Customer Reviews for

The Other Side

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Each tale is a solid well written fun entry

"Possession in Death" by J.D. Robb. In 2060, NYPD Lieutenant Eve Dallas takes Father Lopez home when elderly Hungarian Gizi runs in front of her car. She begs the warrior cop to save her Beata. Eve's team arrives to find a cold corpse of Gizi though a stunned Eve has...
"Possession in Death" by J.D. Robb. In 2060, NYPD Lieutenant Eve Dallas takes Father Lopez home when elderly Hungarian Gizi runs in front of her car. She begs the warrior cop to save her Beata. Eve's team arrives to find a cold corpse of Gizi though a stunned Eve has just spoken to the deceased. --------------------------

"The Other Side of the Coin" by Mary Blayney. In 1810 Bettina tells her husband Harry he is having an affair; he denies it. Bettina makes a wish on a coin as does Harry. Their wishes are granted as each wears the shoes of the other having switched bodies. -----------------

"The Dancing Ghost" by Patricia Gaffney. In 1895, spirit investigator Henry visits Massachusetts where house owner Angeiolina insists the ghosts of a dancing ancestor and her cuckolded husband occupy her home. ------------------

"Almost in Heaven" by Ruth Ryan Langan. At the Copper Creek Country Club, Vanessa and Ted throw an engagement party for their daughter Christina and her fiancé Mark. Vanessa and Ted leave to go home with their six years old son Tyler who suffers from Autism, but the brakes fail killing them. Mark pressures Christina to marry him. Christina delays the marriage to stay with Tyler. The deceased couple soon learns the shocking truth.--------------

"Never Too Late To Love" by MaryKay McComas. Thirtyish accountant M.J. wants her late mother's house torn down as she plans to sell the property. She finds inside the ghosts of her late mom and two aunts. The three sisters cannot leave until they find what they lost, but none know what they lost. ----------------

Each tale is a solid well written fun entry using a different plot device or setting making the anthology fresh in spite of the novella format not lending itself to character development.------------

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Possession In Death

The anthologies for the in death series always leave me wanting (too short, etc.). However, the "woo woo" factor in this installment kept it entertaining. Given the practical nature of Eve Dallas, it was interesting to track her reaction to the paranormal.

Worth the...
The anthologies for the in death series always leave me wanting (too short, etc.). However, the "woo woo" factor in this installment kept it entertaining. Given the practical nature of Eve Dallas, it was interesting to track her reaction to the paranormal.

Worth the read.

posted by Ejaygirl on December 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Each tale is a solid well written fun entry

    "Possession in Death" by J.D. Robb. In 2060, NYPD Lieutenant Eve Dallas takes Father Lopez home when elderly Hungarian Gizi runs in front of her car. She begs the warrior cop to save her Beata. Eve's team arrives to find a cold corpse of Gizi though a stunned Eve has just spoken to the deceased. --------------------------

    "The Other Side of the Coin" by Mary Blayney. In 1810 Bettina tells her husband Harry he is having an affair; he denies it. Bettina makes a wish on a coin as does Harry. Their wishes are granted as each wears the shoes of the other having switched bodies. -----------------

    "The Dancing Ghost" by Patricia Gaffney. In 1895, spirit investigator Henry visits Massachusetts where house owner Angeiolina insists the ghosts of a dancing ancestor and her cuckolded husband occupy her home. ------------------

    "Almost in Heaven" by Ruth Ryan Langan. At the Copper Creek Country Club, Vanessa and Ted throw an engagement party for their daughter Christina and her fiancé Mark. Vanessa and Ted leave to go home with their six years old son Tyler who suffers from Autism, but the brakes fail killing them. Mark pressures Christina to marry him. Christina delays the marriage to stay with Tyler. The deceased couple soon learns the shocking truth.--------------

    "Never Too Late To Love" by MaryKay McComas. Thirtyish accountant M.J. wants her late mother's house torn down as she plans to sell the property. She finds inside the ghosts of her late mom and two aunts. The three sisters cannot leave until they find what they lost, but none know what they lost. ----------------

    Each tale is a solid well written fun entry using a different plot device or setting making the anthology fresh in spite of the novella format not lending itself to character development.------------

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Possession In Death

    The anthologies for the in death series always leave me wanting (too short, etc.). However, the "woo woo" factor in this installment kept it entertaining. Given the practical nature of Eve Dallas, it was interesting to track her reaction to the paranormal.

    Worth the read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Cold~Fusion

    Phocphery. This just got better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Woah.

    Weeeird. But sweet, too!!! Nice going!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    To: Mad_World

    Again: THIS IS FAB! The description is wonderful! -Author of Captured

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Diana

    Keep writing! It's amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    To madworld

    MOREMOREMOREMOREMOREMOREMORE PPLLLEEEEAAASSEEEE!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    XY'S REVEIW!

    &star &star &star &star &star + I love it! Please write more!
    Also, please read my story at 'sakari' res. 1-3. Chapter 3 will be out soon, by the way. Please comment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    The Other Side ---- ch. 1

    Footsteps. That was the first thing i heard. They grew over my frantically running feet. I breezed by an eeirly beautiful world. Flowers bloomed a sheen metallic blue, purple, and yellow. Mountains dotted into focus off in th distance. The footsteps became louder and louder, they were closing in. Panic flushed in my chest and i ran harder. I wished, prayed to be away, faster, like on a bike or car. Suddenly, hooves took place as footsteps. I gazed down to find myself galloping on a white stallion. I gave on fleeting glance to watch my pursuers.
    <br> Three dark figures galloped on their own misty black horses. They had no features....except eyes. They glowed a acid green, stormy grey, and potion purple. The eyes narrowed and they galloped faster, gaining
    <br> When i turned back again, my horse whinned and reared. I toppled to the ground and slid off the edge of a cliff. White waters rushed bellow me and i screamed. Pain awoke and i looked up. The lead, Potion Purple, snickered,"foolish girl, how dare you try to outrun the Dream's guardians!" The axid green chided,"come on! Let's kill already!" "No!" The stormy grey hissed,"not yet....she must prove herself....." The eyes chanted suddenly:
    <p> "Life by day; Death by night. You must not show fear; not show fright. The three tripelts, who control the world. Dream, Reality, and Phocphery, you will be hurled. My dear girl; where is your friend? He must join you, and visit The End. Dont say a sound, dont say a peep. Us 3 dreamers; will let you sleep...."
    <p> The Potion purple snickered,"see you in the Other Side...." he lifted his hand and i fell back into Reality..... ((good? Eh? Eh.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Un cool man

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Don't recommend Only one story was good

    I really enjoyed the J.D. Robb story but the other ones were boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8