Customer Reviews for

The Other Side

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Someday Soon

    The fence is a barrier between two different "worlds". One day two people decide to sit on the fence and the two "worlds" join. These two people hope that someday soon the fence will be knocked down and the two "worlds" of people will freely join and enjoy each other. A wonderful tale of a summer of learning is in this book. It is a good book for young picture book readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Someday Soon

    The fence is a barrier between two different "worlds". One day two people decide to sit on the fence and the two "worlds" join. These two people hope that someday soon the fence will be knocked down and the two "worlds" of people will freely join and enjoy each other. A wonderful tale of a summer of learning is in this book. It is a good book for young picture book readers. Favorable: insightful and enlightening reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    An Inspirational Story of Friendship

    This is a wonderful story about the power of friendship. Two girls, Clover and Annie, live on opposite sides of a fence that divides the town. Clover doesn¿t understand why the fence is there. She wants to know why the black side of town is separated by the white side of town and isn¿t satisfied with her mother¿s answer, ¿Because that¿s the way things have always been.¿ Clover and Annie don¿t let the fence divide their worlds and overcome this segregation by becoming friends. They use the fence as a place to come together and to change the world around them. Woodson, Jacqueline. Illustrations by E. B. Lewis. The Other Side. New York: G. P. Putnam¿s Sons, 2001. ISBN 0-399-23116-1. Grades 1-4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Amazing Read Aloud

    Perfect book for students of all ages to infer the complexities of racism, and the courage needed to make change occur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2003

    the other side

    very nice pictures not a child so the story is okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2003

    The Other Side

    Two little girls - one black and one white -don't let a racial problem stop them from becoming friends. They gradually become more comfortable with each other by sitting on a fence that separates their yards. I felt that the storyline could have been more exciting. I think children will relate to this book well. The illustration also will help children understand the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2002

    This book is really good. It reminds me of Martin Luther King.

    This story reminds me of Martin Luther King. He was a black man and white people were mean to him. He was able to help people understand that white people and black people are really the same. Annie and Clover showed the other children that they could all be friends and it doesn¿t matter if they are black or white. They can still be friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2002

    Other Side

    I liked this book but I didn't like this book. The reason I liked this book was because it has friendship and I love friendship. The reason I didn't like this book is because it didn't have so much excitement and that's another thing I like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2002

    Other Side

    I thought that this book was unfair because they weren't allowed to go on the other side of the other person's property. If they did they would get in trouble. I learned that whatever color you are it doesn't matter because everyone is special in their own way. I think that in the book they should have been allowed to go onto each other's side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2002

    Geat book , Jacqueline Woodson!

    I thought that the story is about a lesson that if you are different you can still be friends. But there was a girl named Sandra who thought if you are different you can not play with her. But then she learned that if Clover and Annie can be friends she can too. When I was new at my school I thought because I was new and all the other kids had friends I didn't have friends. I asked to play and some kids said, 'No,' and some said, 'Yes!' Wehn they said no, I felt very sad because I was not being liked by some kids but soon some people started being nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2002

    I love this book!!

    While I was reading this book, questions came to my mind. Why did Annie wear a sweater in the summer? Why did Sandra say no when Annie asked to play without even asking the other girls? That is so mean of Sandra to say no but I am still glad that they all became friends. I can relate to Sandra because I yell at my sister when I have friends over. She asks to play with us and sometimes I say, 'NO!' I can relate to Annie because when I was little I didn't have friends and when I asked to play, they said, 'NO!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1