Customer Reviews for

Other Voices, Other Rooms

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Only To Kill a Mockingbird strikes the same chord

    Only Capote can write in such a way that I feel I have left my chair and joined the character and his world. While reading this I reached a passage that stirred an emotion that I have only felt once before and that was while reading To Kill a Mockingbird. l wonder what really should determine who a work belongs to. Is it whose story it is or is it who tells the story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    Point of View Develops the Theme

    Joel Knox, a boy of just twelve years has just lost his beloved mother and is sent to live with his father, who he has never met. Shipped off to a secluded southern town, Joel is faced with a whole new set of challenges. He is now living with a mentally unstable family, adjusting to a drastic change of life, and slowly losing all sense of innocence. Swimming through an ocean of family secrets and unanswered questions, Joel finds the true meaning of love and life. <P> 'Other Voices, Other Rooms,' is written by Truman Capote, in third person. By using this point of view the author achieves a closeness between each one of the characters and the reader. Through each of the character's eyes it is evident to see the growth of Joel, the main character. The theme is developed not only in the eyes of the reader but also by the characters surrounding Joel. The vivid description, symbolism, and emotion used throughout the story gives a better understanding of the issues addressed in the book. During the teenage years a person finds out a lot about who they are, because one is face with many new challenges. In, 'Other Voices, Other Rooms,' Joel finds the true meaning of love and the purpose of life.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    confusing to me

    There were characters in this book who I truly enjoyed. My problem, and I believe it was my problem, afterall this was written by a literary giant, was that I'd be reading along and understanding what I was reading, and then I would find myself lost in a maze of creative writing. I needed an English tutor. Anyways, after reading this, I'm looking forward to simplicity--Danielle Steele anyone?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    A novel written with sheer brilliance

    Capote was a gifted and brilliant writer. His imagery is out of this world; it grabs you and doesn't let go until it drowns you with vivid and colorful impressions of the world that surrounds you. By all means, treat yourself to this masterpiece. Books like this only bloom once in a century.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite Capote, hands down

    Just read it, it's amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Great characters, visual

    Found myself emerged in the story...great visual writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    No 'Other' quite like it

    Joel Knox is the main character in this riveting and compelling novel of the South. It¿s probably the most ¿true¿ of all of Capote¿s works¿based mostly on his life as a child in Alabama. This is, probably, one of the most perfect books, second only to IN COLD BLOOD which IS the most perfect. Some have likened OTHER VOICES to McCuller¿s THE HEART IS A LONELY HUNTER, but I don¿t take to that comparison. This is much more Gothic and more completely formed than HUNTER. Published in January 1948 and Capote's second novel (but the first to reach print), this still engaging work was a sensation and best seller that year and has been in print ever since. Like Capote himself, it's one of a kind. A misfit young boy, Joel Knox, the product of a broken home (as was Capote), travels from New Orleans to the backwater town of Noon City, Mississippi in search of his unknown father. After twelve years of separation, his father has supposedly written to Joel's loving aunt in New Orleans and wants Joel back. But Joel, longing for his father's love, finds himself in the decaying hothouse home of his stepmother, Miss Amy, and his clever and perverse cousin Randolph, their black 'maid' Zoo, and Zoo's ancient father Jesus Fever. Joel's father is in the house too, but not in the form he anticipated. Two local girls, Florabel and the wild tomboy Idabel, round out the players and are Joel's allies in a threatening world of perversity, mental instability, and sexual ambiguity. Even though he was just 23 when he finished this work, Capote displays tremendous inventiveness, narrative talent, and over-the-top imagery. A coming-of-age story, this work gushes southern atmosphere and contains, in Capote's own words, 'a certain anguished, pleading intensity like the message stuffed in a bottle and thrown into the sea.' It also is semi-autobiographical, 'an attempt to exorcise demons,' although Capote claimed many years later that he was unconscious of this when he wrote it. On another level, this work is also about the elusive search for the father, and the discovery that one is all alone, seeking to feel that 'everything is going to be all right.' As a post-war novel, OTHER VOICES, OTHER ROOMS found an audience longing for the same thing, seeking the safety of a benevolent father in a perverse world, and wanting to grow up and find itself. The only other novel that I enjoyed this much (though it is totally different, yet at the same time Capote-like) was Jackson McCrae¿s KATZENJAMMER (Soon to be a major motion picture) with its twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    An eccentric debut novel

    If you only know Capote through his work in 'In Cold Blood,' then you've experienced only a part of his potential. Capote's first published novel (another unfinished prior novel was put aside and eventually discarded by him), reflects his own emotional journeys through the South, looking for comfort and place. 'Other Voices, Other Rooms' is cast with eccentric characters, atmospheric settings and an overall ethereal quality. At times it reads like a poem viewed through a hazy mist. The story is murky at times and the ending somewhat inconclusive. But readers who are up for a challenge and want to see another side of Capote's talent are bound to find rewarding and intriguing moments in this relatively short novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2