Customer Reviews for

The Other Side of the Island

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Read

The Other Side of the Island is definitely an exciting read; the author takes you on a journey into the future after a world-wide disaster. The people in the story no longer feel safe, as they had just recently had their life ripped away by the forces of nature. They do...
The Other Side of the Island is definitely an exciting read; the author takes you on a journey into the future after a world-wide disaster. The people in the story no longer feel safe, as they had just recently had their life ripped away by the forces of nature. They don¿t know what to do- until Earth Mother steps into the picture. Earth Mother is a dictator, who took over what was left of the world, before anyone realized what she was doing. Memories were erased, disagreeing people disappeared, and suddenly the world was incased in a giant bubble.
No, I am not kidding. Earth Mother feels that the only way to keep humans safe is to ¿reduce, recycle, and reuse¿. Most would compare that to trash, reduce it, recycle it, and reuse it, but Earth Mother means everything. She will reduce the amount of land humans can live on, recycle virtually everything and create her Utopia so earth-friendly that human life becomes harder, and harder. She will also ¿reuse¿ people. If a citizen does not comply to the cities laws, and does not react to ¿persuasive reasoning and positive reinforcement¿, they disappear only to be reused as a human version of a robot.
No one questions Earth Mother, simply because they can¿t remember their old lives. Chemicals are forced into them, hidden on every piece of food, and in every drink. ¿Planet Safe¿ makes it so the people lose their long-term memory, erasing every memory from before ¿Enclosure¿, when Earth Mother took her throne. She re wrote history, re wrote all the songs, and re-wrote any negative aspect of life she found, and made them all positive.
Allegra Goodmann has made this story so interesting that I simply could not put the book down until I had read from cover to cover. She uses vivid imagery to make you feel as if you are Honor, the main character, experiencing the new world as it is now, while living with rebellious parents. She is an amazing writer and The Other Side of the Island just helps to prove it. I loved this book, and I¿m sure any other person would too.

posted by xXalyssaXx on November 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Boring

When I started this book, I was really expecting something awesome from it. The basic concept of the plot is very good : A futuristic world where everyone has to follow the rules and individuality is being drained from society. The first half was okay- not amazing, but ...
When I started this book, I was really expecting something awesome from it. The basic concept of the plot is very good : A futuristic world where everyone has to follow the rules and individuality is being drained from society. The first half was okay- not amazing, but not horrible. About 3/4 of the way through though, it sort of fell flat. It was at a point where everything should be speeding up, bringing you to the climax, getting you excited- but really it just made me bored. The ending left something to be desired.
Overall- not as good as I would've hoped.

posted by Facepalm on March 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    Awesome Read

    The Other Side of the Island is definitely an exciting read; the author takes you on a journey into the future after a world-wide disaster. The people in the story no longer feel safe, as they had just recently had their life ripped away by the forces of nature. They don¿t know what to do- until Earth Mother steps into the picture. Earth Mother is a dictator, who took over what was left of the world, before anyone realized what she was doing. Memories were erased, disagreeing people disappeared, and suddenly the world was incased in a giant bubble. <BR/> No, I am not kidding. Earth Mother feels that the only way to keep humans safe is to ¿reduce, recycle, and reuse¿. Most would compare that to trash, reduce it, recycle it, and reuse it, but Earth Mother means everything. She will reduce the amount of land humans can live on, recycle virtually everything and create her Utopia so earth-friendly that human life becomes harder, and harder. She will also ¿reuse¿ people. If a citizen does not comply to the cities laws, and does not react to ¿persuasive reasoning and positive reinforcement¿, they disappear only to be reused as a human version of a robot.<BR/> No one questions Earth Mother, simply because they can¿t remember their old lives. Chemicals are forced into them, hidden on every piece of food, and in every drink. ¿Planet Safe¿ makes it so the people lose their long-term memory, erasing every memory from before ¿Enclosure¿, when Earth Mother took her throne. She re wrote history, re wrote all the songs, and re-wrote any negative aspect of life she found, and made them all positive.<BR/> Allegra Goodmann has made this story so interesting that I simply could not put the book down until I had read from cover to cover. She uses vivid imagery to make you feel as if you are Honor, the main character, experiencing the new world as it is now, while living with rebellious parents. She is an amazing writer and The Other Side of the Island just helps to prove it. I loved this book, and I¿m sure any other person would too.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    Great, highly recomended

    I recently started this book and just now finished it, definetely pulls you in, recomended for Hunger Games lovers, similar post-apocalyptic setting. Especially fun for me, since my name is Honor, though offensive at times. Great read. Gives you that sudden urge to jump into the story and start whacking the character upside the head for being so stupid, but as great readers know, wisdom ruins the plot. Buy it!!!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Quick but great

    I read about this book in a magazine, and it really interrested me. A few months later I finally decided to puchase it to get a break from the much longer book I knew would take all summer. Another factor that went into my decision was that I had just finished reading a book in creative writing camp, and I enjoyed it. (The book is listed in my recomendations) The book took me two days to read, but I enjoyed reading it very much.
    The book was incredible in the beggining, but towards the middle it was a little dull. The ending however was very open ended for anything could have happened. At first this disapointed me, but when I read the author's note, it was easier to understand why the ending was that open ended. All in all the book was great. I would recomend this book for anyone who enjoys reading similar science fiction.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Tasha for TeensReadToo.com

