Customer Reviews for

Otherwise Engaged: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    A Total Classic

    I haven;t enjoyed a novel this much in years. I was sick to see it end. The heroine is a smart sassy babe who has her faults in spades and admits to every single one. Her love life is under the magnifying glass as she contemplates and lives through a year full of not only being engaged, but being alive and past 30. The world of advertising is delightfully sent up in this uproarious story of marriage and career for the modern woman. From the Untimatum to the Walk down the aisle, you'll be entranced. Just wanting more now. More! More! More!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Otherwise Engaged

    The honesty and spare writing style of Otherwise Engaged is surely why it has remained a classic in an over-crowded genre. Perhaps it is because this highly entertaining novel avoids the shallow details almost altogether -- the bulk of the story pivots on the dilemma/mixed blessing of a late marriage after the glibness of youth has waned and Reality is a real factor in the decision to take the leap of faith down the aisle -- yes, The Aisle that leads more than half its newlyweds to certain doom! Unique, thoughtful , this book breaks all the rules and gets high marks for style and wit. A superb read and food for thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    Otherwise Engaged

    This is the one to buy and to read and to give to your girlfriends so you can laugh together and realize that it's only marriage, after all. But the author does a marvelous job of telling Eve's story as she details,month by month, her year- long engagement to the man of her dreams. Those 'dreams of the perfect man and marriage' become a little intense and downright scary at times, when Eve considers her own parents' divorce and the statistics in general! Yet the honesty of her fear is well put and funny as well, and you know she is not going to bail. Or do you? Hilarious and intelligently written, Otherwise Engaged makes a superb summer read, an original and worthwhile wedding shower gift or bridesmaid favor - And what luck that even the bookjacket is nicely done. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    Read the first page excerpt and you'll be hooked.

    That is how I ended up buying this novel instead of the others that came directly after its publication -- yes the marriage novel has become a trend, but this is the genuine article. Tart, funny, smart, charming. A great gift as well. I love everything Finnamore has written, and I hope to see another novel in the immediate future!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    If you like this, buy The Zygote Chronicles immediately, by the same author....

    Oh my gosh. I just read Otherwise Engaged last winter when I was married, at 46, to my fiance of 55. I was his Second Wife, as was Eve in this wonderful, uproarious novel. I could so relate to her doubts, passions, and excitement as the big day approached. It made me feel better to know I was not the only one thinking...For The Rest Of Your Life....socks on the floor. His. And now I've read The Zygote Chronicles, a novel written and dedicated to the author's son. It's brilliant. So I am spreading the word, and saying that your money is indeed not wasted on a validating experience, and a quick and splendid read. Well-written as well as informative and fun, I love both these books.... for the woman with a sense of humor, going through changes with a capital C. Highly recommended.....and much enjoyed.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    Superb

    This is a classic amoung my girlfriends. I am now buying my fourth copy as an engagement gift for my sister. It is funny as well as touching, and the writing is quite fine, a cut above the genre. Don't miss it...!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    Crazy, Sexy, Cool

    Just like the TLC song, this book is all that -- crazy, sexy, cool. Suzanne Finnamore had me hooked from the start. Not only does she tackle a subject near and dear to many a woman's heart, to marry or not to marry, and, once decided, the ensuing roller-coaster ride to the alter -- she does it with great humor, wit, and a devastating accuracy. The story alone is one that can make for a good read, but the artistry of Suzanne Finnamore's writing is what elevates this book beyond mere 'good fiction' to a work of art. I couldn't turn a page without coming across yet another beautifully crafted turn of phrase, so fresh and unusual, I longed to have written it myself. This is a unique voice, and one that I expect will catch the 'ear' and hearts of many discerning readers. I have a feeling that the name Suzanne Finnamore will be aptly placed alongside other greats of this genre such as Fay Weldon and Helen Fielding to name but two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2003

    all right

    I couldn't get into the writing style of this author. I got bored halfway through and gave up on reading the novel! The character is fun and smart, but she went out with her guy when he was dating someone else. What makes her think that he's going to stay faithful since he cheated in the past? Doesn't make a promising future. Yeah people make mistakes and its just a novel but I got so tired of it. It was all right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    Calling All Women

