Customer Reviews for

Other Words for Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    Amazing novel

    Amazing novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2015

    Beautiful Beautiful, realistic book with a perfect and empoweri

    Beautiful

    Beautiful, realistic book with a perfect and empowering ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2015

    Recently discovered this author via People Magazine, and I have

    Recently discovered this author via People Magazine, and I have now read all of her books. Other Words For Love is gorgeous...a heartbreaking but empowering tale of a teen girl's coming of age in 1980s New York. I was not surprised to learn the author is a New Yorker, because she really nails the setting. The story contains so many subtle nuances of the class structure in NYC...only someone who is from there could depict them this well. The book made me sigh, laugh, cry, and want to read it again. It also made me wish I could step back into the '80s...if only for one day filled with lace, neon, and Duran Duran.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Literally love this book.

    Read it, its amazing. Seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Great!

    Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Ari-you are my hero!

    Ari, Evelyn, mom, dad, Summer, Leigh. I could see a little of myself in all of these characters, and I'm 30! Definitely not just for teens. I fell in love with this book, couldn't put it down. Thank you Ms. Rosenthal for giving readers the ending we needed, for completing the story (so often I'm left feeling..."so now what?"), for creating believable characters and for giving us Ari. Please write more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Cool

    Sounds really good

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    Definitley a page turner!

    OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE is a must read for teens. Through the ups and downs of this well written novel you will keep flipping the pages until you have read it all. The relationship between two younge adults leaves you wanting more and more. Worth the money definitley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    More than a Five-Star Book

    OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE is a fantastic book, the kind you don't find very often, especially in YA. It's the kind of book that you still feel burning in your heart and in your hands when you finish that last page.

    Ari Mitchell, the main character, transcends the usual YA protagonist. She's got her insecurities, but she also knows that she has good qualities to share. The problem is, she doesn't appreciate herself enough, nor do the people around her...her back-stabbing best friend, Summer, her screw-up sister, Evelyn, or all those boys in school who just don't give her a second look. (I kept thinking, "Ari, don't worry! Smart girls like you always end up with the best guys, it just takes a little longer to find them...the guys have to grow up and realize what a quality woman is!")

    Ari's mother is among the few who see all that Ari has to offer. She tells Ari that she's pretty, smart, and headed for a good future. OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE needs to be understood and viewed in a historical context, and that's why the 1980s setting is so crucial to the story. Ari is part of Generation X, which includes the first young women who weren't told to get married, have kids, be a Betty Crocker and join the PTA. Ari's mother probably had those things forced down her throat, but she broke away as much as she could. She became a teacher, and had children, but one of those children (Evelyn) broke her heart when she had a baby at eighteen and has a simple life of homemaking and being a part-time cashier at the local grocery store. Now, with the world having changed so much, Ari's mother wants everything for her daughter that she didn't have: a satisfying career, the ability to support herself, and an exciting, full, rewarding life. She wants the best for her daughter, even though she's much too pushy in trying to make Ari do things her way.

    Ari doesn't know which way to go. She also sees that Evelyn is depressed, that she hasn't fulfilled her potential, and that she's let down their parents. These conflicting thoughts often make Ari as depressed as Evelyn.

    Then along comes Blake...rich, handsome, blue-eyed, sweetheart Blake, every girl's dream, who has an interest in Ari that grows into a serious, sexy, relationship that is supposed to have a future. Ari can't believe her luck, and she starts to see herself as someday "having it all"...Blake as her future husband, beautiful kids, money, a home, and a career as an art professor at a college in her hometown of New York.

    But wait. Blake's father isn't happy with Ari. To him, she's too middle-class, too serious with his son, a girl who is tempting Blake away from his college studies and his planned-out future as the successor to his father's Manhattan law firm.

    But Blake doesn't want to be a lawyer. He loves Ari. So he doesn't have to obey Daddy anymore, does he? Blake is twenty, and he has a mind of his own.......

    Or does he?

    No. Unfortunately, he doesn't, and Ari is left heartbroken. She's left to work through this misery, to shove through thick, dark, stormy clouds in the hope of sunshine.

    Does she find it? Yes, she does, and in a way that isn't from a silly romance novel (or most romantic YA). The ending, like the rest of OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE is real, heartfelt, and absolutely beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Smart,edgy YA read with positive message. Great for teens AND adults!

    I'm an adult reader who loves YA, and OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE is one of the best YA novels I have come across. It's a book that I'll give to my daughter (now 12) when she's older, because in addition to this book being very entertaining and tearjerking, its also inspirational.

    Ari Mitchell, the lead character in the story, is a strong girl and a good example. I loved that she's not unrealistically strong like a cheesey caricature superhero. She's real. She gets hurt, she cries, she does things when she's in a weak spot that she regrets later. But she LEARNS from these things, and she grows and matures, and thats one of the many things that made me connect with her.

    OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE has a great mix of edginess and softness. I love edgy YA novels, and this one definitely is edgy. It dives into tough issues like teen pregnancy, sex, depression, and more while still being a page turner. FIVE STARS and then some!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Amazing!

    I devoured Other Words For Love like it was a freakin' bowl of ice cream. The book is the best. It combines sexiness and romance with a serious story about self-discovery. It's very well-written, inspiring, and I'm in love with it. Amazing, amazing, amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    I devoured Other Words For Love like it was a freakin' bowl of ice cream. The book is the best. It combines sexiness and romance with a serious story about self-discovery. It's very well-written, inspiring, and I'm in love with it. Amazing, amazing, amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Smart, edgy YA read with positive message. Great for teens AND adults!

    I'm an adult reader who loves YA, and OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE is one of the best YA novels I have come across. It's a book that I'll give to my daughter (now 12) when she's older, because in addition to this book being very entertaining and tearjerking, its also inspirational.

    Ari Mitchell, the lead character in the story, is a strong girl and a good example. I loved that she's not unrealistically strong like a cheesey caricature superhero. She's real. She gets hurt, she cries, she does things when she's in a weak spot that she regrets later. But she LEARNS from these things, and she grows and matures, and thats one of the many things that made me connect with her.

    OTHER WORDS FOR LOVE has a great mix of edginess and softness. I love edgy YA novels, and this one definitely is edgy. It dives into tough issues like teen pregnancy, sex, depression, and more while still being a page turner. FIVE STARS and then some!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    A really good read

    This book was sooo good..all i wanted to do was read more. I love the setting the characters the plot. This book was soo amazing you have to read it! I want more books like this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    You need to read this book!

    Believe the hype on this one. Buy it. Read it. I mean that. Go get it right now.

    I had heard that this book was good, and it wasn't a lame and shallow romance, and that's so true. This story is not just about Ari and her boyfriend, Blake. It's about Ari and her mother, Ari and her best friend, Ari and her sister, Ari HERSELF.

    That's the main point of the story: ARI, and how she figures out what's important and that she needs to love and appreciate all that's good about her. Don't expect just a romance because even though you'll get the romance, you'll get other things, too. MANY other things that mean a lot more.

    I LOVED the ending. Ari could have been a wuss, but...NO. She was strong. She was an independent woman. She didn't let anyone wipe their dirty feet on her. I was just PROUD of that girl.

    This book completely sucked me in and didn't let go. I'm sort of having withdrawals now that I'm finished. My advice is to get a copy of it. Like I said before. Get it now. You'll thank me later. Seriously, you will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    You need to read this book!

    Believe the hype on this one. Buy it. Read it. I mean that. Go get it right now.

    I had heard that this book was good, and it wasn't a lame and shallow romance, and that's so true. This story is not just about Ari and her boyfriend, Blake. It's about Ari and her mother, Ari and her best friend, Ari and her sister, Ari HERSELF.

    That's the main point of the story: ARI, and how she figures out what's important and that she needs to love and appreciate all that's good about her. Don't expect just a romance because even though you'll get the romance, you'll get other things, too. MANY other things that mean a lot more.

    I LOVED the ending. Ari could have been a wuss, but...NO. She was strong. She was an independent woman. She didn't let anyone wipe their dirty feet on her. I was just PROUD of that girl.

    This book completely sucked me in and didn't let go. I'm sort of having withdrawals now that I'm finished. My advice is to get a copy of it. Like I said before. Get it now. You'll thank me later. Seriously, you will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    A sophisticated YA novel for teens and adults

    Having read so many other 5-star reviews, there are only a few original things I can add. But first I have to agree that this book is extremely well-written, that the characters have depth and are compelling, the protagonist (Ari) is very sympathetic, and that the story is a gripping tear-jerker. I was also impressed with this novel's realistic portrayal of teen sex, teen pregnancy, dysfunctional familial relationships, death, depression, loneliness, feminism (it's veiled, but it's there), and becoming an adult.

    The only additional comment I can make is that I was sincerely impressed with the author's ability to capture time and place. Nothing is overdone. It's just there, working quietly to create the setting. For example, there is a scene where Ari is inside her boyfriend's brother's apartment in New York City, and she says: "There was a window. . .I saw gargoyles on the neighboring building. Or maybe they were dragons. . .I saw spooky angel faces with apple cheeks and rosebud lips."

    Those types of passages are throughout the novel, and they made me back up and savor the words.

    The time period is also well-done, and the decade's position between the new millennium and the 1960s-70s is subtly pinpointed: "I wished I could sleep in a fairy tale instead of on Evelyn's rickety old canopy bed from when Lyndon Johnson was president."

