Customer Reviews for

The Otherworldlies

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This was an awesome read!

    I'm really into all of these kind of books. Sam and Fern's relationship just makes you want to have a better realationship with your sibling, or make you wish you had a sibling. If you like books that you can't stop reading until 2 am then this is a great book for you. (NOTHING LIKE TWILIGHT OR THE HOUSE OF NIGHT!!!!)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intriguing

    Fern is strange, even within her own family. Light bothers her eyes, she can talk with the family dog, and can predict the weather extremely accurately. Her twin brother looks nothing like her, but he's her best friend and the only one who sticks by her in school. The other girls make it clear she's nothing but a freak and thus she spends most of the lunch period alone and recess hiding up a tree. And then one day, something significant happens: one minute Fern is sitting in class (secretly reading a book) and the next minute, she's one a beach. Fern's discovering a whole lot more information about herself: she can teleport and control water. More importantly, she discovers that she's a vampire and she's adopted. This explains so much to Fern, but it also terrifies her. She's torn between not having all the information and is forced to chose sides. She must choose and soon before the biggest dangerous she's ever faced comes to power - if she helps him. She doesn't know which side to trust, but must quickly figure things out if she and her family is going to survive.

    This book is very different from the other vampire tales. It's more a good vs evil fantasy tale - with vampires thrown in. I'm curious to see if there will be eleven books, based on the eleven "Unusuals" that makes Fern so powerful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Vampire Novel For The Under 13 Set!!

    Now; personally, when I think of a vampire novel, I think of forbidden love, romance, and star crossed lovers. When I read The Otherworldlies, my idea of a vampire totally changed. It was excellent, and I couldn't put it down. It was glued to my hand!!!! =D Jennifer Kogler gave an unexplored plot and theme to the novel and it kept me hooked.<BR/>The story is about Fern, a girl who has always been an outsider because of her actions and strange habits. One day when she teleports to her favorite beach she realizes she really is DIFFERENT!!! Now she begins to understand why she is the way she is. And with the help of her twin brother; Sam, she might be able to stop an evil vampire from getting away with his evil plans. Pick it up and you will LOVE it!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Candace Cunard for TeensReadToo.com

    Twelve-year-old Fern McAllister is the black sheep of her family, set apart by pale skin that blisters after moments in the sun and dark black hair in a family of blondes. Her strange sensitivity to light, and seeming ability to communicate with the family dog, are secondary concerns to the kids at her middle school who tease her for having an absent father. Despite gaining herself the nickname "freaky Fern," she leads a generally happy life, thanks to her mother's caring and her twin <BR/>brother Sam's friendship. <BR/><BR/>But one day in the middle of English, Fern simply disappears. No one can find her; no one has seen her leave the room, much less her desk. Unbeknownst to her classmates, Fern has somehow managed to teleport to Pirate Cove, her favorite part of a nearby beach. Frightened and unsure of how she got there, Fern tries to tell the truth, but her mother isn't believing it and neither is the school's headmaster. The next time she vanishes and reappears, it is to a much more dangerous location, and by then it's impossible for Fern to keep her activities under wraps. It's only after a series of dangerous accidents that Fern discovers the truth of her identity and the full extent of her powers as an "otherworldly," the politically correct term for any creature that is not entirely human. <BR/><BR/>Kogler does a wonderful job of detailing the average twelve-year-old's insecurities and the way that they are magnified in Fern, who is anything but average. She presents a compelling picture of what it's like to grow up different in a world where schoolchildren are cruel and ostracize people who don't fit in. I found Fern, Sam, and their mother to all be very sympathetic and believable characters, whose motivations were easy to accept. <BR/><BR/>I also enjoyed Kogler's conception of the titular "otherworldlies," which made this book refreshingly different from other vampire stories I have read. Her use of Greek myths as the starting point for a number of inhuman creatures and supernatural powers put a new spin on the traditional vampire myths. <BR/><BR/>Overall, THE OTHERWORLDLIES was a satisfying read, with a plot that asked more questions than it answered but still managed to come to some kind of conclusion. Kogler's left herself open for a sequel, perhaps even an entire series, about Fern's future, and I for one look forward to whatever she comes up with next.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    this book is incredible and i really hope there is a sequel because it was soooo great fern is a great charachter the ending is wide open for another book!!!! to find all the unusuals maybe

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great read

    It is a thrilling read it kept my attention. It is interesting that a young teen who is a vampire doesnt know what is ahead of her in life keep doing your thing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    AWWWWWWSSSSSSOOOOOMMEE!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Of The Otherworldlies @ Book & Movie Depository blog

