BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Otherkin

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

OMG what a roller coaster. I can say for sure I was never once

OMG what a roller coaster. I can say for sure I was never once bored on this trip. What drew me to Otherkin was the amazing cover. Yeah it is cover love again. But dang could that cover be any better, I think not! Just perfect. Otherkin has a good strong plot and l...
OMG what a roller coaster. I can say for sure I was never once bored on this trip. What drew me to Otherkin was the amazing cover. Yeah it is cover love again. But dang could that cover be any better, I think not! Just perfect. Otherkin has a good strong plot and lots of action to keep anyone entertained. The writing is good, and flows nicely. I found myself drug into Dez's life with her personality and honest reactions. I would have to say I relate more to her than I have to many other heroines. Sometimes there is that one MC that just stands out, and Dez is it.

Dez is a girl who has been restricted by health issues. She doesn't feel comfortable around boys or really anyone for that matter. She is angry and frustrated as most people would be. Dez is literally caged in, waiting to break free. And boy does she ever! When Dez breaks free of her confines she turns into one powerhouse of a girl. With the restrictions removed, it's like a whole new Dez emerges from the ashes. The thing I loved best about Dez is when push came to shove she had no problem biting back. There were several times I found myself thinking "Oh yeah, now that's girl power" and "you tell him Dez" You know what I am talking about. When the leading guy Caleb starts to draw away from her, Dez doesn't do the whole OMG he doesn't like me anymore and cry. Heck no, she tells him the hell off and makes him feel the way she does. I have to admire her for this, now to me this is an honest reaction! Dez, you rock!

Caleb is a very mysterious guy who Dez meets in a cell next to hers. I found him both protective and sweet. Sure he has his moments of pigheadedness, but hey once you find out why you will understand. I love that he is both protective of Dez but he doesn't try to push her into doing things she doesn't want to. He lets her make her own decisions even if there's a chance she will get hurt, not saying he won't be there to try to stop it though ;) I found Caleb to be level headed, he didn't let things get in the way of what he had to do, even if it was Dez herself. I respect him for that. Bottom line, Caleb = swoon. He has won me over.

Otherkin is a great book. If you are looking for a book to take you away from the everyday, this is it. The author has an original plot filled with tons of action and an equal amount of romance. I loved to concept of Callers, very unique. I can't wait to find out more about them. I also can't wait to find out more about Dez and her abilities. I will definitely have my calendar marked when part 2 comes out. Take a chance on Otherkin, you won't regret it.

posted by Ravelin on September 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

!

99% of the so called reviews are plot spoilers. Each of these should be deleted and the posters banned. To ruin a book for other readers is rude and inconsiderate. I bet you stand at the theater door and tell movie goers the ending before the movie starts too!

posted by 8888649 on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    OMG what a roller coaster. I can say for sure I was never once

    OMG what a roller coaster. I can say for sure I was never once bored on this trip. What drew me to Otherkin was the amazing cover. Yeah it is cover love again. But dang could that cover be any better, I think not! Just perfect. Otherkin has a good strong plot and lots of action to keep anyone entertained. The writing is good, and flows nicely. I found myself drug into Dez's life with her personality and honest reactions. I would have to say I relate more to her than I have to many other heroines. Sometimes there is that one MC that just stands out, and Dez is it.

    Dez is a girl who has been restricted by health issues. She doesn't feel comfortable around boys or really anyone for that matter. She is angry and frustrated as most people would be. Dez is literally caged in, waiting to break free. And boy does she ever! When Dez breaks free of her confines she turns into one powerhouse of a girl. With the restrictions removed, it's like a whole new Dez emerges from the ashes. The thing I loved best about Dez is when push came to shove she had no problem biting back. There were several times I found myself thinking "Oh yeah, now that's girl power" and "you tell him Dez" You know what I am talking about. When the leading guy Caleb starts to draw away from her, Dez doesn't do the whole OMG he doesn't like me anymore and cry. Heck no, she tells him the hell off and makes him feel the way she does. I have to admire her for this, now to me this is an honest reaction! Dez, you rock!

    Caleb is a very mysterious guy who Dez meets in a cell next to hers. I found him both protective and sweet. Sure he has his moments of pigheadedness, but hey once you find out why you will understand. I love that he is both protective of Dez but he doesn't try to push her into doing things she doesn't want to. He lets her make her own decisions even if there's a chance she will get hurt, not saying he won't be there to try to stop it though ;) I found Caleb to be level headed, he didn't let things get in the way of what he had to do, even if it was Dez herself. I respect him for that. Bottom line, Caleb = swoon. He has won me over.

    Otherkin is a great book. If you are looking for a book to take you away from the everyday, this is it. The author has an original plot filled with tons of action and an equal amount of romance. I loved to concept of Callers, very unique. I can't wait to find out more about them. I also can't wait to find out more about Dez and her abilities. I will definitely have my calendar marked when part 2 comes out. Take a chance on Otherkin, you won't regret it.

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Had to review this one!

    Not even done reading this one yet and felt compelled to shout my 'Yes!' on this one!

    Even though this is a 'Young Adult/Teen' book, the Otherkin has captured me in Shadow and has yet to release its hold. I am 39 and cannot seem to put this book down. I have stayed up late, been late for work (thank goodness I will finish it tonight...lol).

    The characters of Dez and Caleb have a great chemistry that seems to be spot on with teens these days. Does not run to cheesy. Without boring details, you still get a sense of the other characters as well. Glimpsing their backgrounds and general history of Otherkin.

    I cannot wait to FB this post or Pin it! I hope she has more books, I think I may be adding another fav to my author list!

