Customer Reviews for

Otherkin

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

OMG what a roller coaster. I can say for sure I was never once

OMG what a roller coaster. I can say for sure I was never once bored on this trip. What drew me to Otherkin was the amazing cover. Yeah it is cover love again. But dang could that cover be any better, I think not! Just perfect. Otherkin has a good strong plot and l...
OMG what a roller coaster. I can say for sure I was never once bored on this trip. What drew me to Otherkin was the amazing cover. Yeah it is cover love again. But dang could that cover be any better, I think not! Just perfect. Otherkin has a good strong plot and lots of action to keep anyone entertained. The writing is good, and flows nicely. I found myself drug into Dez's life with her personality and honest reactions. I would have to say I relate more to her than I have to many other heroines. Sometimes there is that one MC that just stands out, and Dez is it.

Dez is a girl who has been restricted by health issues. She doesn't feel comfortable around boys or really anyone for that matter. She is angry and frustrated as most people would be. Dez is literally caged in, waiting to break free. And boy does she ever! When Dez breaks free of her confines she turns into one powerhouse of a girl. With the restrictions removed, it's like a whole new Dez emerges from the ashes. The thing I loved best about Dez is when push came to shove she had no problem biting back. There were several times I found myself thinking "Oh yeah, now that's girl power" and "you tell him Dez" You know what I am talking about. When the leading guy Caleb starts to draw away from her, Dez doesn't do the whole OMG he doesn't like me anymore and cry. Heck no, she tells him the hell off and makes him feel the way she does. I have to admire her for this, now to me this is an honest reaction! Dez, you rock!

Caleb is a very mysterious guy who Dez meets in a cell next to hers. I found him both protective and sweet. Sure he has his moments of pigheadedness, but hey once you find out why you will understand. I love that he is both protective of Dez but he doesn't try to push her into doing things she doesn't want to. He lets her make her own decisions even if there's a chance she will get hurt, not saying he won't be there to try to stop it though ;) I found Caleb to be level headed, he didn't let things get in the way of what he had to do, even if it was Dez herself. I respect him for that. Bottom line, Caleb = swoon. He has won me over.

Otherkin is a great book. If you are looking for a book to take you away from the everyday, this is it. The author has an original plot filled with tons of action and an equal amount of romance. I loved to concept of Callers, very unique. I can't wait to find out more about them. I also can't wait to find out more about Dez and her abilities. I will definitely have my calendar marked when part 2 comes out. Take a chance on Otherkin, you won't regret it.

posted by Ravelin on September 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

!

99% of the so called reviews are plot spoilers. Each of these should be deleted and the posters banned. To ruin a book for other readers is rude and inconsiderate. I bet you stand at the theater door and tell movie goers the ending before the movie starts too!

posted by 8888649 on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Not just for teens..

    I'm 32 and really really enjoyed this book. Finished it in one sitting. Can't wait to read the next book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In Nina Berry┬┐s debut YA series, the reader is introduced to Des

    In Nina Berry’s debut YA series, the reader is introduced to Desdemona Grey, a socially awkward teenager dealing with teenager issues including having to wear an embarrassing back brace to prevent curvature of the spine (this back brace plays a very important if not strange role later on). Her life is completely normal until one day she shifts into Siberian Tiger and is tranquilized by a group of armed assailants. After waking up in a cage across for the handsome Caleb Elazar, Dez learns that she is an Otherkin Shifter and her life as she knows it is about the change. Berry does a great job describing this new world without losing the reader’s attention.

    Dez already knew she was adopted after being abandoned in the wilds of Sibera. Her mother who was somehow drawn to her, is relatively easy to convince that Dez is special. To protect her family after escaping with Caleb from the dungeon of the Tribunal (who are out to kill all Otherkin), Dez sends them into hunting and joins Caleb at a “school” for Otherkin. There she learns about herself (even though everyone seems to be frightened of her but won’t say why). She learns that Caleb is a Caller who are normally enemies of the Otherkin. Their attraction to each other is quite evident throughout the story. Dez also learns that not one of the Tribe’s (made up of all the different shifters) get along, they have always only looked out for themselves and could care less if on Tribe is being hunted to extinction. Dez knows that to survive they must work together, but how is a teenager suppose to unite everyone after centuries of fighting amongst themselves?

