Customer Reviews for

Orphan Train

Average Rating 4.5
( 439 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(263)

4 Star

(133)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Christina Bake Kline writes exquisitely about two unlikely frien

Christina Bake Kline writes exquisitely about two unlikely friends—one, a 91-year-old survivor of the grinding poverty of rural Ireland, immigrant New York and the hardscrabble Midwest; and the other, a casualty of a string of foster homes. As each struggles to transcen...
Christina Bake Kline writes exquisitely about two unlikely friends—one, a 91-year-old survivor of the grinding poverty of rural Ireland, immigrant New York and the hardscrabble Midwest; and the other, a casualty of a string of foster homes. As each struggles to transcend a past of isolation and hardship, Orphan Train will hold you spellbound.

posted by Cathy__Marie on April 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers and kids playing

I really wish bn would put a stop to plot spoilers who ruin books by revealing everything in their reviews. It is so rude. And these kids who use the book review site to chat, and roleplay their stupid cat games. Please bn, cant they be fined and banned?

posted by 8888649 on December 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Interesting reading on a sad part of our history

    It is hard to believe that our children were "actioned" off like livestock to be worked as laborers instead of being adopeted by loving families because they wanted children. Your heart goes out to these defenseless babes who are not protected by the very agency which was entrusted to find loving and safe homes for these homeless ones. This would be a good book for club discussion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Do not miss this excellent book

    I always like to learn things along with being entertained. This book was hard to put down. I really like how factual it was and appreciate the author's research on the subject. One of the better books I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    Well written and researched yet full of life

    From 1834 to 1929 an American concept was used to transport more than 200,000 orphaned, abandoned and homeless children from coastal cities of the eastern US to the Midwest for "adoption". This story tracks some of those children in their moving and heartbreaking journey. While some of the orphans are adopted into loving homes, many are taken in to do labor, child care and worse. Baker Kline's story is a reminder that we all yearn for belonging and acceptance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Molly's story didn't get gong for me until the middle, I then be

    Molly's story didn't get gong for me until the middle, I then became involved with her and Vivian. Niamh's/Dorothy/Vivian story hooked me right  awayI stayed with it until the end. I would recommend thiis as a young adult novel. Somewhat cliched in places (the accidental meeting of Vivian and Duchy for instance) but generally a good weekend read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Fun Read

    Interesting with great character development, but the end was beyond corny. Good look into a much forgotten chapter in American History.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Looks interesting.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    Interesting but predictable

    I love historically based fiction and this book was based on something I was totally unfamiliar with - shipping orphan children from the East to the Midwest to be "adopted" by hard working merchants and farmers. As you can imagine many of these stories did not have happy endings. Children came off the trains and were lined up for inspection by prospective "parents". The senario was eerily reminisent of slave auctions. The main characters, Molly and Vivian, were likeable but somewhat shallow in my opinion. Going back and forth between the two (and between two eras) was OK but made it difficult to develop either character fully. Vivian reconnecting with her friend Dutch from the train was a little too contrived. All in all, a pleasant but very quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Great ending.

    The orphan trains have been covered in other novels that I enjoyed more. The unique juxtaposing of Vivian's story with Molly's story was, for me, off-putting at first but came together at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Aero

    Aero jumps inside and slowly stretches her leg. It was stiff, but it soon wasn't anymore. She shapeshifted back, and walked to result three, wooden staff in hand.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    ok read

    It's a lot of back and forth - from now until 1929 and then back again. It doesn't seem very fluid to me.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2