Customer Reviews for

The Other Mr. Darcy

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

"Mean girl" Caroline Bingley gets a makeover and a romance

The Other Mr. Darcy is a new Pride and Prejudice sequel with a unique premise. Spotlight Caroline Bingley, a minor character who we all loved to hate in the original novel, and somehow make her into a likeable heroine. Impossible you say! And so it would seem. Add into ...
The Other Mr. Darcy is a new Pride and Prejudice sequel with a unique premise. Spotlight Caroline Bingley, a minor character who we all loved to hate in the original novel, and somehow make her into a likeable heroine. Impossible you say! And so it would seem. Add into the mix Robert Darcy, the unconventional American cousin of Mr. Darcy, and you have an intriguing concept that could challenge the most accomplished writer. Let's hope author Monica Fairview's fairy godmother mojo is stronger than Caroline's predilection to snark.

After attending the marriage of Fitzwilliam Darcy to Elizabeth Bennet, the distraught Caroline Bingley uncharacteristic breaks down. Unbeknownst to her, she has a witness to her emotional outburst, Robert Darcy, Mr. Darcy's American cousin. Shocked and embarrassed to be seen in such a state, their first meeting gets off to a very bad start. When they meet again a year later, Caroline is horrified to see him. Will he keep her secret, or use it against her? As they travel together from Hertfordshire to Derbyshire, complications delay their journey in Nottingham and their party takes refuge at a local estate. While there, Caroline will receive two surprising marriage proposals. One from Colonel Fitzwilliam who she suspects is motivated by her dowry, and the second by the last man in world she would be prevailed upon to marry, Robert Darcy. To save her honor, he has gallantly stepped forward offering a fake proposal to quell rumors of her engagement to the wealthy and distinguished Sir Cecil Rynes, the one man she truly aspires to marry. Dumbfounded and numb with shock, the proper Caroline has no choice but to temporarily play along with the scheme to save her own reputation. Also included in the ensemble are many familiar characters from the original novel: The Bennet's, the Bingley's, Louisa Hurst, Lydia Wickham, and of course Mr. and Mrs. Darcy, all ready to offer help or hindrance to the couple.

Cleverly crafted and humorously engaging, The Other Mr. Darcy will delight Austen fans as they travel with Caroline Bingley on a journey of self discovery to Pemberley and her heart. Monica Fairview is a skilled storyteller, creatively continuing Jane Austen's characters, presenting a captivating but un-haughty version of the iconic Mr. Darcy in his American cousin Robert Darcy, and a Caroline Bingley who clings to her structured propriety sparking brisk repartees between them. Surprisingly, this Caroline has evolved beyond that snobby and gossipy "mean girl" that we remember in the original. I did not object to her change in attitude, but I think it would have been a tad more interesting if Caroline was that "mean girl" at the beginning, and grew away from it with new experiences. Despite this small quibble, I commend Monica Fairview for waving her magic wand and cleverly transforming Caroline Bingley into a human being worth knowing!

Laurel Ann, Austenprose

posted by Laurel_Ann on September 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Review of The Other Mr. Darcy

I should have known better. Honestly, I don't know what came over me when I requested this book. If you are anything like me though, Mr. Darcy and anything connected with him holds this fascination grip over you and it's impossible to resist.

So I didn't resist. Now,...
I should have known better. Honestly, I don't know what came over me when I requested this book. If you are anything like me though, Mr. Darcy and anything connected with him holds this fascination grip over you and it's impossible to resist.

So I didn't resist. Now, don't get me wrong - Monica Fairview did a decent job of writing and preserved most of the spirit of the characters in Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. Eliza was a sassy as always, Lydia as silly as always and Mary as pious. Mr. Darcy came off as harsh, unforgiving to others and completely indulgent toward his wife. The character I had the most issue with was one of the main ones, Caroline Bingley.

I thoroughly detested Caroline in P&P so I was curious as to how I would react to seeing a more softer side of her. What I got was a character full of contradictions. At one moment she seemed to be Austen's Caroline and at the next Monica's. And the two didn't mesh well and it made for much confusion and an unclear picture of who this character really is supposed to be.

As for the rest of the story, it was predictable. A typical romance, mysteries that were easily seen through and nothing that really reached through and touched me - but again, this isn't Austen here.. it's a knock-off using the same characters and I couldn't expect more from it.

Honestly, I was a bit bored and really struggled with lack of desire to pick up the book and continue reading, even though it was easy to read. But for a book like it's supposed to be, it's good. Just not my cup of tea

posted by Benz1966 on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Mean girl" Caroline Bingley gets a makeover and a romance

    The Other Mr. Darcy is a new Pride and Prejudice sequel with a unique premise. Spotlight Caroline Bingley, a minor character who we all loved to hate in the original novel, and somehow make her into a likeable heroine. Impossible you say! And so it would seem. Add into the mix Robert Darcy, the unconventional American cousin of Mr. Darcy, and you have an intriguing concept that could challenge the most accomplished writer. Let's hope author Monica Fairview's fairy godmother mojo is stronger than Caroline's predilection to snark.