    It's the eighteenth year of Enclosure and everything on the islands in the Tranquil Sea have become regulated. Earth Mother and her Corporation, who have a vision for a world with only happiness, control everything from jobs to the weather to children's names - and expect everyone to conform to this view of normality, no matter what the consequence. On Island 365 lives a girl named Honor and her family, who don't really fit into this society. <BR/><BR/>While Honor desperately tries to fit in, her parents try even harder to not fit in. They break curfew, don't pray to Mother Earth, and biggest of all have a second child. When Honor meets Helix she soon finds out some dark secrets; those that don't conform soon disappear...forever. <BR/><BR/>Filled with fear that her parents might be taken, Honor tries to change even more, thinking that if she fits in, no attention will be brought to her parents. Will all her efforts be in vain? Will she and Helix uncover more secrets about the island? <BR/><BR/>From the very first paragraph I was drawn into the story and knew that it would be great. As it progressed, I was certainly not disappointed. Having only read a few post-apocalyptic or dystopian society books, I was a little unsure as to what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised with the ability of the book to hold my attention. I felt like most of the characters, especially Honor, were well-developed and real. Something that really stood out to me was Honor's ability to stay real, and very human-like, in a setting composed of conforming events and questions. <BR/><BR/>In this case it was easy to connect with Honor, because the author made the reader have some of the same questions as she did. Ms. Goodman also did a great job of creating suspense within the novel. There were many times where I was not able to pull myself away from the book at all. The questions that the book brings up keep you enthralled and wanting more. Overall, I was very much impressed with THE OTHER SIDE OF THE ISLAND, and am very much hoping that there will be a sequel. <BR/><BR/>Fans of THE CITY OF EMBER, THE UGLIES, and THE GIVER will really enjoy this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    A great read!!

    I recently started reading this book and I already finished it. It is about a brave girl named Honor who finds out what Earth Mother is actually doing.The adventure starts when Honors parents,Will and Pamela, arent following Earth Mothers rules and are Unpredictable. They are then taken by the corperation and Honor or now Heloise goes to get them back. This is a great book and I think you should buy it. The only thing I want to know about is how their lives and Earth Mother concludes. But overall one of the best books ive read!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    The other side of the island

    The other side of the island is the best book I've ever read so far. It is about a brave girl named Honor that doesn't fit in... A lot of things are Not Allowed... I think it is Allegra Goodman's best book so far. I can't wait to read another book by her!I highly recommend that you read this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    My librarian recomended it to me and i absolutly loved it. It made me wonder what would happen if all of a sudden the world almost died but someone saved us. How would we live and who would be in charge. An over-all Good book and i recomend it to anyone who likes to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    really good

    it is a really good book i can't wait for the second one to come out. i am a major bookworm and this makes my list for my favorite books

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Other Side of the Island

    This book is absolutly Amazing!!! If you like books that have strange turn arounds, thn I have a good feeling you will enjoy this book alot!!
    I recomend this book to teenagers and young adults!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Goi O Good book overall

    The book has a very smoothe beggining which was not hard to understand. This was very good since the book has some very weird elements. The plot had good meaning and the book was written very confidently. I would not reccommed the book to anybody without a strong imagination because the book can get very made-up and mythical with no real-world connection. It had an overall good plot with great elements.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Five star book

    I enjoyed this book so much that I have read it three times. Honor tries to fit in by following Earth Mother's rules, although her parents do not. Amazing book and great plot.
    If you liked The Hunger Games trilogy and The City of Ember series you will love this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    One of my favoritr books

    Full of mystery and adventure

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    great!!!

    this book is great i read it last summer i read it in 3 hours

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good book

    Honor knows a few things for certain:
    Being Inaccurate is Not Allowed
    Those who don't fit in disappear
    Enclosure is SAFE or is it
    Different is dangerous
    Earth Mother is always watching
    and she doesn't fit in!!
    Will Honor try to fit in? Will she discover the secrets of the other side of the island, or will ALL be lost?

    This is a totally awesome book for teenagers and young adults. It is fiction and it is set in a futuristic society. Human Robots and a creepy plot. Allegra Goodman is an amazing author that is very descriptive in her writing and it is almost like watching a movie! Perfet awesome amazing book!!! I can't wait to read more of her books!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Boring

    When I started this book, I was really expecting something awesome from it. The basic concept of the plot is very good : A futuristic world where everyone has to follow the rules and individuality is being drained from society. The first half was okay- not amazing, but not horrible. About 3/4 of the way through though, it sort of fell flat. It was at a point where everything should be speeding up, bringing you to the climax, getting you excited- but really it just made me bored. The ending left something to be desired.
    Overall- not as good as I would've hoped.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Amazing!

    This story was well thought out and executed beautifully. A classic Dystopian book. I recommend this to anyone who likes a mystery dipped in sci-fi and coated in a Dystopian setting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    I really really love this book!!!!

    Omg this book keeps you locked forever!!!!!! I love the adventure excitment and thirst dor revolt in this book. Definetly one of my favorites

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    LOVE

    Its amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Good

    It was really good, it was getting dry near the end. I really wish it would tell you the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Not worth the money

    If you're twelve, you might like this book. If you're any older, then pass on this one. It's just not very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3