Customer Reviews for

The Other Side of Suffering: The Father of JonBenet Ramsey Tells the Story of His Journey from Grief to Grace

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A Story Never Before Told

On Christmas night 1996, six-year-old JonBenét Ramsey was violently murdered in the basement of her Boulder, Colorado, home while the rest of her family slept upstairs in their beds. Her father, John Ramsey, was placed under an umbrella of suspicion as being her killer....
On Christmas night 1996, six-year-old JonBenét Ramsey was violently murdered in the basement of her Boulder, Colorado, home while the rest of her family slept upstairs in their beds. Her father, John Ramsey, was placed under an umbrella of suspicion as being her killer. Her mother, Patsy Ramsey, who was battling ovarian cancer at the time, was publicly placed under that same umbrella. The Other Side of Suffering is John Ramsey’s story of the tremendous suffering and heartache he has endured in his life. But this is not just the story of a singular horrific event, and it is not the story you’ve heard over and over from the news media. It is, in a story never before told, John Ramsey’s personal journey of suffering, courage, and faith.

Extremely well written and filled with emotion, this book contains many sad and incredible stories told to illustrate John Ramsey's journey through suffering and faith. Although I initially approached reading this book with skepticism, I soon found myself reading through tear-filled blurry eyes. By the time I had finished reading, I had openly wept several times throughout the book.

This book was written as an encouragement to those who might otherwise abandon their faith in God in times of crisis and tragedy. The author elucidates the fact that life is not always fair, life is not always easy, but God is always good.

"People ask me how long it takes to get over the loss of a child. My response is, you never get over it." ~John Ramsey

posted by Tom_Dye on March 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Your journey through tribulations and the faith that you have ha

Your journey through tribulations and the faith that you have had in which to endure them inspired me. On the other hand, there is a lot of self pitying in this book and blaming others for your perceived victimization. As others such as Mark Klaas, the father of murder ...
Your journey through tribulations and the faith that you have had in which to endure them inspired me. On the other hand, there is a lot of self pitying in this book and blaming others for your perceived victimization. As others such as Mark Klaas, the father of murder victim Polly has stated, it is standard procedure for the police to look at the family first and then go beyond that radius. It is imperative for the family of the victim to make themselves as cooperative and available to the police as possible. From the books written by former Detective Steve Thomas and the latest book by Chief James Kolar, it is documented that you made it very hard to be accessible. You and your late wife were not the only people that the police focused on. There were hundreds of people interviewed and investigated. Over a million dollars was expended on this case chasing down leads all over the country. There have been many people over the years that have been thrust into the spotlight because of horrible occurences in their lives, they have handled it with dignity and grace and not resorted to suing everyone that spoke out against them. The men and women in law enforcement that you so easily disparage were only trying to do their job to the best of their ability. No matter how many books you write Mr. Ramsey, there are actual documented facts to this case that cannot be swept under the rug.

posted by Anonymous on August 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    A Story Never Before Told

    On Christmas night 1996, six-year-old JonBenét Ramsey was violently murdered in the basement of her Boulder, Colorado, home while the rest of her family slept upstairs in their beds. Her father, John Ramsey, was placed under an umbrella of suspicion as being her killer. Her mother, Patsy Ramsey, who was battling ovarian cancer at the time, was publicly placed under that same umbrella. The Other Side of Suffering is John Ramsey’s story of the tremendous suffering and heartache he has endured in his life. But this is not just the story of a singular horrific event, and it is not the story you’ve heard over and over from the news media. It is, in a story never before told, John Ramsey’s personal journey of suffering, courage, and faith.

    Extremely well written and filled with emotion, this book contains many sad and incredible stories told to illustrate John Ramsey's journey through suffering and faith. Although I initially approached reading this book with skepticism, I soon found myself reading through tear-filled blurry eyes. By the time I had finished reading, I had openly wept several times throughout the book.

    This book was written as an encouragement to those who might otherwise abandon their faith in God in times of crisis and tragedy. The author elucidates the fact that life is not always fair, life is not always easy, but God is always good.

    "People ask me how long it takes to get over the loss of a child. My response is, you never get over it." ~John Ramsey

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Your journey through tribulations and the faith that you have ha

    Your journey through tribulations and the faith that you have had in which to endure them inspired me. On the other hand, there is a lot of self pitying in this book and blaming others for your perceived victimization. As others such as Mark Klaas, the father of murder victim Polly has stated, it is standard procedure for the police to look at the family first and then go beyond that radius. It is imperative for the family of the victim to make themselves as cooperative and available to the police as possible. From the books written by former Detective Steve Thomas and the latest book by Chief James Kolar, it is documented that you made it very hard to be accessible. You and your late wife were not the only people that the police focused on. There were hundreds of people interviewed and investigated. Over a million dollars was expended on this case chasing down leads all over the country. There have been many people over the years that have been thrust into the spotlight because of horrible occurences in their lives, they have handled it with dignity and grace and not resorted to suing everyone that spoke out against them. The men and women in law enforcement that you so easily disparage were only trying to do their job to the best of their ability. No matter how many books you write Mr. Ramsey, there are actual documented facts to this case that cannot be swept under the rug.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Finally the truth!