    After attending the marriage of Fitzwilliam Darcy to Elizabeth Bennet, the distraught Caroline Bingley uncharacteristic breaks down. Unbeknownst to her, she has a witness to her emotional outburst, Robert Darcy, Mr. Darcy's American cousin. Shocked and embarrassed to be seen in such a state, their first meeting gets off to a very bad start. When they meet again a year later, Caroline is horrified to see him. Will he keep her secret, or use it against her? As they travel together from Hertfordshire to Derbyshire, complications delay their journey in Nottingham and their party takes refuge at a local estate. While there, Caroline will receive two surprising marriage proposals. One from Colonel Fitzwilliam who she suspects is motivated by her dowry, and the second by the last man in world she would be prevailed upon to marry, Robert Darcy. To save her honor, he has gallantly stepped forward offering a fake proposal to quell rumors of her engagement to the wealthy and distinguished Sir Cecil Rynes, the one man she truly aspires to marry. Dumbfounded and numb with shock, the proper Caroline has no choice but to temporarily play along with the scheme to save her own reputation. Also included in the ensemble are many familiar characters from the original novel: The Bennet's, the Bingley's, Louisa Hurst, Lydia Wickham, and of course Mr. and Mrs. Darcy, all ready to offer help or hindrance to the couple.

    Cleverly crafted and humorously engaging, The Other Mr. Darcy will delight Austen fans as they travel with Caroline Bingley on a journey of self discovery to Pemberley and her heart. Monica Fairview is a skilled storyteller, creatively continuing Jane Austen's characters, presenting a captivating but un-haughty version of the iconic Mr. Darcy in his American cousin Robert Darcy, and a Caroline Bingley who clings to her structured propriety sparking brisk repartees between them. Surprisingly, this Caroline has evolved beyond that snobby and gossipy "mean girl" that we remember in the original. I did not object to her change in attitude, but I think it would have been a tad more interesting if Caroline was that "mean girl" at the beginning, and grew away from it with new experiences. Despite this small quibble, I commend Monica Fairview for waving her magic wand and cleverly transforming Caroline Bingley into a human being worth knowing!

    Laurel Ann, Austenprose

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review of The Other Mr. Darcy

    I should have known better. Honestly, I don't know what came over me when I requested this book. If you are anything like me though, Mr. Darcy and anything connected with him holds this fascination grip over you and it's impossible to resist.

    So I didn't resist. Now, don't get me wrong - Monica Fairview did a decent job of writing and preserved most of the spirit of the characters in Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. Eliza was a sassy as always, Lydia as silly as always and Mary as pious. Mr. Darcy came off as harsh, unforgiving to others and completely indulgent toward his wife. The character I had the most issue with was one of the main ones, Caroline Bingley.

    I thoroughly detested Caroline in P&P so I was curious as to how I would react to seeing a more softer side of her. What I got was a character full of contradictions. At one moment she seemed to be Austen's Caroline and at the next Monica's. And the two didn't mesh well and it made for much confusion and an unclear picture of who this character really is supposed to be.

    As for the rest of the story, it was predictable. A typical romance, mysteries that were easily seen through and nothing that really reached through and touched me - but again, this isn't Austen here.. it's a knock-off using the same characters and I couldn't expect more from it.

    Honestly, I was a bit bored and really struggled with lack of desire to pick up the book and continue reading, even though it was easy to read. But for a book like it's supposed to be, it's good. Just not my cup of tea

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Darcy

    How very pleasant to have another great Darcy. I could not believe I could really like another "Darcy" but I found I liked this one too and wanted Caroline Bingley to be happy. Wonderful book from beginning to end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    Brilliant story 

    Brilliant story 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I may be in the minority, but I like it when Caroline gets her h

    I may be in the minority, but I like it when Caroline gets her happy ending. She is such a miserable person in P&P. I really enjoyed this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Other than my slight issues with how Mr. Darcy (the original) an

    Other than my slight issues with how Mr. Darcy (the original) and Lizzie were portrayed, I still found this to be an entertaining novel. It was a nice spin to see a different side of Caroline Bingley and her life after Darcy and Lizzie's marriage. Robert Darcy was a fresh of breath air compared to the normal rigid way of English life, and it made for an interesting story to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Okay if you're a die hard Jane Austen fan and particularly a fan

    Okay if you're a die hard Jane Austen fan and particularly a fan of Pride and Prejudice you may not like this book. I too have read P&P MANY times and was not expecting to like this book very much, however, going in with the expectation that it would likely not be much like the original seemed to help quite a bit.

