Customer Reviews for

Orphanage (Jason Wander Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    Jason Wander, human

    Those of us who read ¿genre¿ fiction choose these books because of the familiar stories, plot devices, people types, and, well, all the ingredients that make it a Romance, a Western, a Mystery and yes, even Science Fiction novel. We love to revisit these familiar stories and search for new authors who can transport us from our reality to their ¿worlds¿. Science Fiction has many genres within its broad scope space opera, hard science, first contact, alien invasions, discovering that big thing in the sky and, of course, military fiction. Which brings us to ¿Orphanage¿ the main reason I enjoyed this book so much, besides being just a good ol¿ fun read, is the story is about imperfect people repeatedly overcoming extraordinary odds 'not always with the best ¿final reel¿ outcome' and grow with each experience. Being a former Military Intelligence Officer, Mr. Buettner brings to his books a military reality to give the stories some real bite. And, gosh, I like Jason Wander he makes wrong decisions 'for the right reasons', follows his heart 'a bit too much for a soldier' and is constantly putting his booted foot in his mouth. In other words, Jason is a human just like you and me, and we can relate to his troubles AND triumphs! Robert Buettner is a wonderful new voice in Science Fiction and I hope to be reading his books far into the future!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2007

    GREAT BOOK, Incredible

    I actually had to email the author to tell him how great his book was. Even my friend who is not much into reading, said he found it hard to put this book down. WE BOTH agreed, when we were finished reading, we WANTED MORE! I actually got mad at myself for reading this book to fast!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    Orphanage

    The reviewers are calling Orphanage the best of the year, the decade, maybe to this generation what Starship Troopers and Forever War were to theirs. It's all of that. Fast, funny, moving and authentic . You'll wish it was longer.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2004

    Superb debut novel

    I was wowed by Orphanage! Like all great fiction, it felt very real. All the dialogue rang true and Jason Wander was a fully fleshed-out, multi-dimensional character. There is a real grit to the novel; nothing was so clean that you felt it was contrived. I really became invested in the characters, even getting a little misty towards the conclusion. I particularly liked the humor (some very wry, funny lines), which appears to be completely absent from most sci-fi. I can't wait for the sequel!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Orphanage

    This book is such a quick, great read. I highly recommend reading it. It draws the reader in from the very first page and keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very last.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Welcome to the fun and amazing party and adouption center

    The place is a barn.<p>
    Map-result two=bios for kits under 6moons. Result three=bios for kits 6moons to 12 moons. Result four- main area. Result fiveparty area. Result six- random's den/loft all is welcome. Result 7 onward is the rest that has a bunch of red wood trees. <p>
    Rules- no s**ual things ok. Anythung aprotreate for 1-18 year olds who have vey very protective parents. Warrior book cu<_>ssing is aloud. EXAMPLES!!!:) mousebrain, frogbreath, foxdung, fish breath etc.<p>
    Have fun and adouption days are every other sunday. (This sunday is the first adouption day!!!)<p>
    Posted on 6/28/14

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Natalie

    Looks at Aiden*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Jane

    She smiles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Aiden

    Reallu

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Denari

    Good girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    House three

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    JORDAN TO ALL!!!

    The zombie apocalypse has begun! Come to survivors res 5 to join the resistance!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Mckenzie and others

    We quit

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Moonshine

    Ill do it when i come back bbl be

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Rion and Anon                                       "You ar

    Rion and Anon
                                          &quot;You are permitted to join. Welcome to the Coven of Broken Hearts.&quot; Rion said and slipped back into her tree. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Celeste

    She sighs, running a hand through her hair.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Marcus

    :p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    December

    "Hello? Anyone here at the moment?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Zero and Jeanette

    Jeanette: The four year old vampire looked at her big brother. Zero: Looked at Jeanette. Why do you alwys follow me... Jeanette: Bwcause I miss you...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Rion and Anon      They slipped from their seats in the trees a

    Rion and Anon     

    They slipped from their seats in the trees and each went to one, Rion to the young male and Anon to the female. &quot;Do you wish to join our coven?&quot; They asked in sweet silky tones.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4