Customer Reviews for

Orphan Train

Average Rating 4.5
( 765 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(445)

4 Star

(220)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Christina Bake Kline writes exquisitely about two unlikely frien

Christina Bake Kline writes exquisitely about two unlikely friends—one, a 91-year-old survivor of the grinding poverty of rural Ireland, immigrant New York and the hardscrabble Midwest; and the other, a casualty of a string of foster homes. As each struggles to transcen...
Christina Bake Kline writes exquisitely about two unlikely friends—one, a 91-year-old survivor of the grinding poverty of rural Ireland, immigrant New York and the hardscrabble Midwest; and the other, a casualty of a string of foster homes. As each struggles to transcend a past of isolation and hardship, Orphan Train will hold you spellbound.

posted by Cathy__Marie on April 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers and kids playing

I really wish bn would put a stop to plot spoilers who ruin books by revealing everything in their reviews. It is so rude. And these kids who use the book review site to chat, and roleplay their stupid cat games. Please bn, cant they be fined and banned?

posted by 8888649 on December 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 445 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Christina Bake Kline writes exquisitely about two unlikely frien

    Christina Bake Kline writes exquisitely about two unlikely friends—one, a 91-year-old survivor of the grinding poverty of rural Ireland, immigrant New York and the hardscrabble Midwest; and the other, a casualty of a string of foster homes. As each struggles to transcend a past of isolation and hardship, Orphan Train will hold you spellbound.

    47 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Great read!

    Loved this book! Great story. I couldn't put it down. didn't want it to end.

    28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Great heartwarming fast read

    Having my own Irish relatives who were shipped out west on an orphan train, this book got me inspired to learn more! I absolutely loved it. Anyone who loved A Tree Grows In Brooklyn will like this one.

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Great Read

    Another book that I bought as a cheapie, kept me reading until the wee hours. American history is fascinating and worth reading about. Buy it, you'll like it.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    A must read

    Christina Baker Kline's novel Orphan Train is a definate read.
    This book set in present time as Vivian a 91 year old woman who takes on a girl to help with her community service hours. Little does Molly know, her and Vivian spark a unique friendship cleaning out the attic.
    Kline take you back to 1929, to many immigrants searching for the American dream, to the trials of loss and struggles during the Orphan Train runs from the east through the Mid-West. Where many children were placed into loving homes or brought into for hard labor.
    This book will take you through the trials and struggles of a young girl on the Orphan Train, while you are shown the bond of a friendship between the Molly and Vivian. Kline captures the hearts of two women struggling with their own ghosts and hoping to forgive a past that haunts them as their friendship is started.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Captivating

    This is a wonderful story about two different women that end up sharing a similar journey. I read the whole book in two days.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Required reading!

    Christina Baker Kline deserves very high marks for choosing a subject that both enlightens and educates us at the same time. All though this book is a novel, it is based on factual events. The plight of countless orphans during the Great Migration to the Mid West in the early 1900s became a blessing for some children, a never ending horror for others. The pages will fly through your fingers; anxious to read what happens next.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    How interesting! A wonderful, sad but heartwarming story set aga

    How interesting! A wonderful, sad but heartwarming story set against a historical background, like Titanic and the such. The characters spoke to me and I felt a part of their struggle. Books like this make you appreciate what life is like now and grateful is back in your vocabulary. A definite worthwhile book to read and recommend.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    wonderful!

    I have never given five stars to a book. I read it in two days and thought about the characters when I wasn't reading it. The author brings you into the world of the main character and develops it so richly that I felt all her highs and lows. I wish it didn't end.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Best book that I've read in a while. Christina Bake Kline did an

    Best book that I've read in a while. Christina Bake Kline did an awesome job with this book. Molly and Vivian are two characters that will stay with you even after the book ends. The generation gab is unexpected but the story would not be the same if the two characters had not been placed together. I recommend this book to anyone that wants to read an inspirational book for women.  

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Beautiful story! What a well researched & beautifully writte

    Beautiful story!
    What a well researched & beautifully written story.  Can't wait to read Kline's other novels.  Loved this book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Enlightening


    The book brought tears to my eyes more than a few times. I will read more of her books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    A must read book

    I had opportrunity to hear the author speak at our local library at which she provided the back story to her historical novel. This book will be for our March meeting. Once I started I could not put the book down until I completed the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Although I am not a reader of most fiction books, the Orphan Tra

    Although I am not a reader of most fiction books, the Orphan Trains from the late 1800s through early 1900s, have always intrigued me. When I saw a short piece about this book, I knew I had to read it. The heartbreaking ordeals that these children went through was shocking! How could we, as a country, allow this to happen to innocent children? I don't mean the trains themselves, I think if they had been run differently this would have been a blessing to the children. But the abuse that was piled on them was unfathomable!  No school, barely any food, beatings by the hands of people who were supposedly going to protect them. How did this happen?
    The book itself did a wonderful job of defining the connection of 2 entirely different orphaned children. One from the original train and the other from 2011.  Though the children were a century apart the circumstances they endured were vey similiar. Vivian and Molly, such different beings, are connected as few others could be. You will laugh, you will cry, you will shudder at the images that Ms. Kline gives us. But in the end you will most likely cheer and yell, hooray for the good guys!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Loved this book!

    I felt so close to the characters of this book. Angry, saddened, tears, laughter. All were experienced while reading! It was so well written! I would recommend this to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    Great book, great story.

    Ms Kline grabbed my interest in the first page and the interest continued throughout the book. I normally do not like the transference between then and now, but with this story, it is necessary to show similarities and differences between the two circumstances of the orphans. I now want to do more research to learn more about the orphan trains, if they truly did exist, and their success in our past US history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Loved the intertwining stories of two women who forge a friendsh

    Loved the intertwining stories of two women who forge a friendship based on their feelings of loss and abandonment.  At first I thought I had previously read this book as it is about an Irish orphan on a train headed west.  Kitchen House is another excellent book which begins similarly but takes a very different turn.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    The history relayed in this story is at once shocking and fascinating. It was told with a balance of sensitivity and a dose of harsh reality. Beautiful tale.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    What a beautiful story! From start, to finish. One of the best books I've read! I love when an author ends a book, all tied up pretty in bow! I never wanted it to end! Five stars, without a doubt! Enjoy!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    I could not stop reading, the bond that was born between the you

    I could not stop reading, the bond that was born between the young girl and the older woman because of the similarities of their struggles in life is amazing and keeps you glued to the book. I would have liked a little more in the ending but hopefully that means there is more to come.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 445 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23