    Calling All Women Otherwise Engaged by Suzanne Finnamore is quite an experience to read. The story is about a woman (narrator of story) who has recently gotten engaged and is explaining the emotional roller coaster of planning a wedding to the readers. However, her experiences throughout the book relate to all women, regardless of her age, race, or the fact that she is engaged. The book takes a reader from the narrator being single to her standing at the altar. The comments about men, weddings, single life, and engaged life apply to all women. Women have all experienced at least one of these stages or more. The opinions that the narrator voices on these experiences is the opinion that most women believe, yet do not voice it. The narrator bluntly states to the readers that she is afraid of being an old single lady, sitting in front of her television, and eating canned food. Many women have thought of this, probably multiple times throughout their lifetime. Yet seeing another woman think the same thoughts we do, is amusing. The narrator¿s thoughts and experiences in the novel are something all women can read and say, ¿I¿ve been there.¿ Nevertheless, Suzanne Finnamore does an amazing job targeting women of all kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    Love Love Love

    What fun! And what a great voice this author has -- loved the humor and the ironic asides that women think but don't often say. Definitely breaks the taboos on talking about the desire to find true love and make it last and to do it with your eyes wide open. The Zygote Chronicles, her latest novel, is also pure delight. You won't be sorry !!! Also , both books make stellar gifts for women friends..........delicio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2001

    Laugh-out-loud funny

    My husband kept asking me what I was reading on the beach --some of her comments are a bit harsh, with a grain of salt, enjoy a mindless, well-written hysterical novel about us 'older' brides!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    I Loved It!

    I loved this book. Otherwise Engaged is a well written book that is as insightful as it is witty. Eve is a very memorable character who is likeable and easy to relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    Otherwise Engaged

    Laughed out loud several times. This to me is enough for any novel - but this book offered more. Caustic wit, depth and a realt true-to-life and passionate love story, without the bodice-ripping or bad writing. LOve this author's voice. Waiting for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    Just Mediocre

    I didn't really enjoy this book as much as I had expected . I found the narrator to be very self-absorbed and annoying. It didn't bore me, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2001

    Hilarious!

    I thought this book was so funny! I can't wait for Suzanne Finnamore to write another novel. It was laugh-out-loud funny for me! Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2000

    Humor in truth

    I thought this book was very funny. I am not yet engaged - although I am PATIENTLY waiting. I could really see myself and my relationship in Eve and Michael. Not the perfect couple, but perfect for each other. I could also see why any 'feminists' out there wouldn't like it. I guess they just don't know how it feels to love a man enough to be overly excited when the proposal finally comes. I thought the way the author describes each experience is so real, you can't help but laugh at the familiarity of it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2000

    It was Okay

    I liked this book but I did not love it. It was good but not great. I found that I did not care very much about any of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2000

    Otherwise Engaged

    I belatedly found this book on the Barnes and Noble Great New Authors for 99 display, and I was once again impressed by their astute selection. Luckily, Otherwise Engaged was out in Vintage paperback, listing many media kudos to make me feel secure in my choice, and saved me money besides! I agree with Anne Lamott's cover quote that it was charming, smart and witty. I read it from cover to cover with sheer delight. I can't wait to see what this unique and sparkling author does

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    Otherwise Engaged

    I read this book and laughed and cried the whole way through. it's a real treat and I recommend it to anyone who's married, unmarried, or even THINKING of getting married. Compelling, touching, and REAL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    Marvelous; Outstanding!

    This book has been haunting me in the stores for months. I really wanted to read it, but had no time. So I received it for Valentine's Day and read it all the way through. It was the most enlightening piece of work I've ever read and I recommend it to anyone who has a sense of humor. I loved it and hope you do too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2