    Reviewed by: Cassandra Hernandez A vampire paranormal book. It has a small amount of a new take on it. Felt like a starter to a series. Apparently it is. There are various supernaturals and they have amazing powers. Worth a read but I feel they are ok not-- amazing and also for much younger youths.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Loved it!Review written on blogger

    Fern has never been normal ever since she was a little kid.She blisters in the sun and she has to wear "breakfast" glasses because the sun also burns her eyes.She can hear private conversations and it doesn't help that she looks nothing like her twin brother Sam.When an age old vampire comes to town,Fern,Sam and a unlikely friend must stop him from following through with his evil plot using Fern's new found powers and wits to pull together the pieces of this mystery.Spell-binding,thrilling,and captivating all in one.I read this book when I was younger and absolutely fell in love with it.The cover captured my attention and I was immediately drawn to it.I had to have and couldn't stop reading it.During that age I could relate to Fern.Intertwining history with paranormal was a brilliant idea!The plot was strong and thickened through every twist and turn.Character development moved forward as Fern finds her true self.This was an awesome read and I recommend it to the middle school-high school crowd.This book will keep you at the edge of your seats and wanting more.Ratings 5.0/5.0
    Pros: Plot will keep you entertained
    Catches your attention
    Strong plot
    Strong character development
    Cons:N/A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    ehh dont bother

    story line was great, characters n-o. It was good until the point I found out she is a young teen, really if your going to write a suspensful vampire book, Please, please, make the main character like 15 or 16

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Cute Read

    This was a cute book for young readers. It shows a companionate side to vampires, and puts a twist on the old legends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    is it just me..

    this book was really hard for me to get into i tried reading it but i couldn't finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    YOU SHOULD PROBABLY READ THIS BOOK!

    THIS BOOK WAS PRETTY GOOD AND IT REALLY SHOWS THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF A SITUATION. IN THE BOOK, FERN DEFINITELY SEEMS LIKE YOUR ORDINARY GIRL,
    JUST WITH ODD CHARACTERISTICS. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO YOUNG ADULTS (11-16).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    Great book. It was a nice twist on the traditional thought of who and what a vampire is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Read

    awesome read!! this is one of the best books ever i could absolutely could not but this book down. a book that needs to be read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    A Unique and Incredible Story

    Fern is an unusual girl, and in middle school, that¿s just not acceptable. Every day, she has to deal with others¿ spite over her strange qualities and habits such as blistering from sun exposure, a knack for accurate weather prediction, hearing voices without bodies, and talking with her dog. But what she doesn¿t know is that she isn¿t normal she¿s a vampire, or an Otherworldy. And among those, she¿s one of the most special, because her unique ability to teleport distinguishes her as one of the foretold Unusual Eleven. Fern soon finds herself in the midst of an ages-old battle between the two factions of Otherworldies that could destroy her, the people she loves, and possibly the entire world. The Otherworldies was a fantastic and action-filled combination of vampirism, ancient mythology, and supernatural powers it was incredible how Kogler linked the three together even though they may seem to be unrelated. The plot was very fast moving and kept me on the edge of my seat, especially as the story neared its ending. I loved how this story kept me guessing right up until the end and how some of the characters I thought were insignificant turned out to be crucial to the plot. You really have no idea what¿s going to happen next. Besides having a well-written plot, The Otherworldies also has creative characters. My favorite was Fern I found her to be much more mature than her twelve years would suggest as well as witty and resourceful. Readers looking for a suspenseful, well-written, and unique read should most definitely check out The Otherworldies. Although I believe this novel is considered in the middle grade genre, teens and adults will also enjoy this story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    Great, Great, GREAT!

    Fern is the PERFECT character for this book! She had a way of knowing stuff she never thought existed. This book will give a feeling of dread and fright, but will quickly change into all things pleasant. I read this book in three days and still can't help but think that something else is going to happen, like another book, a sequel. I sure hope there is one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Very good

    I just got this book yesterday and finished it about an hour ago, it was sooo good it moved along good and was easy to follow, and who dosn't love vampires. Fern is a great character and easy to love and I felt so bad for her the way kids at school treated her. another great vampire tale

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    Fern is the odd girl at school. She likes to have conversations with her dog and hates to go out in the sun. One day in the middle of class she disappears into thin air. Fern and her twin brother Sam look for answers and discover she is an otherworldly. I loved the book. I kept reading to find out more about Fern and what was going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Great book

    This book is definitely a great book for the young adult fiction category. It is entertaining throughout the beginning to the end, which makes me feel like it can also be made into a great movie! 'Otherworldlies' is a recommended book for any young person out there who feels different because they will be able to relate to this book. 12 year old Fern is an outsider where she lives, but she goes on an adventure discovering her true self and finding out how special she really is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3