Customer Reviews for

The Other Boleyn Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 1229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(843)

4 Star

(255)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down.

If this era fascinates you, then you will find this book one you will not want to put down. I enjoyed the fact that it was based around Mary Boelyn, even after the king began to favor Ann. Although, a story based on Ann Boelyn's point of view would also be very intrig...
If this era fascinates you, then you will find this book one you will not want to put down. I enjoyed the fact that it was based around Mary Boelyn, even after the king began to favor Ann. Although, a story based on Ann Boelyn's point of view would also be very intriguing. This is the first book I've read by Philippa Gregory and I'm excited to read more!

I would also like to add, please don't read this book if you are trying to learn some hard facts. Don't review this book and give it one star just because it's not written like a history book. That's why it's under the fiction section! It's mean't to be entertaining and fun and actually makes your imagination wheels spin rather than just feeding facts to mindless readers. :) Happy reading.

posted by moodswiings on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Oh dear....ya....not much more to say.

Two questions:Entertaining? Yes, it was. Turthful? Not in the least! I've spent next to a quarter of my life studying the Tudors, and I assure you that there are several, plot changing, dire mistakes in this book, which could only have come about by the Author's 1)sheer...
Two questions:Entertaining? Yes, it was. Turthful? Not in the least! I've spent next to a quarter of my life studying the Tudors, and I assure you that there are several, plot changing, dire mistakes in this book, which could only have come about by the Author's 1)sheer ignorance, or 2)inability to care. You want to read this, then I say go for it. It is an entertaining way to pass the time, but please PLEASE don't take half the things in this book for fact. It just simply is not.

posted by Anonymous on June 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1236 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 62
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down.

    If this era fascinates you, then you will find this book one you will not want to put down. I enjoyed the fact that it was based around Mary Boelyn, even after the king began to favor Ann. Although, a story based on Ann Boelyn's point of view would also be very intriguing. This is the first book I've read by Philippa Gregory and I'm excited to read more!

    I would also like to add, please don't read this book if you are trying to learn some hard facts. Don't review this book and give it one star just because it's not written like a history book. That's why it's under the fiction section! It's mean't to be entertaining and fun and actually makes your imagination wheels spin rather than just feeding facts to mindless readers. :) Happy reading.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    Oh dear....ya....not much more to say.

    Two questions:Entertaining? Yes, it was. Turthful? Not in the least! I've spent next to a quarter of my life studying the Tudors, and I assure you that there are several, plot changing, dire mistakes in this book, which could only have come about by the Author's 1)sheer ignorance, or 2)inability to care. You want to read this, then I say go for it. It is an entertaining way to pass the time, but please PLEASE don't take half the things in this book for fact. It just simply is not.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Much Better Than Movie

    If you've seen the movie - you must read the book. I saw the movie first and it struck my curiousity due to how it ended and the characters remaining - didn't realize the lineage of Elizabeth I - The Virgin Queen. So I picked out several books by Gregory and read The Constant Princess first, followed by The Other Boleyn Girl.<BR/>Gregory is a great writer and you get a manner of s history lesson without feeling like you're reading a text book. Amazing what families did and put their loved one's through to gain favor with royalty - makes you thankful to be a woman in today's society.<BR/><BR/>Consider this a GREAT read and can not wait to read more from Gregory

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    MORE FICTION THAN HISTORY

    I love history, so historical fiction is a passion of mine. It just so happens that i am fascinated with king henry viii... And anne boleyn. I found this book well written, but i was disappointed on her lack of historical facts. Mary was not the younger sister... Phillipa portrays mary as this sweet, naive, girl... But history knows that she is known as the 'english mare' to king francis, and was passed along to more that one nobleman. I personally found distain in her portrayal of anne, almost as if she had a personal piff against her. Anne was as much a victim of her father's scheming as mary was. But mary came out alive after her family was excecuted. I was not too thrilled with this book... If you know the real story of the boleyn's, andlove true history... You will be disappointed

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Made my top ten!

    A taste - no, a mouthfull of everything one would want from a historical romance. Couldn't wait to get home & continue reading. Finished in 4 days. This was my first Phillipa Gregory novel but, certainly not the last!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    Good read, but. . .

