy, it was very well done. But, somewhere in the back of my mind, there is a hope that people like Anthony, Skye, Rafe and Moira really do exist. And if so, I'm glad they're on our side...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Moira is my kind of heroine.

    Moira O'Donnell is a former witch on the hunt for the coven causing evil in the small town of Santa Louisa, California. She is fearful of using her former magic to combat the evil in town. A big no-no. When the Seven Deadly Sins are let loose, it is up to Moira and her team to stop the deadly sins and stop the big, bad witch...Moira's mother.

    Brennan has kept the suspense thriller she is well-known for and added a wonderful paranormal twist to the story. Fans of Allison Brennan will love this new tale and fans of paranormal will add Allison Brennan to their keeper shelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I've read book 1 & 2 when is book three coming out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    First Book By Allison Brennan and Certainly Not the Last

    This was my first book by Allison Brennan and she has hooked me for life. In simple terms, I loved this book. Loved it! I found the perfect balance of a supernatural storyline (witches and demons, anyone?) with a touch of romance, all helmed by a strong, independent and very likable heroine. What could possibly be wrong with it?

    While Original Sin was full of supernatural themes, witchery and demonology I found it more suspenseful than terrifying (and I mean that as a compliment). There were more than a few lunch hours that I stretched out because I simply did not want to put the book down, so engrossed with Moira, Fiona, Serena, Rafe and Anthony I had become. I was both impatient to get to the end of the book and dreaded turning that final page.

    Ms. Brennan's writing is crisp, descriptive and draws the reader in quickly. I could picture not only the characters but the targeted town of Santa Louisa, as well as the demons and demonic creatures that were peppered throughout the novel.

    Moira was perhaps one of the best heroines I have recently had the pleasure of meeting through reading. She's strong and determined and can take care of herself without benefit of a man just fine, thank you. What a nice surprise to have a heroine who doesn't fall apart at the first sign of trouble or danger!

    Original Sin certainly isn't the first book to use the Seven Deadly Sins as its basis, nor will it be the last, but how much worse a villain could there be but Satan? I found the central Satan/Seven Deadly Sins storyline fascinating enough but Moira's backstory of being born for a purpose, running from her dangerous mother for seven years and a lost fiance were the blood red cherry on top of this paranormal sundae.

    As much as I hated for this book to end, I took some consolation in knowing that Original Sin is but the first book in a three book series. I simply cannot wait for the next book to be released so I can catch up with Moira in her quest to fight off demonic forces.

    I would recommend this book to any reader who enjoys supernatural, horror or thriller genres. For readers who appreciate a lot of romance, Original Sin may not be your cup of tea. By the same token, if you are easily offended by crude language and/or scenes of a sexual nature, you might be more offended than interested. I would also recommend to any television or film producer looking for a good project to look no further - - Original Sin would make a fantastic movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Original Sin by Allison Brennan

    A different twist on the seven deadly sins and quite entertaining. Fast paced, wanted to get to the next page before I finished the last. Excellent characters, a must read. Am looking forward to future books in this ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    Looking forward to the next one!

    I have read all of Allison Brennan's books, but I wasn't sure if I would like this one, at first, because of it's supernatural kind of plot. I am glad I decided to read it!!! She develops some interesting characters in this first novel and I am anxiously awaiting the others in the series to see what happens to the characters I liked best. There is something for everyone in this storyline; good vs. evil, occult worship, kindling romance, lots of action and strong characters. The heroine must battle evil by trusting someone, but she doesn't know for sure who.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    better then expected

    I'm not one who really likes books about other worldy things. But this book grabbed me and sucked me in. I cant wait until the other books come out in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1