Customer Reviews for

The Other Side and Back: A Psychic's Guide to Our World and Beyond

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of her Best

I have bought several copies of this book to share with others. I love the first sentence of Chapter One the best.

This book covers many topics and questions most have about: Why are we here? Ghost & Spirits, Our life's purpose, Heaven & Angels. It's a great overvie...
I have bought several copies of this book to share with others. I love the first sentence of Chapter One the best.

This book covers many topics and questions most have about: Why are we here? Ghost & Spirits, Our life's purpose, Heaven & Angels. It's a great overview for those who want to start to explore the super natural and don't know which book or author to start with. It's one of her best Books written.

It's also helpful for those who have recently lost a love one and are having a hard time dealing with their passing.

posted by Jo- on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

An important discovery

Last year I found a tape of a phone reading that Sylvia Browne had with my mother about 9 years ago. My mother had just suffered a massive stroke and was paralyzed on one side. During the reading my mother asked Sylvia if she would regain the use of her limbs. Sylvia...
Last year I found a tape of a phone reading that Sylvia Browne had with my mother about 9 years ago. My mother had just suffered a massive stroke and was paralyzed on one side. During the reading my mother asked Sylvia if she would regain the use of her limbs. Sylvia told her 'yes', and said it in a way that you would have thought that it were written in stone someplace. Well, despite very good care and physical therapy, my mother died without regaining the use of those limbs. My mother also asked Sylvia if her daughter - and she gave Sylvia my name - was diabetic. Again, Sylvia told her 'yes' as though it were written in stone. Well, my blood has been tested many times over the past 9 years. I wasn't diabetic then, and I'm not diabetic now. I don't remember if that phone reading cost $300 or $500 but it was a lot of money - especially for a retired, disabled woman. But, in a way, it was money well spent because my mother never put her trust in Sylvia Browne again. I used to think that Sylvia Browne was genuine, but now I think that she and her books are an interesting bit of fiction, but I will never again read them in search of some sort of guidance.

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    An important discovery

    Last year I found a tape of a phone reading that Sylvia Browne had with my mother about 9 years ago. My mother had just suffered a massive stroke and was paralyzed on one side. During the reading my mother asked Sylvia if she would regain the use of her limbs. Sylvia told her 'yes', and said it in a way that you would have thought that it were written in stone someplace. Well, despite very good care and physical therapy, my mother died without regaining the use of those limbs. My mother also asked Sylvia if her daughter - and she gave Sylvia my name - was diabetic. Again, Sylvia told her 'yes' as though it were written in stone. Well, my blood has been tested many times over the past 9 years. I wasn't diabetic then, and I'm not diabetic now. I don't remember if that phone reading cost $300 or $500 but it was a lot of money - especially for a retired, disabled woman. But, in a way, it was money well spent because my mother never put her trust in Sylvia Browne again. I used to think that Sylvia Browne was genuine, but now I think that she and her books are an interesting bit of fiction, but I will never again read them in search of some sort of guidance.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of her Best

    I have bought several copies of this book to share with others. I love the first sentence of Chapter One the best.

    This book covers many topics and questions most have about: Why are we here? Ghost & Spirits, Our life's purpose, Heaven & Angels. It's a great overview for those who want to start to explore the super natural and don't know which book or author to start with. It's one of her best Books written.

    It's also helpful for those who have recently lost a love one and are having a hard time dealing with their passing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    shes done it again~!

    sylvia brown is and expert at makeing you pick up one of her books and never wanting to set it down till youve read every page this book is great sooooo much information in this one this is about my 5th book of hers ive read and this is deffently the top 2

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    YOU'VE GOT TO READ

    As I was growing older and started to stress out and lose sleep, things started to happen, I had questions and needed answers. This was when I was first introduced to Sylvia Brown's book and wow, I couldn't put it down. This book really changed my life when my sister first introduced the book to me. At first I just read it to make her happy. But as I read through the chapters, I started to relate to each chapter. You see my sister does things for a reason and it is up to us to find out what it is. So there was a reason why my sister gave me the book, but she didn't say why and as I read the book, there was a section that talked specifically about how spirits travel to us in our most vulnerable sleeping time. I was so scared, I couldn't believe that someone was actually explaining this in a book, every little detail that she mentioned described exactly what was happening to me. I was speechless, I had all my questions answered in one section. When I finished the book, I passed it down to my younger sister and went straight to my sister who gave me the book and she said, 'Did it help?' I really do recommended this book to anyone that asks themselves, 'WHY IS THIS HAPPENING TO ME?'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Great Book

    I think this wa s a truely great book. Even if you don't agree with what she's saying it makes you think because she has reason behind everything she says and backs everything up. Highly Recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My fiancé asked me to read this book because she felt that it ha

    My fiancé asked me to read this book because she felt that it had helped her with her life and that it would do the same for me.  I had seen Sylvia on Montel many times back in the day and thought to myself “what a crock”.  Unfortunately, this held true for this book as well.  For a while she had me going, thinking that she truly believed what she was saying, until I got to the end where she makes her predictions for the new millennium.  None of which have come true by 2013, and just reaffirmed my belief that NOTHING happens when you die.  Your body decays and you, your spirit or whatever dies with it.  There is nothing after you die, there is no conscious anything, and it’s OVER.  I really feel bad that there are people out there like Sylvia taking advantage of others hope (and to a certain extent their money, hey, someone paid for the book, right?)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    This was such a great book!! This book helped me get through the

    This was such a great book!! This book helped me get through the sudden lose of my mother. It gave me clarification and comfort during my darkest time. Sylvia's insight to the afterlife was reassuring that I will see my mother again and knowing when she is around me.  I have recommended this book to family members and friends that have lost a loved one. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Engaging, Inspirational, Well Written.

