Customer Reviews for

The Other Queen

Average Rating 3.5
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

If you want to learn history, this is the way.

Another Philippa book that I couldn't put down. I understood Bess' frustration. Her husband, George was a fool. Now I'm onto " The Constant Princess."

posted by penname96 on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

So disappointed after waiting so long!

Let me say first that I am a huge Philippa Gregory fan and generally love her work. This book however, was long and boring. The subject itself was a good choice the storyline in my opinion was dull and lifeless. The Queen being moved from one place to another, plotti...
Let me say first that I am a huge Philippa Gregory fan and generally love her work. This book however, was long and boring. The subject itself was a good choice the storyline in my opinion was dull and lifeless. The Queen being moved from one place to another, plotting her escape.....yawn. I wish she would have chose to write about the queen during her time upon the throne. The Queen of Scots had a fascinating life during her reign, full of scandal and turmoil. It would have made a sensational historical novel.
I usually read one of Philippa's books in a day and reread them several times. I had to force myself to finish this one and I will not reread it.

posted by julie1972 on May 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    Finally the other story!

    I have always wanted to know the story of Queen Mary. The Tudor lineage runs in her, yet she is denied the throne of England. At least she should of waited her turn, and kept her followers down and quiet instead of creating a huge storm that would end in a tear of the family. This book speaks what went on, the truth, and all the back ways to the truth.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Other Queen

    Philippa Gregory is an author that just seems to get better with each book that she writes and The Other Queen is no acceptation. The Other Queen recounts the first three years of Mary Queen of Scots imprisonment in England by her cousin Elizabeth I. Queen Mary is placed in the guardianship of newlywed George Talbot, Earl of Shrewsbury and Bess of Hardwick. The Scots Queen quickly becomes an unwelcome guest as she plots for her freedom and the overthrown of her royal cousin and drives a wedge between Talbot and his self made wife. The novel is full of intrigue and scandal and I found to be a fun read. One of Gregory's best!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Good book

    Tells a good story. Following along is easy. I like Mary Queen of Scots the character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Pagretwoohudfrdff









    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    WELCOME QUEENS OF THE WORLD!

    To the all queen and princess kingdonm of Ardoria. Here, a queen can get help with whatever and do whatvere. Even throw balls for bo reason. Read te rules in the next res and the map in res 3. Dont forget to post a bio!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorites of the Tudor series

    This book was written from the point of view of a "commoner" vs. the royalty which I really enjoyed. I liked the contrast between the two main female characters - one who was given everything and one who had to work for all that she had. The book was on par with the other books in the series - one of my favorite guilty pleasures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating Mary Queen of Scots

    This was a highly anticipated addition to my library of Philippa Gregory. I did not know that much about Mary Queen of Scots and found this book riveting in it's storytelling. Two very strong women, but so different, battling for the same prize. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Entertaining and historical

    I can't get enough of midieval kings and queens and everything historical from that period. But I think just about anybody would enjoy this, even if their not into that. Phillipa knows her stuff and writes a story that makes you think you are right there at court with the characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    Some of Philippa's Best Work

    In my opinion, this book is great. Philippa Gregory has always had a way with words. The fact that Mary spent 16 years in captivity is one of the best parts of the novel. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Gregory Knows Her Stuff

    Phillipa Gregory writes amazing historical fiction on characters that have been the source of couriosity for ages. Her eloquence of speech is fantastic and her factual information is wonderful, allowing for a great but believable story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3