Customer Reviews for

Other Words for Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There were plenty of things that I loved about this book. I love

    There were plenty of things that I loved about this book. I loved the characters, I loved the plot, and I loved that feeling of redemption that I got in the end. I loved how this book felt realistic and something that I could fall right into.

    The plot line of this book takes place in the ’80s, when AIDS was a pretty big deal. Ari’s just a normal teenager, trying to keep up great grades in school and sorting out her jealousy of her best friend and feelings that she shouldn’t have for her brother-in-law. In the beginning of the book, I was slowly following along her daily life.

    Then there was a turning point. I just couldn’t put the book down, and I found myself watching Ari change from being influenced by her mother who expected her to be a great artist, by her sister who got pregnant as a teen, by her friends Summer and Leigh, and (of course) by her boyfriend Blake. Ari kept on changing, trying to find who she really was, and at the end of the book I felt like she really did use all her potential — that she finally accepted who she was.

    This book was definitely more suited to the older young adults, what with the sexual content and profanity. But I definitely feel as if this would be a great read for people trying to discover who they really are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Literally love this book.

    Read it, its amazing. Seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Great!

    Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Ari-you are my hero!

    Ari, Evelyn, mom, dad, Summer, Leigh. I could see a little of myself in all of these characters, and I'm 30! Definitely not just for teens. I fell in love with this book, couldn't put it down. Thank you Ms. Rosenthal for giving readers the ending we needed, for completing the story (so often I'm left feeling..."so now what?"), for creating believable characters and for giving us Ari. Please write more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Cool

    Sounds really good

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Love isn't always happily ever after.

    This book is a must read for the highschool set! I love this book because the story is real, it is not a fairytale love story; and is realatable and could very well happen in reality. This story is about girl finding love and also finding out who she is and where she is going in life. It will keep you flipping the pages till the ejd and tug at the strings of your heart. I highly recokmend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    Definitley a page turner!

    OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE is a must read for teens. Through the ups and downs of this well written novel you will keep flipping the pages until you have read it all. The relationship between two younge adults leaves you wanting more and more. Worth the money definitley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Great Read!!

    I was a bit skeptical about reading this but I loved it! Definitely buy it, it's worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    More than a Five-Star Book

    OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE is a fantastic book, the kind you don't find very often, especially in YA. It's the kind of book that you still feel burning in your heart and in your hands when you finish that last page.

    Ari Mitchell, the main character, transcends the usual YA protagonist. She's got her insecurities, but she also knows that she has good qualities to share. The problem is, she doesn't appreciate herself enough, nor do the people around her...her back-stabbing best friend, Summer, her screw-up sister, Evelyn, or all those boys in school who just don't give her a second look. (I kept thinking, "Ari, don't worry! Smart girls like you always end up with the best guys, it just takes a little longer to find them...the guys have to grow up and realize what a quality woman is!")

    Ari's mother is among the few who see all that Ari has to offer. She tells Ari that she's pretty, smart, and headed for a good future. OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE needs to be understood and viewed in a historical context, and that's why the 1980s setting is so crucial to the story. Ari is part of Generation X, which includes the first young women who weren't told to get married, have kids, be a Betty Crocker and join the PTA. Ari's mother probably had those things forced down her throat, but she broke away as much as she could. She became a teacher, and had children, but one of those children (Evelyn) broke her heart when she had a baby at eighteen and has a simple life of homemaking and being a part-time cashier at the local grocery store. Now, with the world having changed so much, Ari's mother wants everything for her daughter that she didn't have: a satisfying career, the ability to support herself, and an exciting, full, rewarding life. She wants the best for her daughter, even though she's much too pushy in trying to make Ari do things her way.

    Ari doesn't know which way to go. She also sees that Evelyn is depressed, that she hasn't fulfilled her potential, and that she's let down their parents. These conflicting thoughts often make Ari as depressed as Evelyn.

    Then along comes Blake...rich, handsome, blue-eyed, sweetheart Blake, every girl's dream, who has an interest in Ari that grows into a serious, sexy, relationship that is supposed to have a future. Ari can't believe her luck, and she starts to see herself as someday "having it all"...Blake as her future husband, beautiful kids, money, a home, and a career as an art professor at a college in her hometown of New York.

    But wait. Blake's father isn't happy with Ari. To him, she's too middle-class, too serious with his son, a girl who is tempting Blake away from his college studies and his planned-out future as the successor to his father's Manhattan law firm.

