Customer Reviews for

The Other Boleyn Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 1229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(843)

4 Star

(255)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down.

If this era fascinates you, then you will find this book one you will not want to put down. I enjoyed the fact that it was based around Mary Boelyn, even after the king began to favor Ann. Although, a story based on Ann Boelyn's point of view would also be very intrig...
If this era fascinates you, then you will find this book one you will not want to put down. I enjoyed the fact that it was based around Mary Boelyn, even after the king began to favor Ann. Although, a story based on Ann Boelyn's point of view would also be very intriguing. This is the first book I've read by Philippa Gregory and I'm excited to read more!

I would also like to add, please don't read this book if you are trying to learn some hard facts. Don't review this book and give it one star just because it's not written like a history book. That's why it's under the fiction section! It's mean't to be entertaining and fun and actually makes your imagination wheels spin rather than just feeding facts to mindless readers. :) Happy reading.

posted by moodswiings on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Oh dear....ya....not much more to say.

Two questions:Entertaining? Yes, it was. Turthful? Not in the least! I've spent next to a quarter of my life studying the Tudors, and I assure you that there are several, plot changing, dire mistakes in this book, which could only have come about by the Author's 1)sheer...
Two questions:Entertaining? Yes, it was. Turthful? Not in the least! I've spent next to a quarter of my life studying the Tudors, and I assure you that there are several, plot changing, dire mistakes in this book, which could only have come about by the Author's 1)sheer ignorance, or 2)inability to care. You want to read this, then I say go for it. It is an entertaining way to pass the time, but please PLEASE don't take half the things in this book for fact. It just simply is not.

posted by Anonymous on June 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    Oh dear....ya....not much more to say.

    Two questions:Entertaining? Yes, it was. Turthful? Not in the least! I've spent next to a quarter of my life studying the Tudors, and I assure you that there are several, plot changing, dire mistakes in this book, which could only have come about by the Author's 1)sheer ignorance, or 2)inability to care. You want to read this, then I say go for it. It is an entertaining way to pass the time, but please PLEASE don't take half the things in this book for fact. It just simply is not.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    liked the book, but very historically inaccurate. For one thing,

    liked the book, but very historically inaccurate. For one thing, there is absolutely no evidence that Anne a) was violent b) slept with Henry Percy c) jealous of Mary d) as arrogant and cruel to that extent. 
    Honestly, I thought the entire novel was tipped to Mary's favour, as if it was Anne who was a slut, that was actually Mary, as if Anne was the unfavoured sister, who I think was Mary, mainly based on the fat that she was known famously as the "King's whore" (referring to both the French and English King, as she was both of their mistresses, just at different times of course) and as if Anne was the cunning, evil sister, as I think it was actually Mary who seemed to be more desperate (hence why she slept with two king and had 2 husbands. Also, she seems to be unfavoured as she was known to be unintelligent, not as breathtaking, not as funny and not as witty as Anne was.

    By all means, read the book, its absorbing and interesting, but note that 60% of it is fake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Recommended

    The book, as most others, is much better than the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    So So

    This book is alright. I did like how Gregory told the story from Mary's point of veiw, but I didn't like how innocent Gregory made Mary seem. The real story of Mary Boleyn is that she was a ho and slept around with everyone. That's the only thing I did not like about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    The Other Boleyn Girl is an alluring tale of two sisters' rivalry and the Boleyn ambition to climb the social ladder to become royalty.

    It's a historical fiction story about the sister of Anne Boleyn, the second wife of King Henry VIII. Mary, a young girl who has already been married off to an older man, is shocked when the king suddenly takes interest in her. Her family quickly notices and orders her to put her marriage on hold to pursue the king. Mary soon becomes his mistress and bores him two children. When her sister arrives home from France however, the king's interest suddenly shifts to Anne. They begin to compete, but Mary, knowing she can never outshine her seductive, witty sister soon loses interest and finds herself yearning for a simple country life with her children. Anne, needing assistance almost constantly, calls Mary back to be her lady-in-waiting time and time again. As rumors circle the court of Anne and her brother George, her life soon begins to crumble; Mary, as always, is there to help pick up the pieces when no one else will.
    The book, although very long, was very interesting.
    There were some points in the story I felt were a little drug out. It was great for people who like history. Because I happen to love history, I found this book charming and interesting. I soon found myself very fascinated about the history of the Boleyn's and King Henry VIII. I would recommend The Other Boleyn Girl to women ages 14-35.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    Pretty Good

    I started this novel with very high expectations, honestly it was just OK. Most historical romance novels are better: both the writing and the accuracy. Anne Boleyn seems almost one-dimensional in her ambition, but Mary is a great narrator. All in all, not a bad book, just not the greatest. I am looking forward to the movie though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2006

    A Slight Disappointment

    I was expecting this book to outstanding, but it was a little disappointing. I liked the main character, Mary Boleyn, and I liked how we got insight into how life may have been for Anne Boleyn. However, the author includes way too much detail...two, three pages in a row were full of unimportant detail. I couldn't bring myself to finish the last 50 pages because I couldn't stand the excess of detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    Hmmm...

    Although I enjoyed this book very much, it was hard for me to read it when I have already read more historically accurate books. Not that it wasn't a wonderful story but when your as hooked on Tudor history as me, you realize that the histoy accuracy not very good. But, if it doesn't bother you, read on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    long and well, long

    While the content of the book is interesting, it seemed a very long plot, very drawn out, riding in circles back and forth and back and forth. I don't think this has to do much with the actual content of the book, rather the way the author uses one solid way to express this and uses the same way over and over again. For me, easy to put down, and easy to pick up again. I don't think it has thriller status, but is, overall a book worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    Great intro to the Boleyn legacy

    I had always heard of Ann Boleyn, of course, but never knew much about her. This book was the perfect first step in learning more about her and her era. This book, though simply written, tells a great story about family politics, lust, and betrayal. Great read, though not very deep - but it definitely left me wanting more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    Mediocre historical fiction

    This is a book with a few brilliant moments, but it's basically a fairly plodding novel by an author who should have done a little more research. (And where was the editor?) It kept me amused while sitting up with insomnia, but I wouldn't recommend seeking it out. It would have been better if it was more about Mary Boleyn, and less about Anne whose characterization as a cardboard Queen of Witches is definitely a weak point. If this is supposed to be about Mary, why does it stop almost immediately after Anne's execution? George and Mary are more successfully developed. In particular, I liked Gregory's portrayal of Mary's ambivalence as she is torn between her genuine admiration and liking for Katharine of Aragon, her sincere attraction to Henry, and her family's ambitions. I don't know whether this is all historically accurate, but it is moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    A nice fiction...

    The story is interesting enough, but the way the writer portrayed Anne Boleyn was quite untrue. But there are some traces of sisterly love in this novel, and that is nice. But you'll want to finish reading this novel, it's good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2002

    Dubious but captivating

    If you have enough time on your hands, the 600+ page book goes by quickly. Maybe too quickly. Even though all subplots have been seen and brought to an end, you still get the feeling that you haven't seen all of it. And of course, you just want to smack both Mary and Anne for their sheer arrogance and stupidity. While the devoted yet quarrelling sister storyline gets old and unbelievable quickly, it truly flourishes when Mary comes to Anne's aid at Henry's court. There are several scenes that are absolutely and completely unbelievable (won't spoil it). But over all, it was a refreshing read on an overlooked historical woman who paved the way for the future Queen Anne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4