    This is the first book that I read regarding Tudor England. When I first read it, I loved it, and I still think it was an amazing piece of fiction. It definitely got me interested in the period and the characters. But as I started my own research and reading other books on the subject, I began to feel as though I had been misled. . .She actually gets a lot of her facts wrong. And I know that this is just a pitfall of historical fiction, but she was heavily biased. Ann came out looking like a horrible person, and Katherine of Aragon and her daughter Mary saints. I feel like this is an unfair portrayal of the characters, especially since later in her life Mary came to be known as Bloody Mary!!! I liked it and I would recommend it, but only if you know going into it that you are reading more fiction than history.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    An interesting but disappointing novel of the Boleyns

    'The Other Boleyn Girl' was a engrossing novel but went overboard on literary license. Marry was not married at the age of twelve, she was Anne's older sister, and Anne was nowhere near the witch (though she was no saint) that she is portrayed as in this novel. The whole incest scandal was way overplayed. Most modern people dismiss the adultery/incest charges against Anne as entirely Henry's invention. Anne was not stupid. Even if she were crazy enough to commit adultery, don't you think she could find a slightly more suitable candidate than her own brother??? If the adultery charges were true, then she'd obviously found four other 'worthy' men. Even the author admits that the whole homosexual scandal was gotten from one author's thesis! This book seemed hell-bent on making Anne Boleyn look like the Queen of the Damned, the most selfish and vile and sinful thing ever to walk the earth!!! It scooped up all the nastiest gossip about her, presented it as fact, and included some rather nasty unrequired sex-talk scenes into the bargain. I do, however, applaud the seemingly accurate description of Katherine of Aragon. ~Pilar P.S. For the woman who watched 'Elizabeth' to get more historical information, you couldn't have picked a more historically inaccurate movie. Read Antonia Frasier or Alison Weir.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Come on guys, it's a novel. Where does it say that it's historic

    Come on guys, it's a novel. Where does it say that it's historical facts that should be taken as such? It's a STORY, a work of fiction, and the author does a terrific job with it. If you want history, go find a textbook. This is an amazing novel, regardless of how &quot;inaccurate&quot; it is.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    Horrible twisting of facts..........

    Let's start by saying I cannot believe that they actually made a movie about this piece of garbage! Why they would not choose to make a film about history on actual historic events is beyond me. I have considerable knowledge on the subject of Tudor England, and this book does not even come close to a shred of accuracy! I don't understand how the author could get something like their ages incorrect! Obviously she did no research for this book, and it shows in her poor rendition of true events. I would not recommend this book to anyone! It really makes me angry that so many inconsistencies existed in this book. I wanted to like it, I really did. It fell critically short on anything that would make a good historical novel.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2002

    Other Boleyn Girl

    An extremely interesting setup, the love-hate relationship between two sisters. However, the repetition of the 'court-is-a-sham-must-perform-intricate-court-dance-to-further-ambition idea got old fast. It's like, if you hate court that much then just...I don't know....leave? Besides, the way rumors widely believed to be untrue were presented as fact is maddening to someone who KNOWS the facts. Good historical fiction teaches you about the period it is set in. TOBG just informed you of the gossip and scandals of that period. Overall, this book seemed designed to make a sensation and not to instill people with a interest and curiosity in the true Tudor period

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Great fiction novel based on historical people but not a historical novel

    It's a great book. It's intresting and gets people into researching the tudor era. I feel like the people who read this novel expecting it to be a correct reflection on history also watched titantic thinking Jack and rose are real people

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Left me fustrated

    For the most part enjoyed reading this book, but it left me really fustrated with the parts of history that the author took creative licencing on. There were many times that I had to put the book down because my fustrations stopped me from actually enjoying the book. The first big thing is that Mary was not younger than Anne, and the flubs in history just keep going from there. Be advised if you know a lot about Tudor history, you may have to turn your historical brain off at times durring the book. If you are looking for a mindless book to read give it a try, but be warned that it's not overly historical. If you are looking for something that is a bit more historically accurate try reading "The Last Bolyen".

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    a MUST read!