    But Blake doesn't want to be a lawyer. He loves Ari. So he doesn't have to obey Daddy anymore, does he? Blake is twenty, and he has a mind of his own.......

    Or does he?

    No. Unfortunately, he doesn't, and Ari is left heartbroken. She's left to work through this misery, to shove through thick, dark, stormy clouds in the hope of sunshine.

    Does she find it? Yes, she does, and in a way that isn't from a silly romance novel (or most romantic YA). The ending, like the rest of OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE is real, heartfelt, and absolutely beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Smart,edgy YA read with positive message. Great for teens AND adults!

    I'm an adult reader who loves YA, and OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE is one of the best YA novels I have come across. It's a book that I'll give to my daughter (now 12) when she's older, because in addition to this book being very entertaining and tearjerking, its also inspirational.

    Ari Mitchell, the lead character in the story, is a strong girl and a good example. I loved that she's not unrealistically strong like a cheesey caricature superhero. She's real. She gets hurt, she cries, she does things when she's in a weak spot that she regrets later. But she LEARNS from these things, and she grows and matures, and thats one of the many things that made me connect with her.

    OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE has a great mix of edginess and softness. I love edgy YA novels, and this one definitely is edgy. It dives into tough issues like teen pregnancy, sex, depression, and more while still being a page turner. FIVE STARS and then some!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Amazing!

    I devoured Other Words For Love like it was a freakin' bowl of ice cream. The book is the best. It combines sexiness and romance with a serious story about self-discovery. It's very well-written, inspiring, and I'm in love with it. Amazing, amazing, amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    I devoured Other Words For Love like it was a freakin' bowl of ice cream. The book is the best. It combines sexiness and romance with a serious story about self-discovery. It's very well-written, inspiring, and I'm in love with it. Amazing, amazing, amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Smart, edgy YA read with positive message. Great for teens AND adults!

    I'm an adult reader who loves YA, and OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE is one of the best YA novels I have come across. It's a book that I'll give to my daughter (now 12) when she's older, because in addition to this book being very entertaining and tearjerking, its also inspirational.

    Ari Mitchell, the lead character in the story, is a strong girl and a good example. I loved that she's not unrealistically strong like a cheesey caricature superhero. She's real. She gets hurt, she cries, she does things when she's in a weak spot that she regrets later. But she LEARNS from these things, and she grows and matures, and thats one of the many things that made me connect with her.

    OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE has a great mix of edginess and softness. I love edgy YA novels, and this one definitely is edgy. It dives into tough issues like teen pregnancy, sex, depression, and more while still being a page turner. FIVE STARS and then some!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    A really good read

    This book was sooo good..all i wanted to do was read more. I love the setting the characters the plot. This book was soo amazing you have to read it! I want more books like this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    You need to read this book!

    Believe the hype on this one. Buy it. Read it. I mean that. Go get it right now.

    I had heard that this book was good, and it wasn't a lame and shallow romance, and that's so true. This story is not just about Ari and her boyfriend, Blake. It's about Ari and her mother, Ari and her best friend, Ari and her sister, Ari HERSELF.

    That's the main point of the story: ARI, and how she figures out what's important and that she needs to love and appreciate all that's good about her. Don't expect just a romance because even though you'll get the romance, you'll get other things, too. MANY other things that mean a lot more.

    I LOVED the ending. Ari could have been a wuss, but...NO. She was strong. She was an independent woman. She didn't let anyone wipe their dirty feet on her. I was just PROUD of that girl.

    This book completely sucked me in and didn't let go. I'm sort of having withdrawals now that I'm finished. My advice is to get a copy of it. Like I said before. Get it now. You'll thank me later. Seriously, you will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    You need to read this book!

    Believe the hype on this one. Buy it. Read it. I mean that. Go get it right now.

    I had heard that this book was good, and it wasn't a lame and shallow romance, and that's so true. This story is not just about Ari and her boyfriend, Blake. It's about Ari and her mother, Ari and her best friend, Ari and her sister, Ari HERSELF.

    That's the main point of the story: ARI, and how she figures out what's important and that she needs to love and appreciate all that's good about her. Don't expect just a romance because even though you'll get the romance, you'll get other things, too. MANY other things that mean a lot more.

