Customer Reviews for

Orphans of Chaos (Chronicles of Chaos Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Really good brain burner of fantasy

    Read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    These books are NOT for kids. Heck, they are not even for adult

    These books are NOT for kids. Heck, they are not even for adults unless they have a degree in quantum physics. I can usually read a 600-700 page book in 2 days even with my work schedule. This took me almost 2 weeks and it is only 300 pages because I had to keep rereading the same lines over and over again just to comprehend what I was reading. Easily lost and WAY too much information before getting to the point of what the sentence, paragraph or chapter is about. I finally finished book one and even though I bought all 3 at the same time, I will not even open the 2nd and 3rd books. Ridiculous!!!!!!! Could be a good story if written more dumbed-down for the average-intellect mind.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Quantum physics degree helpful but not required.

    A refreshing contemporary fantasy. While I couldn't exactly wrap my head around all the metaphysical qualities of the Orphans' powers, I enjoyed the author's rich descriptions and his mixing of realistic teenage angst (budding sexuality, strong and innocent desire for a classmate, rebellion, etc) with the discovery and development of immense magical power.

    The overall plot can get bogged down with mathematics and very confusing politics (between Greek gods, no doubt), but overall I am always happy to find any new fantasy that doesn't involve sexy women turning into cats. Orphans of Chaos, as a trilogy, is magical, riveting, and as fumblingly sexy as your first Seven Minutes in Heaven.

    Tominda Adkins
    Author, the Vessel Series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    MUST READ SERIES!!!

    I love this series and only wish it had more than three books in it. I am reaching the end of the third book, Titans of Chaos, and while I'm dying to find out the conclusion, I'm dreading not having any more to read about Amelia, the girl who can see and move through multiple extra dimensions; Colin, the boy who can do almost anything he wants if he's inspired enough; Quentin, the friend of the spirits (not a magician!); Victor, the atomically manipulating stoic; and Vanity, the Phaecian with the great boat and the ability to find passages, compartments, and shortcuts where it is questionable they existed before.

    SPOILER ALERTS!!! In this book you discover that the five children in the orphanage run by Headmaster Boggin may not be who they think they are. Instead, they are four children of the Titans of Chaos (Uranians, as opposed to the Olympians who are from Saturn, known as Zeus) and one Phaecian girl who seems to be able to find passages where they may not have existed before, that lead to places it is impossible for them to have led. The children in this first book are fairly ignorant of what is really going on, but they know it is not right, and they know they must get out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Many common themes turned on their ear

    I'm a big fan of any book that can wisk me away to another fantastic place. This book, for me, represents my most profound wisking away in many years. The author was able to head off most of my usual expectations with an unexpected writing style(slightly science tech manual at times) and a very fresh basic set of rules for his world. To his credit, he utilized the "chaos" element throughout the construction of his world. The characters are very unique from each other but almost in a paper, rock, scissors kind of way although they do not remain static and they provide for wonderful developement throughout the entire three books. For me I'll tip my hand and say the Mr. Wright currently represents the pinnacle of creativity and broad scope of ideas, that sits high on my wish list for stories to wisk me away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read a phenomenal amount of science fiction and I love this series. These are not human children, the dialogue is good, the mix of gods/goddesses, science and fantasy is well done and I was forced by my insatiable desire for a darn good story to buy all the books in this series in hardback. Argh. You will like this series if you wnjoy being surprised. An itty bitty warning - there is some sex and a little domination - it helps to recall that these are NOT HUMAN children, there minds have been wiped clean to keep them hostages against the good behavior of their families. Keep it in mind and enjoy all of this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    Harry Potter for adults? Not quite...

    Orphans of Chaos was described to me as Harry Potter for adults. Students have magical powers, but as a slant, the teachers are actually their enemies. I don¿t think this comparison does an accurate job of portraying the mood of the book, but it comes close. Orphans of Chaos - the first of a trilogy of fantasy books by John Charles Wright - takes place in an ambiguously old-fashioned boarding school in the UK, where five teenage students with no memory of their past start to realize their school is a jail, and their teachers are captors. The children stop taking their daily medicines, which awakens their dormant magical powers: each from a different and equally powerful paradigm. They slowly learn that they are hostages in a classic power play. All involved, including their teachers, are gods or servants of heaven. Narrated by one of the children - Amelia Windrose - they embark on a series of adventures to regain their memories, their powers, and escape their fate as political pawns. The book is written in a somewhat florid style. I enjoyed the pace, which alternates between dialog and adventure. The language and plot elements are evocative of a pseudo-Victorian setting, though we later learn that the book takes place around modern day. All of the adventures and magic are entertaining. Though there may be an overload on the number of minor characters involved, all of the people (gods?) have intriguing backgrounds. There are a few places where the book falls short. There¿s not a great continuity on which of the five children are involved in adventures or conversations. The children that are part of the action seem to be selected arbitrarily. Some of the descriptions of magic start out as plausible and easy to follow, and morph into the ridiculous by the end of the paragraph - I think this is done on purpose for comic effect, but I didn¿t find it very amusing, just annoying. In some places, we¿re given exposition in a very dense and unlikely format. But perhaps most of all, I felt the light sexuality too overt and a little disturbing. This may be a credit for some of my readers, but I¿m violently opposed to any glorifications of pedophiles in books. We never learn the girls¿ ages, but we know for sure that they¿re not women, even if they have the necessary features. And yet, the girls are constantly seducing or are seduced by their teachers. I can handle overtones, but the scenarios - especially towards the end of the book - were constant and served little or no purpose for the story. I think I will read the rest of the trilogy, just to see how the adventure proceeds. And there¿s hope for the ¿bad guys¿ yet. I can¿t put a book down until I know for sure whether or not the characters are dynamic. There¿s a definite attachment for Amelia built up, and though the rest of the children sort of disappear towards the end of the book, I¿d like to be reunited with them. The occasional flaws and annoyances are minor enough, and the concept entertaining enough that I¿ll continue reading. I recommend this book to any fans of young adult fantasy who aren¿t put off by wordy, moderately-paced stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A woderful fantasy

    The five orphans (Colin, Quentin, Victor, Vanity and Amelia) are the only students at the school where they stay all the time being locked in their respective room every night. None know their real name, age, or their linage including where they come from as they chose their names when they were eight to ten years old. All that this quintet knows is the school where conditions are harsh and at times abusive at least for them................. Each has a unique talent. Amelia can observe and influence the physical world in four dimensions and perhaps more. Vanity locates hidden passages in locations where none seemingly existed before her finding them. Quentin is a warlock who has a familiar, Apsu that is a walking stick. Colin employs magic by mentally picturing what he wants to achieve and willing it to happen. Victor uses his mind to telekinetically control matter. ............... The staff is at least as weird as the pupils. When the Board of Visitors and Governors meet to discuss the pupils, Amelia and Victor listen in and learn somewhat about their origins, their Greek God keepers, and the war................ This is not Harry Potter¿s school as the students are abused by the staff including the spanking of Amelia and Professor Glum¿s lusting for her and somewhat for Vanity. The five youngsters have unique personalities and several of the faculty likewise have distinctive traits. The story line focuses more on their captivity and attempts to leave even if they just sneak into the nearby town rather than on the talents. Adult fantasy readers will appreciate this opening gamut of what appears to be the Prisoner locked away in a jail school in which discipline draws the line between the prevailing and the capitulated............... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2