    I definitely loved this first installment and look forward to reading book two. There is very creative writing involved in Otherkin that delivers a fast-paced intriguing read. Using teenagers to show adults that fighting among themselves will only lead to the death of all of them is ingenious on Berry’s part. I became invested in each of the teenagers of the school and can’t wait to learn more about them. Highly recommend for all YA urban fantasy fans who are looking for a new series to start.

    (book was provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Otherkin

    I have been literally dying to read Otherkin by author Nina Berry. I expected so much from it and guys, I got everything and the moon from the novel (what’s up in-book reference?). It sounded like the perfect mix of everything a reader like myself could want; Shape-shifters, thrills, romance action—definitely my cup of tea. If there’s one thing about the novel that I didn’t expect it would be the start of the novel, I seriously had no idea what to expect and was shocked to see that the novel just throws me into the story. Otherkin is filled with non-stop action from start to finish.

    The novel itself (and I feel I should put this because what I saw on the back of the book didn’t tell me much) is about main character Dez who finds herself able to shape-shift from a teenage girl with spine problems to a freaking tiger. That’s pretty awesome-sauce already and you know it. Care if I add into the awesomeness? Not only can Dez shape-shift, but she finds herself on the run from a group of people called the Tribunal who have taken it to themselves to hunt down every shape-shifter. On the run with her Caller friend, Dez has to learn to control her new found abilities before all hell breaks loose.

    I make it sound pretty awesome-sauce, but I’m just telling it like it is, guys.

    The one thing that I’m usually hesitant about when I read Shape-shifter novels is that I usually hate the descriptions about bones crunching and joints moving and pain. It’s a mess in my head that I seriously hate hearing about. Finally, I found a novel that gave me a better representation of what a “change” should feel like. It was both realistic and actually made sense considering the type of world the shifters grow up in.

    I absolutely adored the world of the otherkin because it was the type of world that I have been waiting a very long time to read about. It’s full of secrecy and danger and shadow magic and I fell in love with it—hard. Did I think the shifters were cool? Yes. Did I think that the callers like Caleb were cool? Hell yes. Being able to manipulate the states of matter and the shape of things is a power that I wouldn’t mind and when it came to Caleb I found Callers getting cooler and cooler. Especially when Caleb is such a romantic and still your typical guy with typical guy responses.

    While I did love the story, I found (and this is my only complaint) that this novel did have a slow start. But that’s okay, because once Caleb and Dez finally find Morfael the story got so deep into the otherkin lore that I was hooked! Plus Morfael was the Master Shifu of the novel (if you’ve seen Kung-fu Panda you should know that reference…).

    I would recommend this novel to fans of the Nightshade series, fans of YA supernatural and readers who want some romance with an otherworldly twist. Now go find your inner animal.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Otherkin is a very great book. Very different than most I have r