    I LOVED the ending. Ari could have been a wuss, but...NO. She was strong. She was an independent woman. She didn't let anyone wipe their dirty feet on her. I was just PROUD of that girl.

    This book completely sucked me in and didn't let go. I'm sort of having withdrawals now that I'm finished. My advice is to get a copy of it. Like I said before. Get it now. You'll thank me later. Seriously, you will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    A sophisticated YA novel for teens and adults

    Having read so many other 5-star reviews, there are only a few original things I can add. But first I have to agree that this book is extremely well-written, that the characters have depth and are compelling, the protagonist (Ari) is very sympathetic, and that the story is a gripping tear-jerker. I was also impressed with this novel's realistic portrayal of teen sex, teen pregnancy, dysfunctional familial relationships, death, depression, loneliness, feminism (it's veiled, but it's there), and becoming an adult.

    The only additional comment I can make is that I was sincerely impressed with the author's ability to capture time and place. Nothing is overdone. It's just there, working quietly to create the setting. For example, there is a scene where Ari is inside her boyfriend's brother's apartment in New York City, and she says: "There was a window. . .I saw gargoyles on the neighboring building. Or maybe they were dragons. . .I saw spooky angel faces with apple cheeks and rosebud lips."

    Those types of passages are throughout the novel, and they made me back up and savor the words.

    The time period is also well-done, and the decade's position between the new millennium and the 1960s-70s is subtly pinpointed: "I wished I could sleep in a fairy tale instead of on Evelyn's rickety old canopy bed from when Lyndon Johnson was president."

    I also relished so many of the emotional images that are woven into this intricate story. Ari's sister Evelyn became pregnant as a teenager, and the author portrays this situation with a sad image: "I wondered if this was how my sister had felt when she left home with her pregnant stomach and her princess phone."

    Being an adult who reads YA literature, I was highly impressed with this novel, which I enjoyed tremendously, and I recommend it for teenagers who can handle mature themes, and for adults who appreciate sophisticated YA fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    A sophisticated YA novel for teens and adults

    Having read so many other 5-star reviews, there are only a few original things I can add. But first I have to agree that this book is extremely well-written, that the characters have depth and are compelling, the protagonist (Ari) is very sympathetic, and that the story is a gripping tear-jerker. I was also impressed with this novel's realistic portrayal of teen sex, teen pregnancy, dysfunctional familial relationships, death, depression, loneliness, feminism (it's veiled, but it's there), and becoming an adult.

    The only additional comment I can make is that I was sincerely impressed with the author's ability to capture time and place. Nothing is overdone. It's just there, working quietly to create the setting. For example, there is a scene where Ari is inside her boyfriend's brother's apartment in New York City, and she says: "There was a window. . .I saw gargoyles on the neighboring building. Or maybe they were dragons. . .I saw spooky angel faces with apple cheeks and rosebud lips."

    Those types of passages are throughout the novel, and they made me back up and savor the words.

    The time period is also well-done, and the decade's position between the new millennium and the 1960s-70s is subtly pinpointed: "I wished I could sleep in a fairy tale instead of on Evelyn's rickety old canopy bed from when Lyndon Johnson was president."

    I also relished so many of the emotional images that are woven into this intricate story. Ari's sister Evelyn became pregnant as a teenager, and the author portrays this situation with a sad image: "I wondered if this was how my sister had felt when she left home with her pregnant stomach and her princess phone."

    Being an adult who reads YA literature, I was highly impressed with this novel, which I enjoyed tremendously, and I recommend it for teenagers who can handle mature themes, and for adults who appreciate sophisticated YA fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    I Loved It!!!

    this is without a doubt one of the best books ive read. it's extreamly well written. there are comical moments, intense moments, deep moments, and very emotional moments. i cried at the end because it was so good! the writing really drew me in and i felt like i was apart of the book. the characters are realistic and so are the events. i read it in about 3 days! i couldnt put it down! such a great book and is recommended to mature teens, young adults, and adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Other Words For Love

    I personally love this book. it is one of my favorites. i can relate in some ways, but because we are just 'kids' those older than us tend to dismiss our emotions alot of the time. the author really takes you into how Ari felt throughout this entire ordeal. she should have listened to her friends, then maybe she wouldnt have been hurt so badly, but in the end it is always our decision. we can see this with thia story. it is z must read. i read it quickly and then told all my friends about it:) i was glad to see that it ended the way it did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3