    A great book by John Ramsey;the side of the story we never heard. Very captivating and inspiring.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Poignant book

    If there is any lingering doubt in your mind about whether the Ramsey's are guilty, this book will put it to rest. As John tells the story, it quickly becomes obvious how much they loved Jonbenet and were devastated by her murder. This is not the writing of a man who is capable of such a heinous act as he has been repeatedly accused. John Ramsey has been through tremendous struggles, and he brings great credibility to the subject matter. I couldn' t help but feel empathy and awe for a man who has been able to come through it without bitterness. His story is heartbreaking and inspiring. A great read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    I wish Mr. Ramsey peace in his life. It's interesting to me the

    I wish Mr. Ramsey peace in his life. It's interesting to me the route he took to achieve some peace. Because there are so many unanswered questions he has turned to God (I think) to keep from going crazy. It was very interesting to me that he explained the process he has gone through. I have suffered grievously the last 4 years and really have had no way to explain it or have anyone understand just what I was going through, but I felt like I was talking to a kindred soul reading Mr. Ramsey's book. It is well worth reading if you are looking for some peace and understanding in your own life. It is a deeply personal book. I'm glad to hear Mr. Ramsey is able to move forward in his life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    Just more spin and no substance. Stop hiding behind religion and

    Just more spin and no substance. Stop hiding behind religion and step up to the plate and tell the truth about what really happened to your daughter. Until then don't preach about God. God is about the truth!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Excellent book. I always knew right from the very beginning, the

    Excellent book. I always knew right from the very beginning, they were innocent. The liberal Boulder police were downright EVIL. They could have caught this guy immediately and especially after another neighbor found a guy in a Ninja suit in their home, hovering over their eight year old daughter!!! The police didn't even question him about Jon Benet's murder! Pity Patsy and John had to deal with the sick police department and their daughter's murder. They were punished because of their politics. Can't get more evil than that!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    I love love love this book; this story. It has been a joy to read and a blessing that John has found comfort in a new beginning for his life.

    After following this story for so many years I always wondered how does this family cope with such great loss and scrutiny from the media. Then after Patsy lost her battle with cancer I thought how sad John's life is once again and how will he ever make the journey back to a happy and fufilled life. I loved reading his story and his encouraging words to others on how to move beyond our past sad stories and into our future happy ones. A sweet and happy life to you, your children and grandchildren, John. As for the girls....Beth, JonBenet and Patsy....they are with you...always

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Loved it!

    I couldn't put this book down! John Ramsey's writing is honest, to the point and heart breaking. He tells the whole story and I have to say, I don't believe I could've survived what he and his family were put through. To me, he is a true hero and I hope he has finally found the peace and happiness he so deserves. This book is well worth it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Inspiring

    Excellent book and very inspiring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kept my interest. This book was more about how he's gotten thro

    Kept my interest. This book was more about how he's gotten through the whole ordeal by his faith in God. If you want a book that gives their side of events, read the book they wrote in 2000, The Death of Innocence. I still believe, after reading both of John Ramsey's books that the parents had something to do with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    A story hard to tell , but told in a way to touch your heart

    This man has been through HELL on Earth, and lived to Bless people with the story of his Wonderful family!I'm so glad he wrote this book. It gives us all reason for HOPE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Excellent!!

    Very well written book. One would expect it would be one-sided, but it is very thorough on covering the entire story. It is just too bad that the Boulder PD and DA's office couldn't actually work together to bring some peace for this family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite I recently received a

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    I recently received a copy of the audio book "The Other Side of Suffering: The Father of JonBenet Ramsey Tells the Story of His Journey from Grief to Grace". I was eager to listen and yet dreaded to share the emotion that I was sure this book would share. John Ramsey has suffered many losses. In 1992 he lost his oldest daughter; in 1996 he lost JonBenet; and in 2006 he lost his wife Patsy. While this book focuses on the death of JonBenet and the ensuing media circus and the bumbling police investigation (my words, not Mr. Ramsey’s), he also shares many family memories that I am sure brings him great comfort. Most of America has heard the JonBenet story as told by the media, but few know the true facts. I cannot imagine losing a child. For John Ramsey the loss was magnified by the unfounded accusations of the media and the police. The media had a field day with the death of Ramsey’s young daughter. They portrayed the family as exploiting the child by forcing her into beauty pageants. They accused John, Patsy and later, their son, of murder. The police botched the investigation by ignoring evidence and having tunnel vision. My heart goes out to Mr. Ramsey. The Ramsey’s turned to the Lord and Holy Scriptures in the midst of their anguish. I admire their bravery and their faith.

    "The Other Side of Suffering" is read by John Ramsey. He does a superb job of controlling his emotions. I am not sure I could have. The story is told in a simple and easy manner. My only criticism is the repetition. Many times I had to check to see if I had accidentally rewound the CD. The repetition throws off the organization of this heartfelt story. Ramsey's shines through in every page of this amazing book. He clearly and boldly states events taking place around the tragedy. His purpose for writing this book was not for his own glory but to offer hope and encouragement to others. I hope this book helps to bring some peace and closure to the Ramsey family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Thank you Mr. Ramsey for writing such a wonderful book to teach

    Thank you Mr. Ramsey for writing such a wonderful book to teach others how to cope with heartache and suffering. I have always believed in you and your families innocence in this terrible tragedy. Patsy is from my hometown and lived in the same neighborhood in Parkersburg, WV. She is home now and at peace with Jon Benet and I pray for happiness and peace for you and your wife. No family ever deserved such torture that yours has been through. Please know that you have friends all over the country who support you and we will continue to pray that the person who did this hideous act is found and brought to justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Excellent

    Excellent reading. My heart goes out to the entire family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    very good,a good read

    wife and I both read the book, not great but very good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    It is a woderful faith journey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Recommend this book

    A great book about faith, strength and healing. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2