Customer Reviews for

Orlando: A Biography

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Classic

    This book scares me a little. It is written like a biography, but it is in no way true. Orlando starts out as a 16 year old boy, and in the end (300 years later) he is a 36 year old woman.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    rating error?

    A superior and important novel by one of the geniuses of the English language. What does not add up, as I write this, is the 2 1/2 star rating which fails to characterize the two positive reviews. One reviewer entered a 5 star. Perhaps the other did not click on the 'stars' feature, something that would unfortunately be computed as a zero! In any event, Orlando deserves as many stars as B&N has to offer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    WHitewind

    What's the name of the pack?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    River

    Sorry. Sometimes I get a temper. Sorry again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Weissa

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Fallen

    Good morning he purred we neeed more members

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? This Guy. I'm probably going to

    Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? This Guy. I'm probably going to have to turn in my English Lit Major membership card over this, but man. I slogged through this, and didn't enjoy it at all. I'm not sure when I was last so bored by a book whose core concept intrigued me so much. Orlando is virtually immortal, changes gender mid-book, has a group of core household personnel who also seem to be immortal. The story starts in Elizabethan times and moves to the early 1900's. So much of that is fodder for great storytelling, not to mention the ability to comment on societal norms, gender reversals, etc. I won't deny that Woolf manages to pack a lot of social commentary into the book. I won't deny that she experiments with form in a way that makes most students and professors of English literature salivate. But in a book that is over 300 pages long ... nothing happens! Sure, there's the sudden deep freeze and equally sudden thaw of England that provides a momentary rush, but other than that, the protagonist spends pretty much the entire book sitting around depressed over the slights he receives from a woman, a fellow poet, and other varied personalities. I'll say it again: I was bored. And based on my reaction to this, which is supposed to be the most accessible of Woolf's works ... I can honestly say I don't think I'll be trying to read anything else by her.

    Also, It is interesting to me that when I looked on Amazon, BN and Goodreads, none of the product descriptions I read attempt to describe the plot of ORLANDO. These are product descriptions now, not reader reviews. They all talk about how original and influential the book is and what a great movie Tilda Swinton was in a few years back. But none of them even attempt to describe the plot beyond what's quoted in the premise above. Maybe I just looked in the wrong place, or maybe it's just become accepted that ORLANDO is one of those things you read because "it's a classic."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    Great Read

    I loved this book. It is what fiction, to me is all about; creatively obscured with alliteration. So much to take in upon first read I really want to read it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    A fantastic book

    This book is quite exuberating and it gets awkward at times but in the end all of it makes sense I think Virginia did herself well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2004

    A Beautiful Novel

    Orlando is very rich, with deeply moving beauty that is nothing like the airy enchantment of other novels. Woolf's dramatic poetry and surreal modernism are a change from tradition, and a wonderful example of her profound concord with the 'spirit of the age' of the 1920's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2002

    Orlando, a better man

    Orlando is about a young sixteenth century noble man, who accomplishes the somewhat daunting task of living for four hundred years, halfway through he turns into a woman, uttering the words ' no difference at all'. What makes this movie a seminal experience is that the director - Sarah Potter - has nursed to every aspect of the story as it unfolds. Developed (by her) for the big screen it shows only a few changes to the novel and is faithfull to the essence of Orlando as a creation of Virginia Wolf. The dialogue in Orlando is fluent (adapted mainly from the narrative form). It is poetic, rich and vibrant with subtext, easily understood and delishously enjoyable for soft feminists. However, it is NOT a chick flick. Orlando battles his own duality, his ability to absorb injustice versus his snobbery, when he makes the perfunctory remark 'nothing thicker than a knifes blade seperates happines from misery,' and then is confronted with this duality much later. Apart from the emminent choice of actors, costumes, locations, musical score and Sarah Potter's own poetry in the hands of a certain mr. Greene. I also have to mention the astounding visual appearance of the film. The pictures are breathtaking and are powerful storytellers within themselves. This is why Orlando is a masterpiece.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2002

    GOOD BOOK

    THIS IS A VERY GOOD BOOK

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    Most Inspirational Novel I've ever read

    This is wonderful novel. People can learn a lot from it. It is very feminist and opens your eyes to a new way of thinking. I won't say what happens, for I don't want to give it away, but to anyone who enjoys a challenging novel and wishes to learn a great lesson too, this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2