Customer Reviews for

The Other Woman

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The other woman.....

    Jane Green's writing style is awesome and I love her, but the characters in this book bugged me. The main woman in particular was just annoying to me. She made me angry and like I wanted to kill her. It was hard getting through the book because of that, but the concept of the story itself was really good, what with the whole relationship between the mother and the wife, that was pretty original, but her main character was hard to love. I liked the freaking mother in law more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    A fairly entertaining book, though definitely not outstanding. An easry read that doesn't require much thought, and doesn't include a lot of originality. if you want something relatively mindless and forgettable to read, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    It was okay...

    At times it got boring, and the main character's ranting got on my nerves a couple of times. The storyline nor the writing was exceptional. It's good for a light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    i loved the beginning... hated the end!

    I loved the way this book started, it just caught my attention! Loved the first couple of chapters and i started to dislike it because of Ellie's attitude, i thought she was rude at times and horrible to her mother-in-law. Anyway, i kept reading to see if it went back to the beginning, and it never did!! The end sucked!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    A Brat of a Main Character

    While I enjoyed the book (it was entertaining and kept my attention) I often found myself annoyed with the main character. Like someone else mentioned, Ellie was rather heartless and I found this to be quite bothersome throughout the entire book. Maybe the author was trying to portray a complex character I saw a childish, selfish brat who needed to get a clue--did she ever?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Okay

    I really started enjoying the book, by the middle I am just getting bored. It just lost my attention. I don't know I am going to try and finish it. I hope it gets better soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    Not what I had expected

    I picked up this book because I am getting married soon and thought, by reading reviews and the synopsis on the book sleeve, that this book was about a nosy mother-in-law trying to butt in the wedding planning. While the book started off great, the wedding part was only a couple of chapters, and the rest was very disappointing. I could not sympathize with Ellie, and at times I thought she was rather heartless. While the book was well-written, this was my least favorite Jane Green book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Food for Thought

    Jane Green writes stories of real lives with a twist of what you should learn from other people's problems. This follows that theme and gives a true to life image of some relationships that can occur through marriage. While some spots are a bit much, I know personally how one sided these types of relationships can appear. While there is no right or wrong message here, it plays out that it is important to think of the other side of the story, no matter how much you feel you are right. There are two sides to everything. This is a woman's story and is worth reading just to keep your feelings in check. Going overboard is definitely a female domain and here you view that as not the best avenue of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1