Customer Reviews for

Original Sin

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Love Luc

    Can not wait until the 3rd book comes out:) Already have money put aside for it lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Overall

    I loved both of the books but Original Sin was surprising hard to get through. I really hope that the author (forgot the name sorry) continues with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    Loved it, Can't wait to read the next!

    it was a great book. i didn't want to put it down!.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome read!

    *****SPOILER ALERT*****Finished the book in 2 days!!!...almost as good as the first...a bit disappointed w/ matt's character, he actually annoyed me a bit thru the book...also, was expecting a lil more description between luc n frannie's first time, not full blown details of course, given the book is a YA read but i noticed that the author got more descriptive when frannie trys to seduce gabe and in the parts of the book where everyone else who got it on....sorry for those who havent read it...but all in all an awesome read, really couldnt put it down....again i fell for Luc despite his mistakes, truly hoping for an explanation to wat hpnd w/ him in the end of this book, n hoping he n frannie can work things out....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    To begin with, this book is completely dynamic. Over the top, can't stop reading this book dynamic. Once I started this book and fell into the story, I could not gather myself to get out. I was stuck inside an amazing world that only got better and better as I continued to read!

    The characters in the book go through some major changes. Lots of feelings changed, secrets were revealed (loved those) and betrayals were made. The main character, Frannie has grown up a lot. She doesn't see the world the way she used to. Her eyes have been open and she is much more weary of things than before. I like that cause now she is not as naive. Both Luc and Gabe played a huge part in who Frannie is becoming. They both made sacrifices to get where she needs to be even if it hurts them.

    The secrets in this book are so juicy, I can hardly stop gasping. Let me tell you that Ms. Desrochers sure does know how to pull one over her readers head. Never in my life, have I been so shocked by a book before. If you read the first book, these secrets do give some insight on questions I have been wondering. Ms. Desrochers writing is perfect in describing the characters emotions. I love it when an author can pull you into the characters shoes feeling everything that they are going through. The author definitely made the book easy for you to understand as well as get into.

    There is no secret that there is a love triangle going on here. Ms. Desrochers made it extremely entertaining. It is easy to fall in love with these two boys! Luc and Gabe fight for Frannie. The tension between Frannie/Luc and Frannie/Gabe is so strong, you feel like your in a hot tub. There are some betrayals in this book that I never thought would happen. Friends who aren't what they say they are.

    A sinfully delicious book, Original Sin will ensnare you like no other book has. With lots of mythological creatures and hot boys, you will fall in love with this book.

    *sexual tension/sex (implied)*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Missy's Reads & Reviews

    Following in Personal Demons' footsteps, Original Sin is a great continuation of the story that we fell in love with the first time around.

    I'll have to admit that Frannie grew on me a little more, yet at the same time managed to tick me off at some of the completely insane and, quite frankly, idiotic decisions that she would make. It boggles my mind, but somehow she manages to be giving and selfish at the same time... if that makes any sense. I loved Luc in this as much as the last, but I had to give Gabe the silent treatment for a while. Even though I love his character, I wasn't so much of a fan of him disappearing and not being around when it was obvious that he was needed. Yet, I understood his decision and I think I'd do the same as he did - given the circumstances.

    The evil was more vile this round, which I enjoyed and pretty much reveled in. I mean, if they're going to be representing true evil then they really need to represent! I'm censoring myself saying this for those who haven't read the first yet - but the character that I was happy to see come back in the last novel made me regret my decision in this book. He ended up being even more selfish than Frannie herself and not at all giving. Maybe it's because of his prior circumstances? I have no idea, but I think he should have been smarter than how he acted in this book.

    This book was as equally enjoyable as the one it follows and I'm absolutely loving where the story is going. I cannot wait for the next book in the series to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    I love Luc!!!

    Lol. I loved this book. It has a bit of everything in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a delightful teen paranormal romantic suspense

    Luc Cain came from hell to collect Frannie Cavanaugh's soul while Gabe came from heaven to do likewise. Neither expected Frannie to have her own guardian angel Matt who was her twin brother before dying in childhood; or that Luc would fall in love with Frannie and shockingly give up brimstone for shaving cuts when her Magical Sway had him obsessed with being become human (see Personnel Demons).

    As Gabe returns to heaven to avoid Frannie's temptation, raging King Lucifer exhales fire over the traitor Luc. He sends a demon horde to bring him the betrayer on a platter. More important to the ruler of Hell is to capture the essence that turned his former loyal follower into a mortal. While Matt has lost concentration because of his attraction to Luc's sexy next door neighbor Lili, the demons attack Frannie and her friends.

    Rotating perspectives between the wins and the former demon, Original Sin is a delightful teen paranormal romantic suspense. Frannie is a terrific character whose magical sway has Heaven and Hell wondering what is going on. However Luc steals the show as he struggles with adjusting to human hygiene. Fans will enjoy encounters of the first kind between mortals and heavenly and hellish guests and hosts.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome, must read!