    Otherkin is a very great book. Very different than most I have read, because here, the characters shift into animals! Being a lover of animals, it was very fun to see what animals each character shifted to, and how they acted in their animal form. Nina Berry did a great job in writing about the animal's feelings, because it felt so real! Everything was so detailed, and I think she did a great job in writing this book! Dez, the main protagonist, has felt out of place all her life. Being adopted into a family, (but a very loving family), and wearing a back brace, and not being able to fit at school. She also doesn't know that she can shift into a lion. Until the day where she gets kidnapped and finds herself locked in a cage. Locked in the cage beside her, she meets Caleb, and that's when she knows everything about herself and her new enemies.
    The adventure in the book starts immediately, and I'm glad I didn't have to wait for the story to start. It was action after action, which never left me bored. All the characters felt relatable, so I really enjoyed reading about each and everyone of them. What I really liked about this book is that it wasn't predictable. It didn't go with the flow of most books, which made me enjoy it more! I don't want to say much about this book, due to not spoiling things, but some parts made me really laugh as well. Caleb was the type of guy who was hard to understand. He wasn't a shifter like Dez, but a caller. Despite their differences, I really liked how the two worked together, and developed their trust for each other. Later we meet the other characters in the book, or shall I say, the other Otherkin. Nina Berry did a great job in the world building, and the fantasy in this book was great! The romance was the exact touch we needed. Not to much and not to little.
    I have to admit that some parts in the book were confusing to understand. The fighting, and the magical part of the story wasn't clearly described. Sometimes I would find myself skimming through those parts, just to get to the good parts. Anyhow, I really enjoyed reading this book. From the characters, to the world building, everything was fun and enjoyable to read. The ending was good, but it did leave me wanting to know what happens next! I cannot wait to get my hands on the sequel of the book, Othermoon!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Valerie Book provided by the publisher for review Re

    Reviewed by Valerie
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Oh yeah! This one is different and hooked me from the beginning. What made it even more appealing is that the main character, Dez, has no clue what’s going on in her life and as she finds out, so does the reader…what’s going on you want to know? Plenty! Adopted as an infant with loving parents, for the past two years, Desdemona, aka Dez, has been wearing a stifling back brace fighting the curving of her spine. Then, one night she goes to a school dance and a boy puts his arms around her, but she’s horrified he might touch her brace and rushes home.

    At home, she fights the anger inside of her at the unfairness of having to wear a brace 23 hours a day and bigger clothes to hide it, besides the bruises on her hips. During this moment of anger, she shifts. Yes, you read that right…shifts…into a tiger, no less. The moment changes her life as she is soon captured and introduced to the world of “other.”

    The world that Nina Berry has created is fascinating with teens that shift into animal shapes, others that can conjure shadows, as well as being chased by the Tribunal trying to cleanse the world of all shifters. Enter boy crush, Caleb, and the story was flowing with all sorts of twists and turns!

    As Dez fights to protect her parents, figure out her relationship with Caleb, and become comfortable with who and what she is, she strengthens her skills at a make-shift school for teens like her. However, as she learns more and more, she has even more questions and unusual things happening to her, just her.

    Read on to see what happens to Dez, Caleb, and her friends! Othermoon, the sequel, will be released in February, 2013.

    Favorite Quote:What are you when the moon shall rise?
    -Sir Henry Wotton, 1620

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Confused?

    Is this book one or two?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    'Otherkin' is a fantastic start to what promises to be an amazin

    'Otherkin' is a fantastic start to what promises to be an amazing YA fantasy/paranormal series. I haven't read any shifter books in quite awhile, so I was really interested when I picked these up for review. Let me tell you - I was NOT disappointed! This book went far beyond any hopes or expectations I may have had for it. The characters were well formed with distinct personalities, strengths, and weaknesses. I loved the main character of Dez. She's down to earth, smart, and a girl who doesn't get into trouble - she's realistic. We definitely get to see her character grow throughout the book as she begins to change into her "real" self and as she learns who - and what - she really is. I absolutely loved the background and history of the Otherkin. I wanted to know as much about them as I could, and I'm really hoping the author shares more of it in the next book. The plot was intriguing with a solid backstory and tons of action, adventure, fantasy and even some romance mixed in. There's something for every genre fan in this book, which really makes it appeal to a wide audience. The writing was incredible with a natural but fast pace and vivid details that made me feel like I was experiencing everything right alongside Dez. Definitely highly recommended for fans of the genre as well as those who want something fresh and different.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Jhhhh

    I have not got very far but its good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Active until the end.

    I bought this as a special of the day book. Im so glad i did. I frequently read paranormal books, but not many about shape shifters. This book has a great and active story plot behind it that continues until the very end. I cant wait to read the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Nice imagination for other world life. A fun read. Wanting to know what comes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1