Customer Reviews for

The Other Boleyn Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 1229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(843)

4 Star

(255)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down.

If this era fascinates you, then you will find this book one you will not want to put down. I enjoyed the fact that it was based around Mary Boelyn, even after the king began to favor Ann. Although, a story based on Ann Boelyn's point of view would also be very intrig...
If this era fascinates you, then you will find this book one you will not want to put down. I enjoyed the fact that it was based around Mary Boelyn, even after the king began to favor Ann. Although, a story based on Ann Boelyn's point of view would also be very intriguing. This is the first book I've read by Philippa Gregory and I'm excited to read more!

I would also like to add, please don't read this book if you are trying to learn some hard facts. Don't review this book and give it one star just because it's not written like a history book. That's why it's under the fiction section! It's mean't to be entertaining and fun and actually makes your imagination wheels spin rather than just feeding facts to mindless readers. :) Happy reading.

posted by moodswiings on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Oh dear....ya....not much more to say.

Two questions:Entertaining? Yes, it was. Turthful? Not in the least! I've spent next to a quarter of my life studying the Tudors, and I assure you that there are several, plot changing, dire mistakes in this book, which could only have come about by the Author's 1)sheer...
Two questions:Entertaining? Yes, it was. Turthful? Not in the least! I've spent next to a quarter of my life studying the Tudors, and I assure you that there are several, plot changing, dire mistakes in this book, which could only have come about by the Author's 1)sheer ignorance, or 2)inability to care. You want to read this, then I say go for it. It is an entertaining way to pass the time, but please PLEASE don't take half the things in this book for fact. It just simply is not.

posted by Anonymous on June 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 255 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    amazing

    this book is very intereiging and it made me want to keep reading.i highly reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    If you've seen the movie...

    If you saw the movie, you really need to read the book and then watch again. There's a reason Scarlett Johanssen had th book with her on set when filming! Gregory does a fantastic job of mixing true history with fantasy. This is perhaps one of my favorites of her books, even before it was made into a film. She captures the dramatics and sacrifice of court life very well, and has wonderful character development. It's full of romance, but definitely not one of those soppy romance novels that makes one want to vomit. I would recommend this to anyone who is either interested in British history or is looking for a different sort of romance novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Education...In A Good Way

    I read this book because my friend, Mandy, told me that it was awesome. Plus, the movie is coming out at the end of the month and we all want to go see it, those of us who have read it. I was wonderfully ignorant as to the story of Anne Boleyn. This was nice because I had no idea about who she was, who she married or who she birthed. Needless to say, I got a real education. This book was everything: great characters, great history and terrible family dynamics. I highly recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Other Boleyn Girl - Good Read

    A good read from Gregory. I liked her writing story and how she protrayed the story from Mary Boleyn, a not widely known person. Some things were a bit annoying, such as this being historical fiction, so some things are not true and/or were overreached with some events. But it's a fun read to see what might have gone through the minds of those at court with Henry the 8th, and what the infamous Anne Boleyn was probably like. I suggest it, more than the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    Fun!

    The familiar story of Anne Boleyn is told by Phillipa Gregory in an engaging new light, the perspective of Boleyn's sister. I found it a very enjoyable book that may be difficult to put down in the middle of the night when you've already read too long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Much better than the movie!

    After seeing that the movie was based on Philippa Gregory's book, I decided to read the book since I thought the movie was pretty good... There is so much story between Anne, Mary and George that cannot be squeezed into a 2 hour movie that just makes the book a great read. Most people generally know the story of Anne Boleyn, but Ms. Gregory has done such great character developement that you can feel yourself in the scenes of the book watching as the events happen and hearing how the characters respond to each other. The relationship between Anne and Mary is one that I think many with sisters or siblings they rival with can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    IT was a good book

    Its good for fiction but bad for HISTORICAL fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THE OTHER BOLEYN GIRL

    Having been on an 'anything Tudor' kick lately, I decided it was finally time to remove this book from my wish list and give it a go. I'm certainly glad I did...it was very entertaining, yet at the same time, a bit exhausting. The Boleyn family's never-ending pursuit of Henry was riveting and tiresome all at the same time. Even though I of course knew how the story ended, I too was ready to rid myself of Anne, and I could absolutely understand Henry's need to be done with her...for good. I had zero sympathy for her considering all the terrible things she did to others on the road to becoming the Queen.
    Now, as far as Mary goes, I really liked her. She did everything she was told to do, but managed to keep her heart, soul, and compassion for others...very unlike her sister who would plow over anyone who stood in her way. Mary was a breath of fresh air to Anne's heavy and turbulent personality.
    Overall, I really enjoyed the book. I do think that it could have been trimmed down about 100-150 pages though. While vivid descriptions of scenery and clothing are a very good thing, some things just went on and on. In the end I would absolutely recommend this book as well as read another Philippa Gregory novel. In fact, I've already added a few of them to my wishlist. She's a very talented author and has managed to put an interesting spin on a story that's been told many, many times before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Lesson to be Learned

