Customer Reviews for

Original Sin (Adam Dalgliesh Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Another triumph for Lady James

    I don't think there can ever be such a thing as a bad P. D. James mystery. Lady James is just too good a writer to have that happen. <BR/><BR/>"Original Sin" continues her series featuring the man I consider the world's most erudite policeman (the word "cop" just doesn't apply) - Commander Adam Dalgliesh of New Scotland Yard. This time the scene of the crime is, according to the novel, the oldest publishing house in Britain - Peverell Press. <BR/><BR/>In this entry in the series, enough red herrings are tossed out that I was thoroughly in the dark until the very end - and then I remembered the actual murderer's alibi in the first killing and wondered how I could have forgotten it. <BR/><BR/>Sadly, I cannot give this book five stars, but not because of Lady James' usual excellent writing. My review is of the audiobook from Recorded Books, and the narrator needs to improve on his craft. At times, in conversations between two or more characters, I couldn't tell which one was speaking - they sounded almost exactly alike. And other points in the narration were flat and toneless; I almost felt as though I were listening to "Original Sin" as told by Mr. Spock. <BR/><BR/>I'm willing to give this narrator another chance, but I'm seriously considering getting the actual book for my next P. D. James.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2015

    Go back to PD James

    Sometimes we attach ourselves to new and exciting writers of mystery; however, there is plenty of mystery in Original Sin and I highly recommend it.

    When murders multiply at a high end publishing house, Adam Dalgliesh finds the culprit(s) after much use of his skills at discernment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2015

    Barry

    Im helping you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2015

    Dante

    Nither do I to be honest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    Jared

    It said rape clara

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    I recently read Original Sin and I was very disappointed in the

    I recently read Original Sin and I was very disappointed in the book. If you like detailed descriptions of characters and physical locations,
    then you will probably like the the novel. However, if you are looking for a mystery which keeps you wondering/guessing what is going to
    happen next only to discover that what you had anticipated was wrong; you, like I, will be disappointed. Ms. James is a competent writer
    capable of delivering prose that is elegant, but to call Original Sin a mystery is a stretch of the imagination.. CondorDC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Courtney

    Yo its meh. I've been doing the pj rp since Feburary around Valentines day at the greece results. I am 19/15 (dumb time warp). My full name is Courtney Loranne Zuino. I have a twin brother named Jake(he's annoying) and I am a daughter of Zeus and I have an evil stepmother named Hera. Sometimes i loose my memory cuz of a lethe gas that hit me when I was 15/18. Its not permanent but its pretty bad. I have a three back and i'm very athletic, a rebel, and a tomboy. I have shoulder lengh black hair that has purple streaks going through it. I have eletric blue eyes and a MAJOUR FRECKLE PROBLEM ON MY FACE. My weapons are a silver braclet that my half brother Mike made me that turns into any weapon I need and my luck dagger, Bolter. I have like five gazillion half brothers and like two half sisters. So ya. BAI!!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    JONATHAN

    I have golden blond hair and amber eyes. I dont remember where i started pj. But my story from before then is an interesting one. I was one of the royal triplets of avalon. Then a demon attacked and killed mother. My brother blamed me and tried to kill me i fled and arrived at pj

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Prism and Sparky

    Prism- I joined when it was still in the PJ books!!! Sometime in July. 2011. My name is Loyal "Prism" Sonya, and I'm a daughter of Apollo and Athena. I was a goddess back when it wasn't considered godmodding to be one. -3- I have brown hair, glasses, olive skin, and wear a pink shirt under an unzipped hoody and jeans+tennis shoes. I use a huge battle-axe that turns into a leather snap bracelet. I'm goddess of light and creativity. Sparky- I joined Pris sometime in December (2011). We're identical, except I wear a sweater vest, khakis, and loafers. I use a bow and arrows, and, rarely, a one-handed sword. I'm a daughter of Ares.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Maddie and britt

    Maddie tl red head with funny personality britt tall dirty blonde with a scr on her forehead* both : joined in the greek rp at greece results and then moved to pool results thwnto scarlettletter

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Kat

    Im kat ive been here since last christmas. Go to mountain result one or something to see my description.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Original Sin (The NEW Eerie Coterie)

    This is The Eerie Coterie's February "Goremet" selection by our featured author for 2010, P.D. James. I read this book many years ago and it remains one of my personal favorites by James. What I think readers will love the most is that the setting of the murder is a publishing house! This was James' first book after her wonderful "The Children of Men" and it was definately a return to form. It is more than just the writing style, but the nostalgic feel her books have - even though they are contemporary. James writes classical detective stories, which nowadays no one really does and that is a shame. People read detective fiction as a wal to escape real life, which is funny considering there is a terrible murder at its core. With "Original Sin" it starts up with a slow introduction to the spublishing house and its characters and then hits you with the murder!! Visit BN Bookclubs to discuss this book with The Eerie Coterie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2000

    James triumphs again!

    Dire straits has caught up with Peverell Press, financially and mortally. This prestigious London publishing house is sinking fast and the five surviving partners of the venerable old firm have to make some dire choices! In P.D. James¿ ¿Original Sin,¿ we find that justice may really be blind, after all. First, one of the five partners, the managing director, is found dead. What looks like a suicide, however, is not. Superintendent Adam Dalgleish, master that he is, determines that, indeed, it is not suicide, but murder. The suspects are a-plenty, as is motive. At the same time, someone is playing not-so-funny practical jokes around the offices. Another body is found, and the investigation grows. James and Dalgleish are at their best here, and the myriad avenues that the killer (or killers) seem to be taken are not much help. Everything seems so calculated. But Dalgleish soon learns that this case involves a systematic approach and he must expand his investigative horizon, which eventually extends all the way back to World War II France. Hatred, revenge, jealousy--all the ¿evils¿--abound and when the perpetrator is revealed, James does so with control and finesse. Faster paced than normally, this James book is one not easily put down, to coin a phrase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2000

    Original Sin: Not like the original James

    While a fan of P.D. James, this books creates the feeling that the author was off her game a bit. The usually enthralling bits of history that are usually brisk bits that move the plot along were more like long, rambles leading you to a place where you look around and realize you've gone a block too far and nearly become lost. The lack of crispness defeats the bold approach of the overall structure, presenting a landscape of figures and plot information before the crime investigation heats up. On the whole, Original Sin is a tough read, for while the overdense early stages of the book may cause the reader to rush along, you must not, or you lose too much that is important later. A good, tightening edit would have vastly improved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1