    People normally think that history is not very interesting and quite dull, I was once one of those people, but after I read this book I became fascinated with history. This book shows a side of history we are not normally prone to see. The lies and betrayal that come side by side to power are incredible. Henry VII, an English king was happily married to his beautiful Spanish wife Catherine of Aragon, who unfortunately, could not give Henry the thing he most yearned for and needed...an heir to the throne, a son. This is where the Boleyn family enters . The handsome and fickle king immediately had his eyes on the beautiful Mary Boleyn, awestruck that a king wanted her, Mary fell in love and became the King's mistress. Only to find out later that her family had planned this all along, she was to give birth to a Tudor son. But what about the other Boleyn girl, Anne? Tired of being under her sisiter's shadow, she decides it's her time in the spotlight. This strong-willed brunnete takes over in one of the greatest courts in all the world. This book shows us the power that women have over men, even the most greedy, self-centered ones and the astonishing things a woman will do to get to the top, even sidestep her own flesh and blood. This book immerses you in a life full of drama, betrayal, sex and lies, a courtier's life. The Other Boleyn Girl will keep you flipping the pages untiil you finish, ignoring everything else altogether. The characters will make you love them or they will make you want to throw the book at a wall, but keep on reading, it's worth it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    Curious about the Boleyns? Don't start here.

    Phillipa Gregory has a knack for drawing you in with her histrionics, but that's about it. Actually, I did read the book in just two days -- not just because her overdramatic style drew me in against my will (drat!), however, but because she writes as if her target audience has a sixth-grade reading level. The 500-something pages in big type, bad writing and simpleton wording merely flew by. Gregory really ought to stress that her novels are much, much more than filling in the conversation to historically known facts. Instead she passes her (very, very) vividly-imagined goings-on as something that might be worth considering as a truthful possibility. This tripe was more overwrought, soap-opera-esque dramatic flailings than actual history. It is unnecessary and ruinous, as this period in history was borderline unbelievable by itself. She made a joke of it all, and makes a joke of all historic fiction by association. I am sorely disappointed this rendition was chosn to be presented to the public in movie form. I'm sad at the misconceptions that will abound as a result. If you want an excellent read about the Boleyn girls (from Mary's point of view), that pays more attention to detail and is more intelligently written, pick up a copy of 'The Last Boleyn'. Better historical fiction authors are Jean Plaidy / Victoria Holt, and Margaret George.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    What's All The Fuss About?

    Why is it that so many people love this book? I am an avid fan of the Tudors and I found this book totally inaccurate. I found that the content of the book messed up historical facts in order to make Mary more likable and to make Anne Boleyn seem like an evil witch. She was not! Anne could be vindictive and cruel, but she had her good side. She was interested in charity, she was intelligent, and I simply find her to be someone born in the wrong era. Anne was outspoken about her ideas and the public back then didn't like women who had their own minds. Let's also not forget that Henry initiated his relationship with Anne. I also had trouble with the author's prose, which was more romance novel than literature and Mary just wasn't belivable as a narrator to me. If you like heavy literature, don't buy this book!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    Eh?

    I honestly don't understand why people like this book. I thought it was trashily written and melodramatic, and it is absurdly historically inaccurate.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Amazing

    I don't want to place any spoilers but this was Mary's side of the story. You can feel what she could feel. Most amazing story ever. 5 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Fabulous book!

    When I started this book, I could not put it down. It was captivating from the 1st page to the last. What an unbelievable story of ambition, manipulation & greed. This book was just fabulous. Kind of lost now that I finished it. She is a fantastic author, love all her books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Compelling

    This book is a very compelling historical fiction containing very vivid descriptions of life as a royal.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    I'm beginning to wonder if the people who wrote bad reviews for

    I'm beginning to wonder if the people who wrote bad reviews for this book kept an open mind while reading it, or if they even enjoy the time period? But I can honesestly say as a young woman obsessed with this time era, this book was not a let down whatsoever.
    Gregory takes a character who was in the shadows, and breathes so much life into her you feel as if she is your dearest friend, or you even see much of her in yourself as I did. The thing that I love about this book is that she takes a woman who lives in a time where women truly are a pawn in their family, and she took her life into her own hands. Mary Boleyn battles through one of England's most exciting times, somehow being in the very midst of it, and she comes out on top.
    You can't deny rooting for Mary at some many parts in this book and then even for Anne, who is portrayed very much so as history believes she was, but you start to feel sympathy for her and realize she has less control over her life than you believed. The thing that you remember at some point in this novel is that these are women (for me who are my age), only 20s, and they have the whole fortune of the family upon them. Makes you truly wonder.
    Like I said though, this is my favorite book, It's the book I will literally pick up and start reading anywhere. I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1236 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 62