Customer Reviews for

The Other Side of Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    FANTASTIC!!!

    Talk about a "page turner"!! I couldn't stop reading this book! Sidney Sheldon led a remarkable life and did it all while struggling with his manic-depressive (bipolar) illness! The first paragraph of the first chapter will hook you! He knew how to write. It's not only an interesting and fun book but an inspiring book! Shows what you can accomplish if you hang in there, keep working and never give up. Sidney Sheldon never stopped working. Amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    Simple, forthright and not beating around the bush- that's Sydney Sheldon's stlye! As soon as you begin reading the first paragraph, an interesting story is assured. Even if you are not an avid reader, you will be glued! It's as effortless as watching a movie! It's intriguing to know the writer's journey and experiences from being down in the pits to sumptuous glory. The book explores the elements with which a writer is made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    THERE WILL NEVER BE ANOTHER.......

    Sidney Sheldon! I was captured by his books shortly after he began writing them and have read / re-read all of them many times-- my abosolute favorite --'If Tomorrow Comes'. Some of his real life experiences show up in his story lines -- incredibly great! He puts you into his work -- you are immersed and living what you read. His real life story is so enjoyable and once again the MASTER OF THE GAME has given us a page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    There's only one

    There's only one man who writes for readers and make them feel as though their living the book. His books make me smile, laugh out loud and cry with sorrow. Sidney Sheldon has a extraodinary way of taking the reader exactly where he wants his books to take them - to a Journey. Fantastic! I love him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A TRUE STORY OF HOW HE BEAT THE ODDS

    Many would say that bestselling novelist Sidney Sheldon has led a charmed life. As a boy of 17 he would have laughed at that description, perhaps cried as he attempted suicide. He thought everything was hopeless. He lived in Chicago during the Depression - there was little money for anything, let alone college. However, 'The Other Side of Me' is the true story of how he beat the odds, lived with manic depression, suffered the devastating loss of a child, and became a heralded author with over 300 million copies of his books in print. He wouldn't have dreamed this when he worked as a theater usher. However, it wasn't long after that he became a songwriter, soon sharing notes with Irving Berlin. A man Sheldon describes as not being able to carry a tune or read music. All he had, Sheldon said was genius. Later, Sheldon would direct most of the Hollywood greats in films and create a host of popular television programs. However, Sheldon is more than candid in his memoir as we learn that while there were bright lights and star studded parties, he also battled personal demons. For many, his true story will be more enthralling than his fiction. Stage and television actor Mike O'Malley offers a distinctive reading as he traces Sheldon's life from depressed teenager to a man who has had 'an incredible career with great successes and king-sized failures.' - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    Other Side of Me: A Memoir

    Sidney Sheldon captured me years ago when I read The Naked Face and The Other Side of Midnight. Since then, I have read all of his novels, wondering how he could magnify and tell his stories with such authenticity. My favorite novel is Rage of Angels. Although, I also loved the novel Master of the Game. Now that I have read his memoir, I fully realize his talents. His personal story was wonderful, starting out as a youth in Chicago and traveling to New York and then to LA. His highs and his lows are detailed in this chronicle magnificently. I love this book and gained enormous insight regarding his life and his career as a writer, etc. He is definitely an inspiration to other writers by not giving up so I will keep turning life's pages as he states. This is THE REAL DEAL for sure. Mr. Sheldon is indeed the MASTER on the literary circuit and should be commended for his greatness and tremendous talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    Other Side of Me: A Memoir

    After numerous novels of excellence, Sidney Sheldon has done the public a tremendous favor by telling his own life story. The story captures his readers with the first page starting off as a Chicago youth facing traumatic odds, mental anguish and parental difficulties. Later, we journey to NewYorkCity where he gains cheap employment as an usher in one of the city's theatre. The story moves to California where he faces tremendous career and family ups and downs. He is the Master and his life's novel readilly explains his reasons as such. Absolutely an enjoyable autobiography that is thrilling told by this 88 year old author. A great uplifting story of outstanding worth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1