Customer Reviews for

Otherwise Engaged

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    I'm looking forward to buying my third book by Eileen Goudge.

    I'm halfway through the book, up to now it's very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Nice Summer Read

    OTHERWISE ENGAGED is an easy, relaxing summer read. It's not too heavy and has a "feel good" quality to it. It held my interest and the characters were genuine. It's not going to win any literary awards, but, for the most part, it's well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I'll admit it up front-I am a huge fan of Ms. Goudge's work. She has the ability to mix women's fiction with romance, tragedy, hope, and love in a seamless mix of words on a page. I began reading her work years ago, and I'm glad I never stopped. If I had, I never would have had the pleasure of reading OTHERWISE ENGAGED, a book that hit me particularly hard. <BR/><BR/>What woman-for that matter, what human-hasn't at least once in their life wondered what would happen if they could change places with someone who has a seemingly enviable lifestyle? Everyone that I know-from my children, to my friends, to my co-workers, to my mother-has, at one point in time, pondered the question "Who would you want to be if you could trade places with someone for one day?" <BR/><BR/>In OTHERWISE ENGAGED, best friends, Jessie Holland and Erin Delahanty, get that chance; one that few of us ever will experience. For Jessie, being a journalist in New York City is the epitome of everything she's ever wanted. She'd never in a million years exchange her middle-of-the-night take-out meals and trips on the subway for a middle-class, hum-drum lifestyle in the middle of nowhere. As for Erin, owning a bed-and-breakfast in a rural Arizona town is the fulfillment of her dreams, with a seemingly perfect marriage and a great teenage daughter. <BR/><BR/>What isn't so obvious is that Jessie and Erin are both suffering-Jessie needs a hot story to propel her career into overdrive, Erin and her husband are fighting almost non-stop, and both women want only to be somewhere else, someone else, for the time it takes to figure out how to fix whatever is wrong. <BR/><BR/>OTHERWISE ENGAGED is a wonderful book. Two best friends, both at crossroads in their life, decide to switch places-just to see, of course, if you can really go home again, if the "what ifs" are better than the reality, and if the grass is any greener on the other side. Highly recommended, Ms. Goudge once again proves that life is what you make it to be-and that, in itself, isn't necessarily a bad thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Originally Posted on Romance Junkies

    I'll admit it up front-I am a huge fan of Ms. Goudge's work. She has the ability to mix women's fiction with romance, tragedy, hope, and love in a seamless mix of words on a page. I began reading her work years ago, and I'm glad I never stopped. If I had, I never would have had the pleasure of reading OTHERWISE ENGAGED, a book that hit me particularly hard. What woman-for that matter, what human-hasn't at least once in their life wondered what would happen if they could change places with someone who has a seemingly enviable lifestyle? Everyone that I know-from my children, to my friends, to my co-workers, to my mother-has, at one point in time, pondered the question 'Who would you want to be if you could trade places with someone for one day?' In OTHERWISE ENGAGED, best friends, Jessie Holland and Erin Delahanty, get that chance one that few of us ever will experience. For Jessie, being a journalist in New York City is the epitome of everything she's ever wanted. She'd never in a million years exchange her middle-of-the-night take-out meals and trips on the subway for a middle-class, hum-drum lifestyle in the middle of nowhere. As for Erin, owning a bed-and-breakfast in a rural Arizona town is the fulfillment of her dreams, with a seemingly perfect marriage and a great teenage daughter. What isn't so obvious is that Jessie and Erin are both suffering-Jessie needs a hot story to propel her career into overdrive, Erin and her husband are fighting almost non-stop, and both women want only to be somewhere else, someone else, for the time it takes to figure out how to fix whatever is wrong. OTHERWISE ENGAGED is a wonderful book. Two best friends, both at crossroads in their life, decide to switch places-just to see, of course, if you can really go home again, if the 'what ifs' are better than the reality, and if the grass is any greener on the other side. Highly recommended, Ms. Goudge once again proves that life is what you make it to be-and that, in itself, isn't necessarily a bad thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    Awesome Beach Reader

    Witty, sexy, guilty, and fun--Goudge brings us a story of two complementing best friends who need to truly find themselves at this point in their lives. I was laughing and rereading, but was disappointed at some of the compromising morals. But hey, that's secular fiction for ya. Grab your bikini and a beach towel, because this is definitely the perfect book for simple mindless beach reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    Held Interest

    I thoroughly enjoyed the contrast between the two friends' lives. Despite their differences, the search for love, purpose and belonging was universal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    Boring.

    I was pretty disappointed. This is my first and last Goudge book. This book is the story of two friends, who, since college have gone their seperate ways. They trade homes and see if 'grass is greener' when you are not in your current situation. I found the characters lacking desirable quatlities. The family of Erin was fairly believable, but Jessie and her affair with Hunter did absolutely nothing for me. There was no reason to believe she had feelings for this man other than she found him attractive. She seemed shallow and willing to dump fairly important relationships multiple times. The most disturbing part about this book is the fact that Johnathan's children are a 'hassle' to Jessie. She feels they are an imposition to her relationship with him. What a sad day it is when someone gives you guilt over spending time with your own child. That is the only reason it is better she ends up with Hunter. She would have been a terrible step mother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Wouldn't It Be Lovely

    the premise here was wonderful, but the writing was a little slow for my taste. I liked the characters,but it seemed the writer was redefining her story here and there and it slowed it down for me. The characters were some seen in other stories with similar tales revisited without the feel of being honest. Not a bad read, but I expected more than I received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining contemporary tale

    Dude ranch owner Erin Delahanty gave up the Big Apple to marry her Willow Creek, Arizona high school sweetheart Skip. They have a fourteen years old daughter Kayla, but Skip skips out on his wife because he feels she is not there for him. Erin¿s best friend Jessica lives in New York writing magazine articles. She is seeing Jewish divorcee Jonathon, NY Bureau Chief for CTN, but compares poorly to his ex-wife Rebecca in the eyes of his Long Island parents and children on the grounds of religious and motherly objections.--- An editor friend offers Jessica an assignment to see if the grass is greener elsewhere. Jessica and Erin will switch lives for six months and provide insight in a series of articles as events unfold. However, not only do each learn to appreciate the other, they begin to understand other relationships especially with loved ones.--- This entertaining contemporary tale stars two prime players (the switcheroo duo) and a fine support cast; all of whom are likable yet seem unable to get along; no one is a villain. Thus the audience gets an opportunity to observe the difficulty of wearing someone else¿s moccasins. Though a romance between Jessica and an Arizona native adds a love interest that subplot seems unnecessary to a fine tale in which the moral is be thankful with what you got because the grass is as green on your side as that of your friends and neighbors.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1