Customer Reviews for

Other Side of Dark

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good!

I really really like this book! Its keeps you reading! Loved it! Really intresting!

posted by maddiekate on October 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

ebook version is HORRIBLE

The ebook version is riddled with mistakes. It's like they scanned the text but didn't check it-- Jeff is often spelled JeflF. I'm is often written Fm. Random mistakes and marks make the book confusing to read.

posted by EnigmaAM on May 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    ebook version is HORRIBLE

    The ebook version is riddled with mistakes. It's like they scanned the text but didn't check it-- Jeff is often spelled JeflF. I'm is often written Fm. Random mistakes and marks make the book confusing to read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    didnt like it

    it was too short and hard to follow. it had many spelling and grammar issues. was not worth the money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    Good!

    I really really like this book! Its keeps you reading! Loved it! Really intresting!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    what sould be read

    i have to say my teacher was the first oneto tell me about her books when i ran out of auhors to read so she told me to try the hunting i loved it it had every thing then i read this one i xould not put it down if your looking for a good author try joan lawery nixon i know you will her books as much as i did

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the other side of dark

    this was a great book. stacy, age 17, suddenly comes out of a coma which she had been in for 4 years. she thinks she's 13 and has a lot to get used to. She was in a coma because she got shot. at the same time, her mother was murdered. stacy feels like she needs to identify the murderer and have him punished for what he did. it seems like the murderer's identity is always just out of reach for her. and the killer is not about to let her reveal his identity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    For All Mystery Lovers

    First book i ever read by Ms. Nixon and i have been a fan of her novels ever since. Its because of Joan and her mysteries that i still love to and enjoy reading a good mystery book with a great plot and breath-taking turns and outcomes!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    Best Book Ever

    I loved It. Its unpredictable, one never knows what going to happen next. i totally recommend it to anyone, who likes mysterty aand suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Other side if dar Other side of dark

    Thus is honestly the very best books i have ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Best mystery ever written!!!

    This was the best mystery book I have read in a while. It was so unique

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Amazing book, lots of mistakes

    I really enjoyed this book. When it was at the last scene in the book, my heart was pounding so hard that i thought that everyone could hear. But the only thing that really bothered me was the spelling mistakes. Sometimes, Jeff will de spelled Jeflf and Jeif. And im will be spelled fm. And also i'll be spelled 111.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ended abruptly

    This was an interesting one. The story caught my interest. Throughout the book I was thinking who could it be that was there on the night before Stacy got shot. And then the ending came and I was like, that's it? I felt it just ended abruptly. Good read, short, but good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Amazing Author!

    This book is one of many Nixon books that I read while in middle school! I couldn't put ANY of them down! I LOVED reading her books and inspired me to write my own little short stories. I will ALWAYS love her books and I can guarantee that anyone who likes suspense will like her books- no matter what age you are!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Birthday Stress!!!!!

    It was my daughter, Krista's birthday. I was stuck from that moment.Now that I'm a single mother, I spend less time with my daughter. I didn't know what to buy for her. Now that she is almost 11, she doesn't like to talk to anyone anymore. She is the soft one. Well, anyway I didin't know what to buy, so I went to Barnes and Nobles on Saturday to buy this book for her. When she opened her gift that day, I thought she was going to say this was the dumbest idea ever. But, she actually jumped on me to hug me!!! Wow, I never knew this would be exciting!! Thanks Barnes and Nobles!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I've read alot of books but this is the best one yet page turning. I just could not put it down. this is the frist book that I have read by her but I will read some more. It is about this girl who wakes up from a coma 4 years later after being shoot. Her mom is dead murrenderd and she will not rest until her murrered is behind bars. GREAT THRILLER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    This book is a book to read

    I read this book wheni was in 7th grade in 1990, It had a different cover and i always wondered where i could find it, ( didnt remeber the name of the book) but this book is great, especially if you like suspense and action

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    absolutely amazing

    one of her best books yet. this book puts you in the same situation, and makes you as determined and as upset as the main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    pat

    I didn't enjoy it was horrible J.L.Nixon did really bad with this book,i've read better books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    A reviewer

    This book was awesome and i loved it go joan lowery nixon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    The Other Side of Dark

    The Other Side of the Dark by Joan Lowey Nixon is a spontaneous book. It¿s about a thirteen-year old named Stacy Mcadams, who is shot and goes into a coma for four years. At age seventeen Stacy awakes and finds herself in a hospital. Her father then fills her in on all that happened, like her sister Donna, getting married and being eight months pregnant. This meant that in one month Stacy would be an aunt. Stacy was known by the public, as Sleeping Beauty because she slept for four years and then awoke. Stacy then finds out that the same day she was shot was the same day her mother was killed. After hearing this Stacy is determined to find the murderer who ruined her life. Stacy lives in a state called Texas, located in the United States of America. I enjoyed reading this book because it was very suspenseful, and it made me want to read on and on. In conclusion, for all those readers out there who love mystery books, this is definitely the perfect book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    The Other Side of Dark

    Imagine one day you wake up to discover that you had been in a coma for four years, and you are no longer 13 but now you are 17. This is what happens to Stacy in the book The Other Side of Dark by Joan Lowery Nixon. She found out that her mother had been shot and killed. Stacy could remember the guy that shot her, but she could not see his face. She finally found out who killed her mother, but will he kill her before she can testify against him? This book is an easy read yet it is sophisticated. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a mystery that keeps you reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5