    Alittle too smutty for my taste. But, as always, Gregory brings her subjects to life and a lesson is always learned by the heroine at the end. She's a good writer, one of the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    This was a great read to the end. I enjoy this time period and read the book in just a couple of days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    betrayal

    The Other Boleyn Girl is a very good book. It is a lengthy book but once I get started, I couldn't put it down. It is a story about two sisters getting the attention of the King of England and everything that goes along with it. It is very interesting because you learn of the story of what when on during that time, while also learning about history and important events. It shows what family members will do to get everything they need and will betray (which is a big part of the story) their own blood. Anne Boleyn marries the king and becomes the queen while her sister was carrying the king's child. It is shocking to see what she does and to see how the story ends. Overall, it was a great book and I am reading the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    Long but great plot

    Throughly enjoyed how the historic part of the book was woven with the fictional part. By incorporating plausable emotions and thoughts into the plot, Gregory was able to match the real life characters with their political goals.
    It is definatley not a "quick read", and at times I found myself skipping paragraphs to get back to the main plot.
    I do wonder though, was Mary really that slow to understand what was going on? That was a little hard to believe....but made for a great character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    A Very Good Read

    I read this book over the christmas holidays, and it was captivating from the beginning. I wore my emotions on my sleeves while reading this book. There were moments when I was upset, and moments when I was happy. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    I enjoyed escaping into the world of the Boleyn sisters and their never ending rivalries. I found it shocking and exciting all at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh the scandal!!

    The Other Boleyn Girl is the story of the rise and fall of Henry VIII's second wife Anne Boleyn. The book is told from her sister Mary's point of view. I found this book to be a lot of fun and so full of scandal. It is crazy how far people will go to get in the king's favor. Anne would not give up until she became queen, it was because of that that when she went down she went down hard. I think that Mary and Anne's brother George was my favorite character in the book. It was interesting to see the story from Mary's point of view. She was the other Boleyn girl the one who had two children from the king then was thrown aside for her sister, Anne. You wonder how patrial her telling really was. I would have liked to be in Anne's head and see how she was really feeling on the inside through all the drama. She came off as an evil person, I wonder if she felt bad when she did all those horrible things. This book made me very interested in Henry VIII and I plan on reading The six wives of Henry VIII, along with Philippa Gregory's other books. If you want to read a scandolous book where people lie, cheat, and do anything and everything to get ahead then this book is for you. Read a part of history however loosely based, its a lot of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A pleasurable historical read...

    I've always enjoyed historical literature, and Philippa Gregory's account of the Tudors is really good. This is the first book I've read of Gregory, and I enjoyed how she related the account from Mary Boleyn's viewpoint. I liked how the author mixed scandal, greed, intrigue, romance and familial devotion in one story. It was very well written and it kept me interested. It was much better than the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    Better than I expected

    I thought this was a GREAT read. I don't usually read books like these but it was an awesome story that kept me engaged from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Romance in History

    I'll preface my review by saying I'm fascinated with all things Tudor. I even participate in a Tudor period Harry Potter RPG, which is as geeky as it gets but incredibly fun. Anyway. I really enjoyed Philippa Gregory's representation of the rise and fall of Anne Boleyn, told through the eyes of her sister, Mary. While it's not incredibly historically accurate in the fine details, in the broader depiction of events, she gets it right.<BR/><BR/>The story is narrated by Mary Boleyn, a fairly young teen at the outset. She catches Henry VII's eye, and you can imagine how things proceed from there. After a few years and two children, as Mary is tiring of court intrigue and being a pawn in her family's quest for power and influence, her older sister Anne becomes the object of Henry's fickle affections. History tells us what results, but Gregory gives us an insider's view of Anne's struggle to maintain Henry's interest and affection while he, in turn, struggles to change a religion in order to claim absolute power. We are also given an insider's view of the scheming Boleyn family; the reader is privy to George Boleyn's unhappy marriage to gossipy Jane Parker, Mary's forbidden romance with a man in her uncle's employ, and Anne's increasing desperation to bear the king a son. The book is a delicious mix of soap opera romance and historical detail, and it kept me turning the pages despite knowing how it all turns out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    A history fanatic

    I'm in love with this book! I've read it over and over and over again! This book makes you really happy for what you have, and it made me appreciate my family even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    A real page-turner, but...

    I enjoyed this book immensely, and I understood from the beginning that it was fiction. It was a fun behind-the-scenes look at court life in the days of Henry VIII. This may be nit-picking, but was anyone else bothered by the rampant run-on sentences and other grammatical errors (e.g. the misuse of lie and lay)? The run-on sentences really drove me crazy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 255 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13