Customer Reviews for

The Other Boleyn Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 1235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(851)

4 Star

(254)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down.

If this era fascinates you, then you will find this book one you will not want to put down. I enjoyed the fact that it was based around Mary Boelyn, even after the king began to favor Ann. Although, a story based on Ann Boelyn's point of view would also be very intrig...
If this era fascinates you, then you will find this book one you will not want to put down. I enjoyed the fact that it was based around Mary Boelyn, even after the king began to favor Ann. Although, a story based on Ann Boelyn's point of view would also be very intriguing. This is the first book I've read by Philippa Gregory and I'm excited to read more!

I would also like to add, please don't read this book if you are trying to learn some hard facts. Don't review this book and give it one star just because it's not written like a history book. That's why it's under the fiction section! It's mean't to be entertaining and fun and actually makes your imagination wheels spin rather than just feeding facts to mindless readers. :) Happy reading.

posted by moodswiings on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Oh dear....ya....not much more to say.

Two questions:Entertaining? Yes, it was. Turthful? Not in the least! I've spent next to a quarter of my life studying the Tudors, and I assure you that there are several, plot changing, dire mistakes in this book, which could only have come about by the Author's 1)sheer...
Two questions:Entertaining? Yes, it was. Turthful? Not in the least! I've spent next to a quarter of my life studying the Tudors, and I assure you that there are several, plot changing, dire mistakes in this book, which could only have come about by the Author's 1)sheer ignorance, or 2)inability to care. You want to read this, then I say go for it. It is an entertaining way to pass the time, but please PLEASE don't take half the things in this book for fact. It just simply is not.

posted by Anonymous on June 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down.

    If this era fascinates you, then you will find this book one you will not want to put down. I enjoyed the fact that it was based around Mary Boelyn, even after the king began to favor Ann. Although, a story based on Ann Boelyn's point of view would also be very intriguing. This is the first book I've read by Philippa Gregory and I'm excited to read more!

    I would also like to add, please don't read this book if you are trying to learn some hard facts. Don't review this book and give it one star just because it's not written like a history book. That's why it's under the fiction section! It's mean't to be entertaining and fun and actually makes your imagination wheels spin rather than just feeding facts to mindless readers. :) Happy reading.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Interesting

    Not many people can make historical fiction truly captivating, but this held my attention from start to finish. You will be both enthralled and repulsed by the excesses of Henry VIII's court and wonder how such a time could have existed. At times I found myself disliking the protagonist Mary Boleyn because constantly refuses to stand up for herself and the demands of her family. However, I think it added an interesting depth to her character and it makes you consider the time period and her circumstances more fully. At times it was slow, but it actually picked up for me near the middle because I found the annulment of Katherine's marriage and the history of the shift to the Anglican church so interesting. Worth reading especially if you are interested in this time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    The Other Boulin Girl

    Great historical Fiction. fiction based loosely around facts, people. Fiction. And good fction at that. Was a pleasure to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    This book really isn't accurate butbthis is fiction people. If you are looking for a book to get lost in. Buy this one you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Definitely Fiction

    It is interesting to see Anne Boleyn's tragic marriage thru her sister's eyes, but it feels more fiction than fact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Nook friends

    Any one want to be nook friends with me? Reply to nook friends and tell me your email...i want some friends please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    P Yellowrose

    Very interesting and informative.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Wonderful read!

    A historical fiction about the rise and fall of the Boleyn girls in Henry the VII's court. A look into the workings of Tudor court and how the lack of a male heir through the entire future of Henry's kingdom into peril. Very fascinating read brought to life by Mary Boleyn's narration. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Awesome book

    Great story - transports you right into the story. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Great book

    I had borrowed this from a friend and loved it. I bought this to have in my collection. I love phillipa's writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Great read

    This book is highly interesting, and pretty well writted... although sometimes the authors voice was subtle to the point of being overlooked by, say, a grammar nazi like myself. I will say, though, that at times the scenes were a bit hollywood for suck subject matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    The rivalry of two sisters for the King of England

    This book is an absolute page-turner. Even though the story spans a good number of years; I never once found the storyline to be choppy or missing something. Although, there were some nasty bits of the story which I blacked out with a pen because it was information that I did not care to know. Other than that, the story was good and I liked it a little more than the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Good

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted March 21, 2011

    now here is a book to carry the day

    Philippa Gregory is at the top of her form here...involving bith Ann Boleyn, her sister and the infamous Henry VIII...great feel for personalities, period mood and history

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    A Great read!

    Very enjoyable, so much more than the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    I couldn't put it down

    l kept reading late into the night wondering and worrying what was going to happen to Mary and her children. Can't wait to read the other books by Philippa Gregory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Entertaining...

    If you saw the movie, promptly forget that garbage and read the book! It's much more historically accurate regarding the events, people, and chronology and it offers some very creative character sketches of what Anne, Henry, and Katherine of Aragon might have been like and the conversations they might have had. A very thoroughly researched and entertaining historical fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    Drama, passion, intrigue and bodice ripping!

    This is one book you cant put down. One that makes me happy to live in a modern world, a place where a woman is not sold to the highest bidder only to find she is alone in the world! Gregory does a brilliant job of juxtaposing Anne and Mary Boleyn, two sisters 'born to be rivals' This book will take everything you thought you knew about Tudor England and turn it upside down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    loved this!

    I couldn't put this book down. The only thing I wasn't happy with was the ending seemed cut too short, but Philippa Gregory has a few more books chronicling what happens to the Boleyn/Howard family in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    amazing

    this book is very intereiging and it made me want to keep reading.i highly reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13