    Lisa Desrochers is pure genius. I don't think I can muster up the words to express how much I loved and enjoyed reading Original Sin. The Personal Demons series is smokin' hot and a must read for YA lovers! Original Sin makes you feel sad, happy, angry, shocked, and excited all in one book! Lisa's writing is truly amazing and I felt every word and scene as the characters did.

    I'm team Luc all the way, but when Gabe left Frannie it was sad, because she loves Gabe too. Although Frannie knows that nothing can come between her and Luc, she still has that connection to Gabe and she feels as if there is a piece of her missing. I really enjoy the emotion Lisa brought into Original Sin. You feel more of the sadness and pain than you do in the first book, and although you don't WANT sadness and pain, it adds so much to Luc and Frannie's incredible journey.

    A couple new characters are introduced. There is Lili, a shy and reserved type of girl who moves into Luc's neighborhood, and Rhenorian, a demon set on bringing Luc back to Hell. Then there is Frannie's new guardian angel, whose name must not be spoken of because it will spoil the first book. This angel is happy to be helping Frannie and Luc.or maybe just Frannie, until he meets Lili and even he can't seem to focus on what his duties are.

    I loved all the characters, new and old, in this book. There were plenty of demons and I love how they are described in such detail.so much I feel like I am in the book facing them myself! Sometimes I think its hard to picture a character as the author would see them, but when it is done with Lisa's precision, its perfecto!

    I also don't know if I've mentioned that Luc is totally hot *swoon*. I'm a sucker for bad boys and if you were team Gabe in Personal Demons, I think that Original Sin will give you a run for your money.well part of the book anyways, just wait until the second half!!

    Original Sin is filled with steamy relationships, crazy twists, action, and shocking outcomes. I really rate this book a million stars out of 5, haha, but 5 is all I can fit! I CAN'T wait for the next book and I hope you YA lovers pick up your copy of Personal Demons and Original Sin (releases July 5, 2010)!!!

    Review based on ARC copy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    Wow. Yeah, if I only had one word, it would be wow. And then holy hell. And then hot holy Luc. And then summer snow.
    Okay. I think I'm done now. End of review. LOL. Just kidding.
    Original Sin had so much that I wanted and hoped for and then lots of other things that I never expected. Lisa took me on a ride with Frannie, Luc and Gabriel, as well as a few new and complex characters. And it was a ride that I didn't want to get off of.
    So I am still on team Luc. I think. But Gabe. Oh my Gabe. He really shone in this book, and I totally want to pull for him. He's so self sacrificing, and his love for Frannie... wanting what is best for her no matter what, oh my Gabe.
    Luc is hot as ever in this one, although there are some moments that I want to start hating him. Which I think helped in the Gabe train. (Don't get mad at me Luc, I still wanna lick you babe.)
    The action is non-stop and the only thing I can complain about is: I WANT MORE. NOW.
    So, yeah, I definitely recommend this one, and if you haven't read Personal Demons yet, what are you waiting for???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    There's a lot that happens in this book. It's a lot to process, but in the end I really enjoyed this book.

    The fact that Luc is now human doesn't please everyone. Hell is bound and determined to figure out how he did it. In fact most of the book is concerning Hell trying to reverse Luc's tag so they can drag him back to hell for punishment. And they really will stop and nothing to get that done. And the demons are much worse in this book than in the first. I actually really enjoyed the havoc Luc causes for hell. It's an interesting twist that I'm sure he wasn't intending. I'll be curious to see how the plays out in future books.

    And even Frannie's new guardian angel doesn't think Luc can overcome his demon past. His behavior is so far from what I think a guardian angel should be like. It was sad to watch him become what he does by the end of the book. I think Gabe should have seen some of that coming. But I don't think he sees straight when it comes to Frannie. Gabe doesn't get near enough book time, but there are parts of that are told from his point of view. We get a much better idea of his feelings for Frannie and what the consequence would be if he were to act on them. It's not small price to pay and I understand why he tries to distance himself from her..."Lead us not into temptation" fits it perfectly.

    I liked Frannie quite a bit more in this one. She seems more adult and is coming to terms with what has happened so far. When Hell pinpoints that she's the one that turned Luc mortal, they really start to reverse her tag as well. The demons, etc do a really good job of isolating Frannie from everyone. They use all those human emotions that don't bring out the best of us and use them against her. There's a lot of anger, distrust, and vengeance in this book. There's also quite a bit of sex. I don't mind that in young adult books, but I found in this one it was different. There's one scene that I would dang near classify as rape. It's one way the demons are using to tag humans for hell, so you can imagine it's not pleasant.

    I devoured this book. It was an excellent read despite some of the sexual aspects, which is why I would recommend it for older teens. It's possible that it could be edited before release as I've read an ARC version. I'm still very interested in reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2