    The author takes a lot of liberties with the original characters and it seems like the only ones who haven't changed much are Mary Bennet, Lydia Wickham, Mrs. Bennet, and Mr. Bennet. I was quite skeptical about having Caroline being the leading lady of this book and given how much I hated her in P&P I was expecting to not be rooting for her like I was for Lizzie. Somehow I got over that really fast and it likely had to do with the fact that her character was so altered it was nearly unrecognizable. After a while I started seeing the book as something new entirely only with names I recognized and could remember which made me more inclined to like it.

    I think the one major thing that got on my nerves at the beginning of the book was the fact that there were 3 Mr. Darcy's that you had to keep track of and most of the time they were all referred to Mr. Darcy interchangeably. So pay attention! Aside from that it was a good read. It thoroughly kept my interest throughout and I finished it over one weekend which is very fast for how busy I tend to get. I think that if you take it for what it is rather than what it's based off of you will enjoy it much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    AMAZING

    This book is amazing. Definitely would recommend this to anyone who loves Pride and Prejudice. I hope Monica Fairview writes more about the Darcy's. A modern day writing, which inspired my 15 year old daughter. Moncia, if you ever receive these reviews, please write more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    Will Caroline Bingley Find Romance?

    Calling fans of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. Have you wondered what happened to some of the other characters in that book besides Eliza and Jane? Well, then, you may like this book by Monica Fairview. The book begins with Caroline Bingley, weeping heartbrokenly on the day of the wedding of "her" Mr. Darcy to Elizabeth Bennet. To her chagrin, her outburst has been witnessed by a strange male. He turns out to be Robert Darcy,the cousin of Fitzwilliam, who has come from America for his cousin's wedding. Will Caroline find romance with him? Read and find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly Enjoyed "The Other Mr. Darcy"

    This book is a keeper in my library! I love anything dealing with Jane Austen novels and this one was truly a fun and enjoyable read! I totally recommend this to all fans of Jane Austen. I love the way Caroline Bingley finally gets a true love that will understand her stand-offish character.... & accept her for how she is and used to be... :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Other Mr. Darcy is another wonderful story

    The Other Mr. Darcy by Monica Fairview is a wonderful story about Mr. Darcy's American Cousin Robert Darcy. The book opens with Miss Bingley crying in the library at Darcy and Elizabeth's wedding. She is heartbroken as she truely loved Mr. Darcy. The entire scene is seen by Mr. Robert Darcy. He promises to keep her secret. As the story unfolds through a series of events Mr. Robert Darcy and Miss Bingley are thrown together and have to pretend to be engaged to save her reputation. I loved this book because you get to see different sides of Miss Bingley and I actually started to like her and understand why she was the way she was. Other favorites from P&P are in this book in smaller rolls, Fitzwilliam, the Bennets, even Lydia.

    Ms. Fairview did an excellent job giving us insite into Miss Bingley's character. Loved this book and can not wait to read more from this author. For those who love Darcy and Elizabeth, they only play very minor rolls, but I would highly recommend this book to anyone that loves Jane Austen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    Sweet Caroline

    Lovely story about a reformed Caroline Bingley who falls for Mr. Darcy's American cousin. If the author had shared Caroline's transition from witch to wonderful, this would have been five stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    A terrific read! The writer spent some time thinking about her characters and the plot. Nothing sappy about this book: Miss Asuten would be proud!

    I've read many of the P & P sequels and while I've enjoyed some I have not enjoyed many: I enjoyed this one and hope the writer isn't finished with her sequels. Her introduction of an American cousin of Mr. Darcy is very clever; her character development of Caroline Bingley is very good and very realistic; and her development of Mr. Darcy is really done well. I don't want to give too much away but if you really love Miss Austen and P &P you'll like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Closer look at Caroline Bingley

    Monica Fairview does a marvelous job in further developing the character of Caroline Bingley created by Jane Austen in Pride and Prejudice. I found the book to be fun, in that it has many of the characters from Pride and Prejudice, and the situations they found themselves in. I have set about to read ALL the sequels written of Pride and Prejudice, this one is very good, original, clean, and well written, I enjoyed it very much.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    another Jane Austen

    I so enjoy anything involved with Jane Austen - can't wait to finish reading this author's take on a continuation of "The Other Mr. Darcy."
    Had to purchase it from BN for my home library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Nice Caroline Bingley

    What happens to Caroline Bingley after Darcy marries Elizabeth? She meets up with his cousin, and the dance begins. This is a book you can get comfortable with right away. My one quibble with it is that we only see the new Caroline Bingley. The lady who enjoyed making Lizzy's life miserable is gone by the time the story starts. Even so, it's an enjoyable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1