    Another reason this book intrigued me was that I was tired of vampires, wolves, shifters, wizards witches, callers, faes...etc , but the cover intrigued me, so I bought it. SO glad I did!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    Dez has always felt like an outsider. Early on we learn that she

    Dez has always felt like an outsider. Early on we learn that she was adopted as an infant. However that's not why she feels like an outsider, at least not in the beginning. She's always felt aloof and untouchable because of a back brace that she's been forced to wear 23 hours a day. About two years ago she was diagnosed with idiotic scoliosis. In order to prevent her spine from curving she's been forced to endure the tension and pain that comes with walking, sitting, and sleeping with a brace firmly hooked around her. She's always felt like a freak because of this brace. Not only does it cause her discomfort, it also forces her to wear very baggy clothes to accommodate the extra inches. I really felt for Dez. Because of her sense of being "different" she's shut herself off from the good and normal experiences that come with being a teenager such as meeting, interacting, and connecting with the opposite gender. As Dez says "Boys don't want to literally knock first before you let them in."

    So then comes Caleb. The first time Dez meets him they are both locked within cages. After some quick thinking on Dez's part the two break free from the cages, commandeer a SUV and hightail it into the California desert to get away from the crazy group that captured Dez and caged Caleb. You can tell from the beginning that Dez and Caleb have a connection. There's definitely instant-sparkage. Dez is having a rough time dealing with that fact that she a. recalls shifting into an animal (tiger to be precise) b. was shot with a tranquilzer c. wound up in a cage and d. learnt that she's connected to a form of beings that have the ability to shapeshift into a specific animal depending on which tribe they belong to. Luckily though, Caleb himself posesses some unique abilities and is there to help her sort out the details. For instance, like there are only a few shifting tribes left, tiger shapeshifters are rare, and the tribunal (crazy group) which now knows Dez's family's location, believes shifters and all other forms of Otherkin are evil and therefore work towards eradicating them.

    Otherkin is an amazing book. The storyline is so unique and interesting. Berry does a fabulous job creating such a multi-faceted, fictional world. There's a lot of deeply drawn out themes throughout Otherkin. Prejudice for instance, plays a big part along with the age-old good vs. evil. I found that those particular lines get blurred quite a bit throughout the story. Although The Tribunal makes it their mission to wipe out and cleanse the world of the "Otherkin" the Otherkin aren't exactly making the Tribunal's job any harder. The remaining Otherkin segregate amongst the different shifters, rats, bears, raptors, etc. believing that each is better than the another. They basically only look out for their own, willing to sacrifice another if it works to their own advantage. I loved the interaction and history between the shifter tribes. I thought it was well thought-out and thought provoking. I eagerly ate up every bit of information we we're thrown.

    There was a wide selection of characters. Which I loved! Dez is shy and meek in the beginning but later on we discover that deep down she's incredibly strong and brave. Caleb is extremely charming yet also fiercely protective. I won't go too much into detail as to spoiler the plot, but the other group of secondary characters were just as awesome. Each one was extremely unique with their own tastes and personalities. I found that they really balanced the story out nicely.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good paranormal young adult book with shifters, adventure, romance and action. I thought the pacing was great. Never too slow or too fast. The writing was very clean and engaging with a good mix of description and dialogue. Overall I'm very eager to get my hands on book #2 Othermoon which is set to released in February. *4.5 stars*

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Absolutely recommend

    I would absolutely recommend this book to others. I found it to be both different and captivating. I read this book so fast that I bought the second book within the same day and finished both books the same day. I found it to be an amazing read and I would read it again and again. I applaud the author and I am anxiously awaiting the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Very enjoyable

    Although this was a little young for me it nevertheless was a very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Awsome!!!

    I loved this book lots of action and love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Best book ever!!!!!!

    I am not even half way done with his book, and already love love love it!!!!Best book ever!!!!!!!! If you like this book,then I recomend that you read Starters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Awesome start to the series. If you love animals you'll love this book. It's got action, adventure, romance and supspense. I loved reading it and you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Amazing!!!!!

    AT first I didnt want to read this book. I had picked it up by chance at my library.
    Im so glad I did.
    There was action in the first chapter that held you until the last page.
    Nowadays, supernatural romances are really just mushy chick-flick worthy stuff. But not this. Granted, the moments inwhich passion sparked could have been placed better and at times seemed random and out of place, but the writing was still there.
    Better yet, this book had a plot! An compelling, original, thoughtout, crazy-good plot tgat was worth writing about! (Avoiding spoilers here)
    All in all, this book was top knotch and I cant wait for more.
    Amd if you get this book, neither will you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    highly recommended

    forgot to rate this in my previos review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    You will not be disappointed.

    Non-stop right from the start, you will love all the different characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Rowena R Reviews

    ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!!!!!!! This book is soooooo actiony and suspensful (I think thats how you spell it). Any way, this book is really good, I recommend it to sci-fi fans ages 11 and up. This book is really good (yes, im saying it again, sorry for the mispellings), I loved it so much! GO GET THIS BOOK NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (IM SERIOUS, GET IT NOW AND STOP READING THIS) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =] !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :) :) :) :) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Awesome!

    BEST BOOK EVER! Couldn't stop reading it! Cant wait for a sequel!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    me

    BOSS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Excellent Read

    This was a different genre for me. I totally was hooked from the very first pages. I next lost my interest. My problem was putting the book down I found it would be early AM and I was still reading when I should have been in bed several hours ago. Looking forward to the next book OTHERMOON. Thank you to the author for such awesome talent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Awesome

    I lived this. It is full of action and kept my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Great title..... loved the book...

    I really enjoyed Dez and Caleb. I can't wait for their next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2