    I also relished so many of the emotional images that are woven into this intricate story. Ari's sister Evelyn became pregnant as a teenager, and the author portrays this situation with a sad image: "I wondered if this was how my sister had felt when she left home with her pregnant stomach and her princess phone."

    Being an adult who reads YA literature, I was highly impressed with this novel, which I enjoyed tremendously, and I recommend it for teenagers who can handle mature themes, and for adults who appreciate sophisticated YA fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    A sophisticated YA novel for teens and adults

    Having read so many other 5-star reviews, there are only a few original things I can add. But first I have to agree that this book is extremely well-written, that the characters have depth and are compelling, the protagonist (Ari) is very sympathetic, and that the story is a gripping tear-jerker. I was also impressed with this novel's realistic portrayal of teen sex, teen pregnancy, dysfunctional familial relationships, death, depression, loneliness, feminism (it's veiled, but it's there), and becoming an adult.

    The only additional comment I can make is that I was sincerely impressed with the author's ability to capture time and place. Nothing is overdone. It's just there, working quietly to create the setting. For example, there is a scene where Ari is inside her boyfriend's brother's apartment in New York City, and she says: "There was a window. . .I saw gargoyles on the neighboring building. Or maybe they were dragons. . .I saw spooky angel faces with apple cheeks and rosebud lips."

    Those types of passages are throughout the novel, and they made me back up and savor the words.

    The time period is also well-done, and the decade's position between the new millennium and the 1960s-70s is subtly pinpointed: "I wished I could sleep in a fairy tale instead of on Evelyn's rickety old canopy bed from when Lyndon Johnson was president."

    I also relished so many of the emotional images that are woven into this intricate story. Ari's sister Evelyn became pregnant as a teenager, and the author portrays this situation with a sad image: "I wondered if this was how my sister had felt when she left home with her pregnant stomach and her princess phone."

    Being an adult who reads YA literature, I was highly impressed with this novel, which I enjoyed tremendously, and I recommend it for teenagers who can handle mature themes, and for adults who appreciate sophisticated YA fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    I Loved It!!!

    this is without a doubt one of the best books ive read. it's extreamly well written. there are comical moments, intense moments, deep moments, and very emotional moments. i cried at the end because it was so good! the writing really drew me in and i felt like i was apart of the book. the characters are realistic and so are the events. i read it in about 3 days! i couldnt put it down! such a great book and is recommended to mature teens, young adults, and adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    My New Favorite Young Adult Novel

    I really loved this book...it's well-written, emotional, deep, and has well-developed characters. It's unusual to see such character development in YA. In most YA novels, the parents are phantoms...they are there, but they don't really exist. Mothers are usually written as annoying, stupid, unrealistic. I'm not saying that Ari (the main character)'s mother didn't annoy her, but the mother was so developed that I understood her as much as I understood Ari. I felt bad for her sometimes, honestly. I could tell that the mother wanted things in her life that she couldn't have...and maybe she shouldn't have pushed that on Ari, but she saw that Ari had the smarts to be something important, to achieve things, and she didn't want Ari to throw all of that away. Lorraine Zago Rosenthal, the author of this novel, has an amazing ability to make the reader see all sides of these characters. For example, even though Ari's sister, Evelyn, could be really mean, especially to Ari, I felt for her too...she was a teen mom, she knew her parents looked at her as a screw-up, and being a wife and mother at her young age wasn't as easy as she planned. Every characer in the story is like this...they have their good and bad sides, just like every normal human being. What is also so good about "Other Words For Love" is that even though it has a love story and romance, that's not the whole story. It's really a coming-of-age tale about Ari, how she finds herself after going through a serious relationship with her boyfriend, the rich and handsome Blake Ellis. I loved that I got to meet and be with Ari before and after her relationship with Blake. Before she got involved with him, she was very lonely, she was longing for affection, she wanted someone to make her his first priority the way Evelyn's husband Patrick always put Evelyn first. If this background wasn't there, I wouldn't have bought what happened during and after her relationship with Blake. But since this was all laid out so well, I fully sympathized with Ari and was really inside her head through the entire thing. I like that Ari is a strong character at the end, but she's not so tough all the time. I could relate to that, and also her depression, which Ari doesn't even always know she has. She just feels bad a lot, and everything looks dark, and eventually she learns that what she has is a treatable condition. There were many deep issues covered in this novel, and they all worked to enhance the plot and the characters. I loved Ari's observations, like when she notices that her sister's "friends" are just as catty as high school girls, and that they want Evelyn to fail as a mother. Ari is smart, and she learns a lot, and I was so happy for how things turned out for her. I'm so glad that she found herself. I loved that the ending was realistic and not a dumb fairy tale. This was just a great book, that's all I can say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3