Customer Reviews for

Origins (The Vampire Diaries: Stefan's Diaries Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(189)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

BookwormLCN Obviously didn't read the "author" on the cover...

This book was NOT written to go with the storyline of L.J. Smith's books. This is a prequel to the SERIES on the CW written by the authors of the SHOW...

You feel silly now don'tcha?

Excellent one at that too. Katherine is the ultimate villain but in the book you ...
This book was NOT written to go with the storyline of L.J. Smith's books. This is a prequel to the SERIES on the CW written by the authors of the SHOW...

You feel silly now don'tcha?

Excellent one at that too. Katherine is the ultimate villain but in the book you may find yourself seeing her in an unexpected light. It really fleshes out some of the things I was confused about in the flashbacks in the series. A wonderful companion to the TV show for any die hard TVD fan. Expertly written and very well done.

posted by AlexHarlow on December 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed with the discrepancies

Why is the town called Fell's Church in the original books, but Mystic Falls in Stefan's Diaries. I know the town is called Mystic Falls in the TV series, but I feel like L.J. Smith is jumping the shark by changing this in the books. Also, in the original books Stefan a...
Why is the town called Fell's Church in the original books, but Mystic Falls in Stefan's Diaries. I know the town is called Mystic Falls in the TV series, but I feel like L.J. Smith is jumping the shark by changing this in the books. Also, in the original books Stefan and Damon were from Italy and were much older than 180 or so years old. These discrepancies made it very difficult for me to keep the story line straight, if there even IS a story line anymore. I was very disappointed in this book, and I wish I had not bought or read it.

posted by BookwormLCN on December 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    Blond?

    This book was great, love Damon. But I was disapointed it did not follow the books, but the tv show. I was hopping to hear of Stephans view of the books more.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Help!

    Is this not the original book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Stomach wrenching suspence filled with explosions of romance

    I see Stefan in a completely different way. Before I only new him from the television show as vampire Stefan. But as the plot thickens, Stefan's brotherly connection with Damon is unwraveled in an exhilerating way with and the kind of love he truely holds for Katherine is reveled.... I say good job and I look forward to the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Love it! I stated reading this book becasue I love the show and

    Love it!
    I stated reading this book becasue I love the show and read LJ Smith's Series good. I cant wait to read the 2nd Stephan's Diaries!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Great books!

    I have read the entire Vampire Diaries series and Stephan's Diaries are good but I didn't enjoy them as much as I did the original series books. Still, a great read and gives you detailed background on where Stephan came from!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Best series ever.

    This is the best series ever, but on the second page it said from the series. I mean I think this book isn't the original book. Great book, but wrong author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cinnamon for TeensReadToo

    Animals are showing up dead in the woods with their throats ripped out and the rest of their bodies untouched, and the residents of the little town of Mystic Falls are freaking out as they attribute the attacks to demonic activity. Through all of this mayhem, there is Stefan, who's led a relatively simple life. Until now, that is. The boy suddenly finds himself faced with an unexpected arranged marriage and an equally unexpected visitor - alluring and orphaned Katherine Pierce. Needless to say, it is attraction at first sight, and when Stefan's brother, Damon, returns from the Army and appears to be quite taken with the young Katherine as well, trouble begins to brew. Two brothers and a girl: there has to be a winner, and there has to be a loser. Based off of the hit CW television show Vampire Diaries, ORIGINS describes Stefan, Damon, and Katherine's mysterious back-story. There are countless differences between this book - co-written by the two TV show producers instead of L. J. Smith - and the original VAMPIRE DIARIES series. While both are enjoyable, I found ORIGINS to be slightly superior plot-wise, and L. J. Smith's original story to be better written and characterized. One little quirk: we never really discover who the villain is because of the abrupt ending. A nice conclusion or revelation of some sort would have cleaned the plot up nicely. Overall, the book was still appealing - the latter half especially, as the story finally picks up the pace. ORIGINS would be a great read for all die-hard fans of the VAMPIRE DIARIES series and TV show, as it presents an alternative view of the world and sheds light on the murkiness of Stefan and Damon's past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    Good Read

    If you are a fan of Vampire Diaries, then Stefan's Diaries are a must!! I read the book cover to cover in one night. It's definatly a fun, light read!! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Stefan's Diaries

    THE VAMPIRE DIARIES: STEFAN'S DIARIES, by L.J. Smith with help from Kevin Williamson, and Julie Peck, the creators of the hit TV-Show goes back before Elena and before Stefan and Damon were vampires. I saw this book and almost had a heart attack! This is the story of how Stefan and Damon came to be the super-hot vampires they are today!

    The book surprised me by starting off in a completely normal setting, Stefan being the responsible son while Damon has joined the civil war efforts for the South then became a deserter. Stefan and Damon's father clearly wishes Damon would be more responsible and be around more on the estate that should rightfully be his in the future, but he also appreciates everything Stefan tries to do, I was SHOCKED by how normal it was, and honestly a little disappointed. Fortunately it didn't last long.

    Enter Katherine Peirce, outrageously beautiful and she just happens to be a vampire. She artfully snares both Damon and Stefan into a tragic love triangle, but the triangle cannot last, for Stefan is to be married to a local girl. I was sad to hear that he wasn't going to be able to be with Katherine and of course Damon would move in, but Katherine had other plans, which I wanted to jump up in down for! Stefan's betrothed goes missing the night of the Founder's Day Ball only to be found with her throat torn out and that's when the hunting parties are let loose.

    Things really pick up speed just about half-way through, and it is literally impossible to put the book down. L.J. Smith has wowed me as usual and with the help of the TV-Show creators the book is absolutely flawless. If you have read, or even started to read the Vampire Diaries I highly recommend this! And if you are a fan of Katherine like me, and wish for more of her whenever you can, this is the perfect fix!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3