    Sylvia Brownes's stories are engaging. I feel that I vicariously experience a metaphysical world through her words. Although some of the things she shares are not happy little stories, they always have an ultimately positive meaning and purpose. The prose is well written, which is a big deal for me because I am a writer, and I cannot stand to read poorly written books.

    Some of the things she discusses can be challenging for me to believe; however, I read with an open mind. What do I really know about such matters?; I am not a practicing psychic.

    I do believe that some of her descriptions of the other side are somewhat subjective. It might be that buildings on the other side are Greco-Roman in their architectural stylings, only for some areas and for some people. While I believe that Sylva Browne's experiences are sometimes subjective, I believe that her experiences are real and true in a greater, metaphysical sense. The book can have significant meaning to those of us living in this physical realm.

    I read another of her books about psychic healing, and I loved it. I recently loaned it to a friend who is experiencing some health issues that we belive are related to paranormal phenomena in her house. I believe that the advice that Browne gives is sound and useful.

    For me, The Other Side and Back is a book mostly for fun; I will admit that. Nevertheless, I am getting more from it that just enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Thanks aunt sylvia

    THE MOST DOWN TO EARTH AND EASILY UNDERSTOOD DISCOURSE ON A TOUGH SUBJECT....Life. Shared aas iff by a loving aunt. What a bleasing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    Comforting and Uplifting

    I was so comforted and uplifted after reading this book. I re-read sections of it from time to time and send it to friends and family who have lost loved ones, as I believe once you have read it and take what resonates with you, that you find a knowing and a peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Ms. Brown's perspective of the 'other side' with details beyond my wildest imagination...This book is food for thought! Fact or fiction, it was an entertaining and thought provoking read!

    Anyone who is curious about the afterlife should consider reading this book. That being said, you need to be sure to read it with an open mind. Some of the ideas presented were very new and different and could be offensive to a traditional Christian. Being one of those myself, I could still draw many parallels between what I have been previously taught, my own life experiences, and Sylvia's perspective of what is 'real'. Who knows what awaits us at the end of the tunnel? Like Sylvia says, "Take what you want and leave the rest!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    An astonishing read

    This may be the first book by Sylvia Browne that I have ever read, but it will certainly not be my last. Her insight, wisdom and guidance in dealing with and understanding all of hurdles and obstacles we all experience in daily life is astonishing. As one who was raised Catholic, but always felt spiritually starved and adrift, I found her insights in alignment with my own thoughts, and in that, very comforting. This is a life enhancing, life altering book. It is sustenance for the spiritually starving. Sherry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    She's a comedian not a psychic

    A person, who is bored with her profession, avoids talking about it. Sylvia Browne is a comedian, not a psychic. If she were a psychic, she would be telling us something, other than her jokes. If you want to know and learn about the other side, read James Van Praagh, George Anderson or John Edwards¿ books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    Makes you wonder

    This was my first sylvia brown book. And when I read it I was in for a big surprise. I have seen her on Montel before. This book really does make you wonder. Makes you wonder about life and makes you think back on everything that has happened. No matter how young you want to think back. I look at my neice and nephew differently now. I wonder what they were to me. I even wonder what my sister in law and I were in a past life. When I see people who are close to me I look at them and wonder what they were to me in my past life. I look at everyone differently now. I know that my spirit guide and my angels are around me. That I didn't need sylvia for. But it still makes ya wonder about the people in your life and who they were to you in past lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    it makes you think

    even if you don't agree with her beliefs and/or knowledge she really makes you think about the other side. suddenly you're looking around for spirits and ghosts everywhere you go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    Spirit World

    I strongly liked this book, because it makes you think about the spirit that are around you that you can't see. One thing that jumped out at me was, Syliva's grandma Ada had past away. Her son Chris had a daughter five years after Syliva's grandma died. When her granddaughter was four years old, she was talking to Syliva and telling her things that her grandma did when she was alive. That's when Syliva found out that her grandma was in her granddaughter's body/soul. Syliva also talks about how her life was before she became a famous psychic. She was physical, emotional, and mentally abused by her mother and her husband. I recommended you reading this book because it will change your mind about some things. I know it did mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    an easy read, very down-to-earth...

    I have always believed in the spirit world, but never understood it fully. I can't say I already do, but this book has definitely helped me take a step further in learning more about The Other Side. I'm not sure though if I would recommend this to everyone, because it has been helpful for me to have at least a basic belief in the realm of spirits. At the very least, I would encourage readers to have an open mind when reading this book. Sylvia Browne has a very "down-to-earth" way of telling her story which makes this book an easy and enjoyable read. I think the most important thing I learned from her is that life is what we make it... and we have the power (mental, spiritual, and yes, psychic too) to make it great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2002

    Makes you feel better

    i love this book for so many different reasons.she totally changed my point of view of things.it was hard for me to put down. it explained so many things and answered so many questions i had. you should read this book, it'll help you in every aspect of your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    Great book!

    I think this book is amazing. I have read it over and over! It explained answers to my spiritual questions in a very easy to read, lighthearted way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2002

    Truly Inspirational

    This book is the best thing that I've read in a while! Sylvia Browne knows how to make her readers feel warm inside. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is curious about pyschics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3